Egypt, Music & Sound, 2021, in Berlin

Yara
Mekawei

Photo: Jasper Kettner

Yara Mekawei is a multidisciplinary artist who mainly works with the materiality and immateriality of sound, exploring how sound informs and transforms visual and sculptural artistic practices. For Mekawei, sound becomes a material source and a physical embodiment of knowledge(s) that animates most of her works, while exploring how sonorousness is a transducer and point of convergence of time-space relations, as expressed and experienced in African and Arabic philosophies.  

For the past seven years, Mekawei has been exploring a system of translation of sounds heard behind Sufi texts. By reading works of Sufi poets, philosophers, and scholars, such as Ibn Sina (Avicenna) and Mansur Al-Hallaj, she created a methodology that codes and decodes Arabic letters into numerals to become a score for her musical and sonic compositions. This translation process is a metamorphosis of mythology and Sufi prophets’ stories into new sonic readings of Sufi philosophies and histories. 

Recently, Mekawei has published her first book in her mother tongue, Arabic. There Are Sounds of the Moving Images is a body of work resulting from years of working with, researching, and practicing within the sonic arts domain. The publication examines what she refers to as “ear vision.” Mekawei traverses conceptual questions on music and history, its interconnection to modern technologies, and digital and visual art concepts concerning the philosophy of the ear and listening practices.  

In 2018, Mekawei founded Radio Submarine / راديو الغواصة. As a storyteller, she traverses African cities through the dimension of their sonority and music. Water is one of the central connections between the different radio features. It becomes a space of transmission of African sensibility across the continent and beyond, as water travels past the geolocality of Africa as a fixed space, engaging with those who travelled (historically and today) while carrying with them their sounds and music. For Mekawei, Radio Submarine is a connection to history and represents the multiplicity of sounds and music created across various African cities. Her work repudiates colonialist cartographies that have structured and limited the movement and relationships of people across the African continent.  

Mekawei’s investigation into the urban architectures, social histories, and migration of humans and more than humans can be read through Henri Lefebvre’s notion of rhythm analysis as a means of engaging with cities through their sounds, and by listening to how cities shift socially, culturally, politically with music.  

Mekawei has performed and shown her work internationally at SAVVY Contemporary (Berlin, 2021), SHUBBAK Festival (London, 2021), Rote Fabrik (Zürich, 2019), MEMPHIS Gallery (Linz, 2019), Halle14 (Leipzig, 2019), Dakar Biennial (Dakar, 2018), Fak’ugesi African Digital Innovation Festival (Johannesburg, 2018), Cairotronica festival (2018), Lagos Biennial (Lagos, 2017), and Biennale méditerranéenne dʼart contemporain dʼOran (Oran, 2014) among others.  

Text: Kamila Metwaly

Past

to top

Ägypten, Musik & Klang, 2021, in Berlin

Yara
Mekawei

Foto: Jasper Kettner

Als multidisziplinäre Künstlerin nutzt Yara Mekawei in ihrer Arbeit hauptsächlich die stofflichen und unstofflichen Eigenschaften von Klang, um dessen Einfluss und verändernde Wirkung auf Verfahren der bildenden Kunst und der Plastik zu untersuchen. Klang als Ausgangsmaterial und Verkörperung von Wissensformen nutzend, geht sie der Frage nach, auf welche Weise Klangfülle – analog den Erfahrungen und Beschreibungen der afrikanischen und arabischen Philosophie – als Wandler und Konvergenzpunkt raumzeitlicher Zusammenhänge dient. 

Seit sieben Jahren arbeitet Mekawei an einem Übersetzungssystem für Töne, die im Hintergrund von sufistischen Texten zu hören sind. Mittels Lesungen von Werken sufistischer Dichter, Denker und Philosophen wie Ibn Sina (Avicenna) und Mansur al-Halladsch entwickelte sie eine Methode zur Ver- und Entschlüsselung arabischer Buchstaben in Form von Ziffern, die sie zu Partituren für ihre Musik- und Klangkompositionen kombiniert. Dieser Übersetzungsprozess verwandelt die Mythologien und Erzählungen der Sufi-Propheten in neue klangliche Interpretationen sufistischer Philosophie und Geschichte. 

„Die Klänge der bewegten Bilder“ lautet der Titel von Mekaweis vor Kurzem erschienenem ersten Buch in arabischer Sprache, in dem sie die Ergebnisse ihrer jahrelangen Arbeit, Forschung und Praxis im Bereich der Klangkunst zusammenträgt. Im Mittelpunkt steht dabei ihr Begriff des „Gehörsehens“. Mekawei beleuchtet konzeptuelle Fragen zu Musik und Geschichte und deren Bezüge zu moderner Technologie ebenso wie Konzepte der digitalen und bildenden Kunst in Bezug auf philosophische Betrachtungen des Gehörsinns und des Hörens. 

In dem 2018 von ihr lancierten Projekt Radio Submarine / راديو الغواصة begibt sich Mekawei als Geschichtenerzählerin auf Streifzüge durch die Klang- und Musikwelt afrikanischer Städte. Wasser wird dabei zum verbindenden Element zwischen den einzelnen Hörfunk-Features. Als Übertragungsraum für afrikanische Gefühlswelten auf dem Kontinent und darüber hinaus überwindet das Wasser die geografischen Grenzen Afrikas als fest verankerten Bereich und tritt mit Reisenden (in Vergangenheit und Gegenwart) in Beziehung, die ihre eigenen Klänge und Musik mit sich tragen. Für Mekawei stellt Radio Submarine geschichtliche Bezüge her und gibt die klanglich-musikalische Vielfalt diverser afrikanischer Städte wieder. Dabei widersetzt sie sich den kolonialen Gebietseinteilungen, die die Bewegungen und Beziehungen der Menschen auf dem gesamten afrikanischen Kontinent strukturieren und einschränken. 

Die Recherchen Mekaweis über städtische Architektur, Gesellschaftsgeschichte und Migration von Menschen und darüber hinaus können im Lichte von Henri Lefebvres Ansatz der Rhythmusanalyse verstanden werden, mit dem sich Metropolen über ihren Klang erforschen und der gesellschaftliche, kulturelle und politische Wandel in den Städten über die Musik und das Gehör erschließen lassen. 

Zentrale internationale Stationen, an denen Mekaweis Werke aufgeführt bzw. gezeigt wurden, sind u. a. SAVVY Contemporary (Berlin, 2021), SHUBBAK Festival (London, 2021), Rote Fabrik (Zürich, 2019), Galerie MEMPHIS (Linz, 2019), Halle14 (Leipzig, 2019), Dakar Biennale (Dakar, 2018), Fak’ugesi African Digital Innovation Festival (Johannesburg, 2018), Cairotronica festival (Kairo, 2018), Lagos Biennale (Lagos, 2017) und Biennale méditerranéenne dʼart contemporain dʼOran (Oran, 2014). 

Text: Kamila Metwaly

Übersetzung: Stefan Hollstein

Vergangen

zum Seitenanfang