Renée Green: WAVELINKS

  • daadgalerie
  • Conversation
  • Screening

18.11.2021 / 19:00 – 21:00
With Renée Green

WAVELINKS: Activism and Sound, 2002 (48 min) + A Different Reality, 2002 (28 min)

Screening + followed by a Conversation between Renée Green and Florian Zeyfang

WAVELINKS is a series of seven videos, begun in 1999 in which Renée Green explores and examines the many relations people have to sound. On the occasion of the exhibition Inevitable Distances at the daadgalerie, Renée Green selected two videos, which focus on electronic music and varying interpretations of this term by those engaged with producing, writing about, and listening to this music. The use of sound in contemporary attempts to “reclaim the streets” and how the material aspect of site recordings is being used to challenge national borders and to mobilize people in different locations, which include Vienna, Los Angeles, Berlin, London and Genoa.

The participants were asked, if “unprecedented pleasure” can exist and what ways are other realities sought via sound?

With: Oscar Abril Ascaso, Tanya Bednar, Bordersounds/wr, Diedrich Diederichsen, Derrick Green, Florian Hecker, Arthur Jafa, Christian Marclay, Albert Salmeron, Elliot Sharp, Greg Tate, Ultra-red, and Mika Vaino.

Thursday 18.11.2021, 19:00-21:00, Doors 18:30
Screening, daadgalerie, 1st floor

Admission is free. 2G Regulation PLUS: Proof of vaccination or recovery required, as well as a daily negative (self-)rapid test and wearing a mask indoors. For contact tracing, please use the Corona Warn app. Please allow sufficient time before the start of the event. In case of waiting times, we ask for your understanding.

We kindly ask you to pre-register.

Past

to top

Renée Green: WAVELINKS

  • daadgalerie
  • Gespräch
  • Screening

18.11.2021 / 19:00 – 21:00
Mit Renée Green

Activism and Sound, 2002 (48 min) + A Different Reality, 2002 (28 min)

Screening + Gespräch zwischen Renée Green und Florian Zeyfang

WAVELINKS ist eine Serie von sieben Videos an der Renée Green seit 1999 fortlaufend arbeitet und in der sie die unterschiedliche Wahrnehmung und vielfältigen Beziehungen von Menschen zu Geräuschen und Klang erforscht und untersucht. Anlässlich der Ausstellung Inevitable Distances in der daadgalerie zeigt Renée Green zwei Videos aus WAVELINKS, die sich mit elektronischer und digital produzierter Musik und den unterschiedlichen Interpretationen dieser Begriffe durch diejenigen befassen, die diese Musik produzieren, über sie schreiben und sie hören. Es geht um die Verwendung von Sound bei zeitgenössischen Versuchen, „die Straßen zurückzuerobern“, und darum, wie der materielle Aspekt von Aufnahmen vor Ort genutzt wird, um nationale Grenzen in Frage zu stellen und Menschen an verschiedenen Orten zu mobilisieren, unter anderem in Wien, Los Angeles, Berlin, London und Genua. Die Teilnehmenden wurden gefragt, ob es ein „noch nie dagewesenes Vergnügen“ geben kann und auf welche Art und Weise durch Klang andere Realitäten angestrebt werden.

Mit: Oscar Abril Ascaso, Tanya Bednar, Bordersounds/wr, Diedrich Diederichsen, Derrick Green, Florian Hecker, Arthur Jafa, Christian Marclay, Albert Salmeron, Elliot Sharp, Greg Tate, Ultra-red, und Mika Vaino.

Donnerstag 18.11.2021, 19:00-21 Uhr, Einlass ab 18:30 Uhr
Screening, daadgalerie, 1. OG

Der Eintritt ist frei. 2G-Regelung PLUS: Impf- oder Genesungsnachweis erforderlich, sowie ein tagesaktueller negativer (Selbst-)Schnelltest und das Tragen einer Maske im Innenraum. Zur Kontaktverfolgung nutzen Sie bitte die Corona-Warn-App. Bitte planen Sie ausreichend Zeit vor Beginn der Veranstaltung ein. Bei Wartezeiten, bitten wir um Ihr Verständnis.

Um eine Voranmeldung wird gebeten.

Demnächst

zum Seitenanfang