Yara Mekawei: Holy 204

  • daadgalerie
  • Exhibition
  • Sound Installation
1/11

Yara Mekawei: Holy 204

  • daadgalerie
  • Exhibition
  • Sound Installation

With works by Yara Mekawei

Attention: the exhibition will be closed on Tuesday, May 10th, due to technical adjustments

With Holy 204, Egyptian sound artist Yara Mekawei presents her first solo exhibition in Germany at the daadgalerie. Employing a variety of “resonating sculptures” created with a 3D printer, she takes visitors on a journey into the mysteries of Sufism, a subject that has fascinated her for years, inspiring and informing her research and artistic work.

Since 2014, Yara Mekawei has been working on a translation system for sounds heard in the background of Sufi texts; she uses a traditional, cryptographic method to encode and decode Arabic letters in numeric form. In Holy 204, Mekawei works with Sufi poems by philosophers from the tenth and thirteenth centuries, Ibn al-Farid and Al-Hallaj. Translated into combinations of numbers, these poems serve as the basis for her sound compositions and 3D-sculptures—a translation process that not only adds another layer of meaning to the multifaceted wisdom of the past, but also brings it to life for the present.

With her translations and transformations between analogue and digital materials, text and numbers, cipher and decipherment, past and future, as well as spirituality and rationality, Yara Mekawei poses the major questions of ethics in an emotionally impactful way—issues that have gained new relevance in the present-day pandemic.

Produced by the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program in collaboration with MaerzMusik – Festival for Time Issues.

Yara Mekawei is a current music & sound fellow of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program

Free admission; no Covid regulations; please wear a mask

At the opening (March 20th, 2pm-5pm), 2G+ rule applies (vaccinated/recovered plus test or booster vaccination)

daadgalerie

Di - So 12.00 - 19.00 Uhr

Past

to top

Ausblick: Holy 204

  • daadgalerie
  • Ausstellung
  • Klanginstallation
1/5

Ausblick: Holy 204

  • daadgalerie
  • Ausstellung
  • Klanginstallation

Mit Arbeiten von Yara Mekawei

Mit Holy 204 zeigt die ägyptische Klangkünstlerin Yara Mekawei in der daadgalerie ihre erste Einzelausstellung in Deutschland. Anhand einer Vielzahl von klingenden Skulpturen aus dem 3D-Drucker nimmt sie die BesucherInnen mit auf eine Reise in die Mysterien des Sufismus, der sie seit Jahren fasziniert und ihre Forschung und künstlerischen Arbeiten inspiriert und prägt.

Seit 2014 arbeitet Yara Mekawei an einem Übersetzungssystem für Töne, die im Hintergrund von sufistischen Texten zu hören sind. Sie bedient sich dabei einer traditionellen, kryptografischen Methode zur Ver- und Entschlüsselung arabischer Buchstaben in Form von Ziffern. In Holy 204 verarbeitet Mekawei sufistische Gedichte von Propheten aus dem 10. und 13. Jahrhundert. Übersetzt in Zahlenkombinationen dienen ihr diese Gedichte als Grundlage für ihre Klangkompositionen und 3D-Skulpturen – ein Übersetzungsprozess, mit dem sie den vielschichtigen Weisheiten der Vergangenheit nicht nur eine weitere Bedeutungsschicht hinzufügt, sondern sie auch für die Gegenwart erfahrbar macht.

Mit ihren Übersetzungen und Transformationen zwischen analogem und digitalem Material, Text und Zahl, Chiffre und Dechiffrierung, Vergangenheit und Zukunft sowie Spiritualität und Rationalität stellt Yara Mekawei auf sehr berührende Weise die großen Fragen der Ethik, die in der Gegenwart der Pandemie neu an Relevanz gewonnen haben.

Eine Produktion des Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD in Zusammenarbeit mit MaerzMusik – Festival für Zeitfragen.

Yara Mekawei ist aktuell Fellow des Berliner Künstlerprogramms in der Sparte Musik & Klang.

Eröffnung am 20.03.2022 um 14.00 Uhr, Laufzeit 20.03. – 15.05.2022

daadgalerie

Eintritt frei

Di - So 12.00 - 19.00 Uhr

Vergangen

zum Seitenanfang