Sweden, Literature, 2021, in Berlin

Athena
Farrokhzad

Photo: Jasper Kettner

Poet, playwright, translator, and literary critic Athena Farrokhzad was born in Tehran in 1983. Her parents fled the Iran-Iraq war and the persecution of leftists to Sweden—“arriving in a Marxist tradition”—where Farrokhzad grew up. Her first volume of poetry, Vitsvit (2013), first published in Swedish and translated into fifteen languages, brought her extraordinary literary success. Today she is unquestioningly considered one of the most brilliant voices in contemporary Scandinavian literature.

In Vitsvit (English: White Blight, 2015) the author finds deeply evocative tones for elucidating transcultural experiences and pressures to assimilate from the majority white society. Here taking about and discussing war, migration, racism, revolution, and family becomes a necessary form of survival. However, what goes unsaid and unspoken plays a central role:

My mother let bleach run through her syntax
On the other side of punctuation her syllables became whiter
than a winter in Norrland

Reflections on her tool and medium of language are omnipresent in Farrokhzad’s work. On many occasions, she analyzes the fact that migrants, alongside experiencing numerous other humiliations, often must also use the languages of their oppressors in order to articulate their own trauma. With reference to the Antiguan-American writer Jamaica Kincaid, she writes in White Blight:

My brother said: The only language you have to condemn the crime / is the language of the criminal / and the language of the criminal / is a language to justify the crime.

Active in (queer) feminist and anti-capitalist movements since her youth, Farrokhzad has always positioned herself as an “agent of beauty for the revolution,” creating poetic beauty despite (and with) language’s inherent violence, where both the wild and the disturbing as well as the ugly find a place. For Farrokhzad, “this beauty can be translated through touch.” She understands her writing as a collective act, akin to the choreography of a dance ensemble or a play, and sees the reading and translation of other literary voices (including Adrienne Rich and Audre Lorde) as the starting point for her writing.

Accordingly, her latest collection of poems I rörelse (2019) have been inspired by Rich’s poem “North American Time,” by Sweden’s perhaps best-known poem “I rörelse” (Eng. “In Motion”) by lesbian socialist Karin Boye, as well as by “writing commissions” from various political movements. Moving between the individual and the collective, tradition and renewal, Farrokhzad proposes here a new kind of poetry that not only addresses the current advance of fascism and discriminatory capitalist structures but also poeticizes this very political present and helps shape it in its own way. Featured in I rörelse is the long poem “Open Letter to Europe,” which avers (in Jennifer Hayashida’s translation):

Europe, when will you retire?
When will you take off your clothes?
When will you look at yourself through the grave?
When will you be worthy of your millions of guest workers?
Europe, why are your libraries full of tears? (…)
Europe, words can be like very small doses of arsenic.

Text: Rike Scheffler
Translation: Erik Smith

Past

to top

Schweden, Literatur, 2021, in Berlin

Athena
Farrokhzad

Foto: Carla Orrego Veliz

Die Dichterin, Dramatikerin, Übersetzerin und Literaturkritikerin Athena Farrokhzad wurde 1983 in Teheran geboren. Ihre Eltern flüchteten vor dem Iran-Irak-Krieg und der Verfolgung Linker nach Schweden, wo Farrokhzad aufwuchs. Bereits ihr erster, auf Schwedisch veröffentlichter Lyrikband Vitsvit (2013) bescherte ihr mit Übersetzungen in 15 Sprachen herausragenden literarischen Erfolg. Heute gilt sie unumstritten als eine der brillantesten Stimmen skandinavischer Gegenwartsliteratur.

In Vitsvit (dt. Bleiweiß, 2019) findet die Autorin zutiefst aufrüttelnde Töne für transkulturelle Erfahrungsräume und Assimilierungszwänge seitens der weißen Mehrheitsgesellschaft. Das Be-Sprechen von Krieg, Migration, Rassismus, Revolution und Familie wird hier zur notwendigen Überlebensform. Zentrale Rolle spielt jedoch das Ungesagte und Unsagbare:

Meine Mutter ließ Bleichmittel durch ihre Syntax laufen
Auf der anderen Seite des Satzzeichens wurden ihre Buchstaben weißer

als ein Winter in Norrland

Reflexionen über ihr Werkzeug und das Medium Sprache sind in Farrokhzads Werk omnipräsent. Mehrfach analysiert sie die Tatsache, dass MigrantInnen neben zahlreichen Demütigungen oft auch noch die Sprachen ihrer UnterdrückerInnen nutzen müssen, um das eigene Trauma zu artikulieren. Mit Verweis auf die antiguanisch-amerikanische Schriftstellerin Jamaica Kincaid schreibt sie in Bleiweiß

Mein Bruder sagte: Um das Verbrechen zu verurteilen bleibt dir nur die Sprache der Verbrecher
und die Sprache der Verbrecher wurde erfunden um das Verbrechen zu rechtfertigen

Farrokhzad, seit ihrer Jugend in (queer-)feministischen und anti-kapitalistischen Bewegungen aktiv, positioniert sich im poetologischen Gespräch stets als „Agent*in der Schönheit für die Revolution“, die trotz (und mit) der in Sprache immanenten Gewalt poetische Schönheit kreiert, in der sowohl das Wilde, Verstörende als auch das Hässliche Platz findet. Für Farrokhzad „lässt sich diese Schönheit mit Berührung übersetzen“. Sie begreift ihr Schreiben als kollektiven Akt, vergleichbar mit der Choreografie eines Tanzensembles oder Theaterstücks, sieht die Lektüre und Übersetzung anderer literarischer Stimmen (u. a. Adrienne Rich und Audre Lorde) als Ausgangspunkt ihres Schreibens.

So ist ihre neuste Gedichtsammlung I rörelse (2019) konsequenterweise von Richs Gedicht „North American Time“, von Schwedens vielleicht bekanntestem Gedicht „I rörelse“ (dt. „In Bewegung“) der lesbischen Sozialistin Karin Boye sowie von „Schreibaufträgen“ verschiedener politischer Bewegungen inspiriert. In Bewegung zwischen Individuum und Kollektiv, Tradition und Erneuerung schlägt Farrokhzad hier eine neuartige Poesie vor, die einerseits das aktuelle Vordringen des Faschismus und diskriminierende kapitalistische Ordnungen thematisiert, anderseits ebendiese politische Gegenwart selbst poetisiert und maßgeblich mitgestaltet. Im in I rörelse enthaltenen Langgedicht „Offener Brief an Europa“ heißt es (in der Übersetzung von Clara Sondermann):

Europa, wann wirst du in Rente gehen?
Wann wirst du deine Kleider ausziehen?
Wann wirst dir aus deinem eigenen Grab entgegenblicken?
Wann wirst du den Millionen von Gastarbeitern Würde erweisen?
Europa, warum sind deine Bibliotheken voller Tränen? (…)
Europa, Worte können sein wie kleine Dosen Arsen.

Text: Rike Scheffler

Vitsvit
Albert Bonniers Förlag, Stockholm, 2013

White Blight
Argos Books, Central Milton Keynes, 2015 (Ü: Jennifer Hayashida)

Trado (with Svetlana Carstean)
Albert Bonniers Förlag, Stockholm, 2016

I rörelse
Albert Bonniers Förlag, Stockholm, 2019

Vergangen

zum Seitenanfang