• Home
  • >
  • daadgalerie
  • >
  • Program
  • >
  • Nandita Kumar: From Paradigm To Paradigm, Into the Biomic Time

Nandita Kumar: From Paradigm To Paradigm, Into the Biomic Time

  • daadgalerie
  • Sound Installation
1/1
  • Home
  • >
  • daadgalerie
  • >
  • Program
  • >
  • Nandita Kumar: From Paradigm To Paradigm, Into the Biomic Time

Nandita Kumar: From Paradigm To Paradigm, Into the Biomic Time

  • daadgalerie
  • Sound Installation

With works by Nandita Kumar

Opening: January 26, 2023, 7 pm
Running time: January 27 – March 26, 2023
Opening times: Thu– Sun, 12 – 7 pm; special opening times during MaerzMusik Festival: Tue March 21 – Sun March 26, 3 – 7 pm

Nandita Kumar’s (Fellow Music & Sound 2022) installation at daadgalerie is playfully reminiscent of a newspaper-press, stuck in an eternal loop. The work comments on the constant regurgitation of misinformed and manipulative facts by individuals and organizations as they influence public opinion to protect their own interests: a reminder to listen closely to the echoes of history and avoid mindlessly replaying the discordant notes of the past.

As the challenges and environmental consequences of climate change are manifested, Nandita Kumar reflects on the knowledge gap between the scientific community, political spheres, and the populace at large. While fake news has plagued climate and environmental science for decades, slowing or completely derailing “progress,” information overload, complexity, and lack of meaning has left people feeling anxious and powerless to enact real environmental change.
Kumar’s work deconstructs political rhetoric related to various environmental issues by collating statements made by influential individuals, politicians, and organizations. Employing the very methods of data manipulation and fake news, the statements were transformed by an algorithmic “haiku” generator in order to produce a poem to accompany each of the untrue statements. Forming a glitching musical code, the resulting ninety-one haikus play out through a forty-foot pianola score. The accompanying digital publication allows the viewer to connect each of the poems to its original statement, alongside expanded essays detailing the truth behind these falsehoods.

The sound installation has been collaboratively developed during Kumar’s DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program residency and comprises five sonic journeys representing the elements – earth, water, fire, air, and void – and will culminate in a performance that includes voicing the haikus alongside the pianola player, a collage of found sound and live foley with refuse and recycled objects.

“History never repeats itself, but it does often rhyme” – Mark Twain

Collaborators from Berlin:
Merche Blasco, Christian Kesten, Felicity Mangan, Alex Nowitz, Ute Wasserman
Project-development collaborators:
Co-researcher & co-writer (publication):  Pooja Das
Publication editor: Tim Rutherford Johnson, Malcolm Riddoch
Haiku co-editor: Priyanka Tagore
Co-graphic designer: Shikha Usgaonker
Engineer: Subhadeep Biswas
Pianola code: Matt Gingold

daadgalerie


Thu – Sun, 12 – 7 pm

to top

• Startseite
  • >
  • daadgalerie
  • >
  • Programm
  • >
  • Nandita Kumar: From Paradigm To Paradigm, Into the Biomic Time

Nandita Kumar: From Paradigm To Paradigm, Into the Biomic Time

  • daadgalerie
  • Klanginstallation
1/1
  • Startseite
  • >
  • daadgalerie
  • >
  • Programm
  • >
  • Nandita Kumar: From Paradigm To Paradigm, Into the Biomic Time

Nandita Kumar: From Paradigm To Paradigm, Into the Biomic Time

  • daadgalerie
  • Klanginstallation

Mit Arbeiten von Nandita Kumar

Eröffnung: 26. Januar 2023, 19 Uhr
Laufzeit: 27. Januar – 26. März 2023
Öffnungszeiten: Donnerstag – Sonntag, 12 – 19 Uhr; Sonderöffnungszeiten während des MaerzMusik Festivals: Di, 21.03. – So, 26.03., 15 – 19 Uhr

Die in der daadgalerie ausgestellte Installation von Nandita Kumar (Fellow Musik & Klang 2022) erinnert spielerisch an eine Zeitungspresse, die in einer Endlosschleife feststeckt. Die Arbeit kommentiert das ständige Wiederkäuen von falschen und manipulativen Fakten, mit denen Einzelpersonen und Organisationen die die öffentliche Meinung beeinflussen, um ihre eigenen Interessen zu schützen. Sie ist eine Mahnung, dem Echo der Geschichte genau zuzuhören und die unstimmigen Töne der Vergangenheit nicht gedankenlos nachzuspielen.

Angesichts der Herausforderungen und ökologischen Folgen des Klimawandels beschäftigt sich Nandita Kumar mit der Diskrepanz zwischen dem Wissen von Wissenschaft, Politik und breiter Bevölkerung. Während Fake News die Klima- und Umweltwissenschaften seit Jahrzehnten plagen und den „Fortschritt“ verlangsamen oder ganz zum Erliegen bringen, haben die Informationsflut, die Komplexität und der Mangel an Bedeutung dazu geführt, dass sich die Menschen zu ängstlich und machtlos fühlen, um einen echten ökologischen Wandel zu bewirken.
Kumars Arbeit dekonstruiert die politische Rhetorik im Zusammenhang mit  verschiedenen Umweltthemen, indem sie Aussagen von einflussreichen Einzelpersonen, PolitikerInnen und Organisationen zusammenstellt. Unter Verwendung ebenjener Methoden von Datenmanipulation und Fake News wurden die Aussagen durch einen „Haiku“-Generator umgewandelt, der per Algorithmus zu jeder unwahren Aussage ein Gedicht erstellt. Die daraus resultierenden einundneunzig Haikus, die einen musikalischen Code bilden, werden in einer etwa zwölf Meter langen Partitur für Pianola wiedergegeben. Eine digitale Begleitpublikation ermöglicht den Besuchenden, jedes der Gedichte mit seiner ursprünglichen Aussage in Verbindung zu bringen, während weiterführende Essays die Wahrheit hinter diesen Unwahrheiten erläutern.

Die Klanginstallation wurde kollaborativ während Kumars Aufenthalt im Rahmen des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD entwickelt und umfasst fünf Klangreisen, die die Elemente Erde, Wasser, Feuer, Luft und Leere repräsentieren. Sie gipfelt in einer Performance, bei der die Haikus zusammen mit dem Pianola vorgetragen werden, sowie einer Collage aus gefundenen Klängen und live entstehender Geräuschemacherei aus Müll und recycelten Objekten.

„Geschichte wiederholt sich nicht, aber sie reimt sich.“ – Mark Twain

Berliner Mitwirkende:
Merche Blasco, Christian Kesten, Felicity Mangan, Alex Nowitz, Ute Wasserman.
Mitwirkende bei der Projektentwicklung:
Mitrecherchierende & Koautorin (Publikation): Pooja Das
Lektorat der Buchpublikation: Tim Rutherford Johnson, Malcolm Riddoch
Haiku-Ko-Redakteurin: Priyanka Tagore
Ko-Grafikdesignerin: Shikha Usgaonker
Techniker: Subhadeep Biswas
Pianola-Code: Matt Gingold

daadgalerie

Donnerstag – Sonntag, 12 – 19 Uhr

zum Seitenanfang