• Home
  • >
  • daadgalerie
  • >
  • Program
  • >
  • Renée Green: Inevitable Distances

Renée Green: Inevitable Distances

  • daadgalerie
  • KW Institut für Zeitgenössische Kunst
  • Exhibition
1/1
  • Home
  • >
  • daadgalerie
  • >
  • Program
  • >
  • Renée Green: Inevitable Distances

Renée Green: Inevitable Distances

  • daadgalerie
  • KW Institut für Zeitgenössische Kunst
  • Exhibition

With works by Renée Green

Inevitable Distances, a comprehensive survey of Renée Green’s practice from the early 1980s until now, is simultaneously taking place in Berlin at daadgalerie and KW Institute for Contemporary Art. Green was a 1993/94 DAAD Artist-in-Berlin Program fellow. In 1995, daadgalerie, then still located on Kurfürstenstraße, hosted her exhibition, Miscellaneous.

At today’s daadgalerie, Inevitable Distances presents a re-staging of Certain Miscellanies, a monumental photographic work translating Green’s early 1990s European encounters, first presented in her 1995 DAAD exhibition. This installation is now recombined with Green’s other works, Climates and Paradoxes and Selected Life Indexes, produced for the Einstein Jahr 2005, and the video Begin Again, Begin Again (2015), centered around Rudolph M. Schindler’s architecture. The project Inevitable Distances highlights Green’s ongoing engagement with circuits of exchange between Europe and the Americas.

Throughout the juxtapositions of past and present this paradox emerges: How to bring back the dislocated and the dead, not in order to chase away the ghosts, but rather, to welcome and grant them “the right to a hospitable memory out of a concern for justice”?

Conceived and curated by Melanie Roumiguière and Natalie Keppler.

In collaboration with KW Institute for Contemporary Art Berlin.

Renée Green was a fellow of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program in 1993.

daadgalerie
Oranienstraße 161
10969 Berlin
Tuesday – Sunday 12 am – 7 pm
Free Admission

KW Institute for Contemporary Art
Auguststraße 69
10117 Berlin
Wednesday–Monday 11 am–7 pm
Thursday 11 am–9 pm
Closed on Tuesday
Admission: 8 € / reduced 6 €

to top

Renée Green: Inevitable Distances

  • daadgalerie
  • KW Institut für Zeitgenössische Kunst
  • Ausstellung
1/1

Renée Green: Inevitable Distances

  • daadgalerie
  • KW Institut für Zeitgenössische Kunst
  • Ausstellung

Mit Arbeiten von Renée Green

Inevitable Distances findet gleichzeitig in der daadgalerie und bei den KW Institute for Contemporary Art in Berlin statt und präsentiert einen umfassenden Überblick über Renée Greens Praxis von den frühen 1980er Jahren bis heute. Green war 1993/94 Stipendiatin des Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD, und zeigte 1995 in der daadgalerie, damals noch in der Kurfürstenstraße, ihre Ausstellung Miscellaneous.

Inevitable Distances stellt eine Neuinszenierung von Certain Miscellanies vor mit der Green ihre europäischen Begegnungen der frühen 1990er Jahre in eine monumentale fotografische Arbeit übersetzt, die erstmals in ihrer Berliner Ausstellung von 1995 gezeigt wurde. Diese Installation wird nunmehr in Beziehung gesetzt mit anderen Arbeiten der Künstlerin: Climates and Paradoxes und Selected Life Indexes, die beide für das Einstein Jahr 2005 produziert wurden, und dem Video Begin Again, Begin Again (2015), das sich mit der Architektur von Rudolph M. Schindler auseinandersetzt. Das Projekt Inevitable Distances unterstreicht Greens fortwährende Beschäftigung mit den Austauschbeziehungen zwischen Europa und den Amerikas – dem amerikanischen Kontinent und der Karibik.

In den Gegenüberstellungen von Vergangenheit und Gegenwart taucht dieses Paradoxon auf: Wie kann man die Vertriebenen und Toten zurückholen, nicht in der Absicht, die Geister zu vertreiben, sondern um sie willkommen zu heißen und ihnen „das Recht auf ein gastfreundliches Eingedenken aus Sorge um die Gerechtigkeit“ zu gewähren?

Konzipiert und kuratiert von Melanie Roumiguière und Natalie Keppler.
In Zusammenarbeit mit den KW Institute for Contemporary Art Berlin.

Renée Green war 1993 Stipendiatin des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD.

daadgalerie
Oranienstraße 161
10969 Berlin
Dienstag – Sonntag 12:00 – 19:00 Uhr
Eintritt frei

KW Institute for Contemporary Art
Auguststraße 69
10117 Berlin
Mittwoch–Montag 11–19 Uhr
Donnerstag 11–21 Uhr
Dienstag geschlossen
Eintritt: 8 € / ermäßigt 6 €

zum Seitenanfang