Thailand, Visual Arts, 2021

Som
Supaparinya

Ten Places in Tokyo synchronized,10 channel video, 2016 ©MAIIAM Contemporary Art Museum

After graduating from Chiang Mai University’s Faculty of Fine and Applied Arts in the 1990s and earning a postgraduate diploma in Media Arts from Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst in Leipzig, Germany, Som Supaparinya returned to her hometown of Lamphun in Thailand’s North to work as a multidisciplinary artist. Inspired by the Chiang Mai Social Installation, an artist-initiated festival that marked a turning point in Thailand’s contemporary art scene, Som cofounded the artist-run Chiang Mai Art Conversation in 2013 to collect, share, and produce local art activities including art map brochures and a website.   

Working as a cartographer, Som’s trajectory embodies the complex social history of her native land and of Southeast Asia through sound, photography, and moving images, using a documentary approach. Her video installations, often shown in two or multiple channels, raises critical questions of suppressed infrastructure problems, with a special focus on energy. Effects on the ecosystem are revealed through their embeddedness in different places and in collective memory; she perceives rural and urban landscapes as contested grounds filled with traumatic memories resulting from an unresolved geopolitical history beginning in the colonial era and continuing into the present.

Som’s early works reflect an interest in her cultural heritage and in conflict areas, portraying characters ranging from a family member, to historical figures such as the French explorers traversing the Mekong area, or a Japanese photographer in the North of Thailand during World War II, who was suspected of spying. In My Grandpa’s Route Has been Forever Blocked (2012), Som re-examined the disappearance of her grandfather’s riverine route for his logging business on the Ping River due to dam construction in 1958. This project led her to pay more attention to the politics of energy production and distribution, especially the effects of the 2011 Fukushima disaster. Her installation, Ten Places in Tokyo (2016), demonstrated the top ten highest electricity consumption areas in the Japanese capital. Fascinated by colonial history and contemporary politics/economics in Southeast Asia, Som juxtaposed the threats to the Mekong River from multiple dam constructions and economic expansion by China with the expeditions of 18th-century French explorers in Laos in a two-channel video installation, A Separation of Sand and Island (2018), first shown in 12th Gwangju Biennale, South Korea.

Som Supaparinya is currently working on a new production that investigates the history of local resistance against the state since the internal colonization of Siam at the end of 19th century. Her resistance project is a one-minute time lapse video comprised of 1500 still images capturing multiple sites of resistance around Thailand. This video abruptly reveals absent and traumatic histories, such as the Holy Man’s Rebellion in the Isan province. Her ongoing research also explores the untold history of the Japanese occupation, using Morinosuke Tanaka’s photographs as a starting point to create a map of WWII remnants in the North of Thailand. Through meticulous research, Som persistently interrogates and presents little-known or repressed histories by surveying and excavating counternarratives from her homeland.

Text: Gridthiya Gaweewong

to top

Thailand, Bildende Künste, 2021, in Berlin

Som
Supaparinya

Som Supaparinya, "Ten Places in Tokyo", synchronized 10-channel video, 2016 © MAIIAM Contemporary Art Museum

Nach ihrem Abschluss an der Fakultät für Bildende und Angewandte Kunst der Universität Chiang Mai in den 1990er Jahren und einem Postgraduierten-Diplom in Medienkunst an der Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst in Leipzig kehrte Som Supaparinya in ihre Heimatstadt Lamphun im Norden Thailands zurück, um dort multidisziplinär als Künstlerin zu arbeiten. Inspiriert von der Chiang Mai Social Installation, einem von KünstlerInnen initiierten Festival, das einen Wendepunkt in der zeitgenössischen Kunstszene Thailands darstellte, gründete Som 2013 die KünstlerInnen betriebene Chiang Mai Art Conversation mit, die lokale Kunstaktivitäten wie Broschüren mit künstlerischen gestalteten Landkarten sammelt, teilt und produziert sowie eine Website unterhält.

In ihrer Arbeit als Kartografin verkörpert Som die komplexe Sozialgeschichte ihres Heimatlandes und Südostasiens anhand von Klang, Fotografie und Bewegtbildern, wobei sie einen dokumentarischen Ansatz verfolgt. Ihre Videos, die oft als zwei oder Mehrkanalinstallationen gezeigt werden, werfen kritische Fragen zu verdrängten Infrastrukturproblemen auf, insbesondere zum Thema Energie. Die Auswirkungen auf das Ökosystem macht sie durch deren Verankerung an verschiedenen Standorten und im kollektiven Gedächtnis deutlich. Sie betrachtet ländliche und urbane Landschaften als umkämpften Boden, der mit traumatischen Erinnerungen gefüllt ist. Diese resultieren aus einer ungelösten geopolitischen Geschichte, die in der Kolonialzeit begann und bis in die Gegenwart reicht.

Soms frühe Werke spiegeln ihr Interesse an ihrem kulturellen Erbe und an Konfliktgebieten wider. Die von ihr porträtierten Figuren reichen von Familienmitgliedern bis hin zu historischen Persönlichkeiten, wie die französischen Entdecker, die das Mekong-Gebiet durchquerten, oder der japanische Fotograf, der im Norden Thailands während des Zweiten Weltkriegs der Spionage verdächtigt wurde. In My Grandpa’s Route Has Been Forever Blocked (2012) untersuchte Som eine Flussverbindung am Ping-Fluss, die ihr Großvater für seinen Holzbetrieb genutzt hatte und die aufgrund des Dammbaus im Jahr 1958 verschwunden war. Dieses Projekt veranlasste sie dazu, sich intensiver mit der Politik der Energieerzeugung und -verteilung zu befassen, insbesondere in Hinblick auf die Auswirkungen der Fukushima-Katastrophe von 2011. Ihre Installation Ten Places in Tokyo (2016) zeigte die zehn Gebiete mit dem höchsten Stromverbrauch in der japanischen Hauptstadt. Fasziniert von der Kolonialgeschichte und der zeitgenössischen Politik/Wirtschaft in Südostasien, stellte Som in der Zweikanal-Videoinstallation A Separation of Sand and Island (2018), die erstmals auf der 12. Gwangju Biennale in Südkorea gezeigt wurde, die Bedrohung des Mekong-Flusses durch den Bau zahlreicher Staudämme und die wirtschaftliche Expansion Chinas den Expeditionen französischer „Entdecker“ in Laos im 18. Jahrhundert gegenüber.        

Som Supaparinya befasst sich derzeit mit einer neuen Arbeit, die die Geschichte des lokalen Widerstands gegen den Staat seit der internen Kolonisierung Siams Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts untersucht. Ihr Widerstandsprojekt ist ein einminütiges Zeitraffervideo, das sich aus 1500 Standbildern zusammensetzt, die verschiedene Orte des Widerstands in Thailand abbilden. Das Video enthüllt unvermittelt verborgene und traumatische Geschichten, wie beispielsweise den Aufstand der Heiligen Männer in der Provinz Isan. Ihre laufenden Recherchen befassen sich auch mit der ungeschriebenen Geschichte der japanischen Besatzung, wobei sie Morinosuke Tanakas Fotografien als Ausgangspunkt für die Erstellung einer Karte von den Spuren des Zweiten Weltkriegs im Norden Thailands nutzt. Durch akribische Recherche hinterfragt und zeigt Som beharrlich wenig bekannte oder verdrängte Geschichten, indem sie Gegenerzählungen aus ihrer Heimat ausgräbt und untersucht.

Text: Gridthiya Gaweewong
Übersetzung: Anna Jäger

zum Seitenanfang