Brazil, Visual Arts, 2021

Guerreiro
do Divino Amor

Amor Supercarioca Superfictional Cosmogony, 2016. Photo by Jaime Acioli

Since 2005, the Swiss-Brazilian artist Guerreiro do Divino Amor has been developing Superfictions (Superficções), a project that analyzes the evolution of metropolitan regions and nations by shedding a critical and often ironic light on the underlying social, political, economic, religious, moral, and cultural forces that shape their identity.

Guerreiro do Divino Amor combines his personal experience of living in the places he fictionalizes with a kind of digital archaeology, unearthing from the tangled web of online material the iconographies which he appropriates and transforms into fables and narratives. So far, Brussels, Rio de Janeiro, São Paulo, Brasília, Belo Horizonte, and Switzerland make up the different chapters of the artist’s superfictional universe, joining national and local histories, characters, myths, archetypes, memories, and fantasies.

For all of these contexts, Guerreiro has created films that spin off into installations, publications, and panels. With its lush aesthetics and a profusion of effects and semantic connections, his work exposes the messianic dimension of imperialist ideology and its modern iterations, providing a satirical comment on its justification as a “civilizing project.”

Sensitive to hegemonic ambitions and transnational disputes, Guerreiro do Divino Amor is interested in exposing the methods of colonialism, capitalism, statism, racism, democracy, knowledge, religion, the media, as well as corporations and other organizations such as cultural institutions that are responsible for the production and preservation of inequality in the world.

Ever since its first chapter (The Battle of Brussels, 2005), Superfictions has focused on the primordial war between the Superempire and the Supergalaxy as allegorical embodiments of antithetical concepts such as West/East, developed/underdeveloped, mother country/colony, and modern/archaic. As the artist notes, this war is waged between “dichotomous civilizations that fight for the control of space and human minds.” While the Supergalaxy acts on “uncoordinated impulses,” the Superempire “is a rational battle machine, commanded by superconsortia.”

In unmasking and challenging (neo)colonial tendencies, the ethical and political significance of Superfictions differs from the “humanist” critique made in defense of the “victims of imperialism.” The artist does not subscribe to the ethnographic tradition, prevalent in both art and anthropology, that insists on giving “visibility” and a “voice” to those people and communities that have historically been cast as subaltern and that engages with “the cultural and/or ethnic other.”1 Instead, moving away from the primitivist fetish of the “suffering slot”2, Guerreiro do Divino Amor reverses the ethnographic perspective and seeks to reveal the racist, extractive, patriarchal, ecocidal, epistemicidal, and narcissistic forces at work in the “well-intentioned civilizational project.”

As an artist with both European and Latin-American roots, Guerreiro do Divino Amor engages in a process of self-reflection involving his own ancestry and inherited privileges, which he uses as a locus to illustrate the historical production of (neo)colonial violence. Addressing whiteness, eurocentrism, and ethnocentrism, Superfictions is a critical project that takes the artist’s own life and identity as a starting point and maps them onto the territories and relationships that have left their mark on him. Now the time has come for Germany.

Text: Clarissa Diniz de Moura

(1) Hal Forster, “The artist as ethnographer,” in id., The Return of the Real, Cambridge/Mass.: The MIT Press, 1996, p. 173.
(2) Joel Robbins, “Beyond the suffering subject: toward an anthropology of the good,” Journal of the Royal Anthropological Institute, vol. 19, no. 3, 2013, p. 448.

Upcoming

Past

to top

Brasilien, Bildende Künste, 2021, in Berlin

Guerreiro
do Divino Amor

Guerreiro Do Divino Amor: Supercarioca Superfictional Cosmogony (2016). Photo: Jaime Acioli

Seit 2005 entwickelt der schweizerisch-brasilianische Künstler Guerreiro do Divino Amor sein Projekt Superfiktionen (Superficções), mit dem er die Genese von Metropolregionen und Nationen untersucht und die zugrunde liegenden gesellschaftlichen, politischen, wirtschaftlichen, religiösen, moralischen und kulturellen Einflüsse kritisch und oft auch ironisch beleuchtet.

Guerreiro do Divino Amor, der an allen von ihm fiktionalisierten Orten selbst gelebt hat, verknüpft persönliche Erfahrungen mit einer Art digitaler Archäologie und legt im undurchschaubaren Geflecht von Online-Material Ikonografien frei, die er sich aneignet und anschließend in Fabeln und Erzählungen überführt. Bislang sind Kapitel über Brüssel, Rio de Janeiro, São Paulo, Brasília, Belo Horizonte und die Schweiz entstanden, die nationale und lokale Geschichten sowie verschiedene Charaktere, Mythen, Archetypen, Erinnerungen und Fantasien zusammenführen und gemeinsam das superfiktionale Universum des Künstlers bilden.

Für all diese Kontexte nutzt Guerreiro primär das Medium Film, flankiert von Installationen, Publikationen und Tafeln. Mit opulenter Ästhetik und einer Fülle von Effekten und semantischen Beziehungen zeigen seine Werke die messianische Dimension der imperialistischen Ideologie und ihrer modernen Erscheinungsformen auf und werfen ein satirisches Schlaglicht auf deren Rechtfertigung als „zivilisatorisches Projekt“.

Mit Gespür für hegemonische Ambitionen und transnationale Verwerfungen ist Guerreiro do Divino Amor bestrebt, die Methoden von Kolonialismus, Kapitalismus, Dirigismus, Rassismus, Demokratie, Wissen, Religion, Medien sowie Unternehmen und anderen Organisationen wie z. B. kulturellen Institutionen offenzulegen, die für die Schaffung und Aufrechterhaltung von Ungleichheit in der Welt verantwortlich sind.

Beginnend mit dem ersten Kapitel (The Battle of Brussels, 2005) thematisiert Superfiktionen den ursprünglichen Krieg zwischen dem Superimperium und der Supergalaxie, die als allegorische Instanzen für widerstreitende Konzepte wie West/Ost, entwickelt/unterentwickelt, Mutterland/Kolonie und modern/archaisch stehen. Dem Künstler zufolge herrscht dieser Krieg zwischen „dichotomen Zivilisationen, die um die Vorherrschaft über den Raum und den menschlichen Geist kämpfen“. Während die Supergalaxie auf Grundlage „unkoordinierter Impulse“ agiert, ist das Superimperium eine „rationale Kampfmaschine, gesteuert von Superkonsortien“.

Bei der Aufdeckung und Hinterfragung (neo)kolonialer Tendenzen unterscheidet sich die ethische und politische Bedeutung der Superfiktionen von der „humanistischen“ Kritik im Sinne einer Verteidigung der „Opfer des Imperialismus“. Der Künstler verweigert sich der in Kunst und Anthropologie vorherrschenden ethnografischen Tradition, die den historisch als subaltern klassifizierten Menschen und Bevölkerungsgruppen mehr „Sichtbarkeit“ bzw. eine „Stimme“ verleihen möchte und die auf „den kulturell und/oder ethnisch Anderen“1 eingeht. Stattdessen geht der Künstler auf Abstand zum primitivistischen Fetisch der „leidendenLücke“2 und versucht, durch eine Umkehrung der ethnografischen Perspektive die rassistischen, ausbeuterischen, patriarchalen, umweltzerstörerischen, wissenszersetzenden und narzisstischen Kräfte zu entlarven, die dem „wohlmeinenden zivilisatorischen Projekt“ innewohnen.

Als Künstler mit sowohl europäischen als auch lateinamerikanischen Wurzeln befindet sich Guerreiro do Divino Amor auch in einem Prozess der Selbstreflexion bezüglich seiner Abstammung und seiner ererbten Privilegien. Diese nutzt er als Figur, um die historische Entstehung (neo)kolonialer Gewalt zu beleuchten. Als kritisches Projekt, das Fragen des Weißseins, des Eurozentrismus und des Ethnozentrismus verhandelt, nimmt Superfiktionen das Leben und die Identität des Künstlers als Ausgangspunkt und projiziert sie auf die Orte und Beziehungen, die ihn geprägt haben. Nun ist Deutschland an der Reihe.

Text: Clarissa Diniz de Moura
Übersetzung: Stefan Hollstein

(1) Hal Forster, “The artist as ethnographer”. In ders., The Return of the Real, Cambridge/Mass.: The MIT Press, 1996, S. 173.
(2) Joel Robbins, “Beyond the suffering subject: toward an anthropology of the good”. In Journal of the Royal Anthropological Institute, Bd. 19, Nr. 3, 2013, S. 448.

zum Seitenanfang