Namibia, Visual Arts, 2022, in Berlin

Tuli
Mekondjo

Courtesy of the Artist and Guns and Rain Gallery

Namibian visual artist Tuli Mekondjo was born in 1982 in Angola to Namibian parents who joined Namibia’s SWAPO liberation movement in exile. Tuli Mekondjo spent her early childhood in exile camps in Angola and Zambia, returning to Namibia at independence in 1990. She is a self-taught artist who works with mixed media, sometimes extending these textured media into performance.

Tuli Mekondjo employs photographic transfer, paint, embroidery, resin, and mahangu (millet grain)—an important Namibian food staple. The majority of her work incorporates photographs from public and personal archives that document both Namibia’s colonial history and its independence war. Tuli Mekondjo mobilizes the photographic archive and reflects on historical discourses to articulate her stories at a very personal level, at the same time as engaging with collective memory. With a strong focus on gender, she urges lost past back to life; her sensitive inclusion of cultural symbols acts to center themes of displacement, trauma, continuity, fertility, and resistance.

Regarding colonial ethnographic photographs, Tuli Mekondjo has frequently been interested in the loss of Aawambo Kwanyama oral histories and cultural practices, ranging from initiation rituals to bodily adornment practices such as hairstyles. The artist is deeply concerned with reconstructing, claiming, and honoring black subjectivities in the past. Through the archive, the ancestors become accessible in the present. In particular, Tuli Mekondjo manifests the experiences of women and children whose stories have often been overlooked—especially in prevailing masculinist and party-based patriotic histories of the independence war.

Tuli Mekondjo’s most unusual medium, mahangu flour, finds an important place in this matrix. Applied onto her canvases with resin, this medium is pertinent to decoloniality: it is a direct reference to land, as well as to gendered relationships to space and her forebears. Through mahangu, she claims history, ancestry, and belonging; the land is placed in her art, and vice versa, she places herself in the land.

Tuli Mekondjo also has a performance practice which has multiple spiritual components and embodies a form of decolonial resistance, self-determination, and healing. She refers to some of her modalities as “mending the lost connection to [her] ancestors.”
Tuli Mekondjo has participated in exhibitions at Frac Nouvelle-Aquitaine MÉCA, Bordeaux (2020), Musée d’art et d’histoire Paul Eluard, Saint-Denis (2021), Rautenstrauch-Joest-Museum, Cologne (2022), and will soon show at Zeitz MOCAA, Cape Town. Alongside exhibitions in Namibia and South Africa, she has exhibited at numerous international art fairs and was a participant in Future Africa Visions in Time (2018), with Bayreuth Academy of Advanced African Studies and Goethe-Institut Namibia. Tuli Mekondjo’s artworks are held in many international private collections. She lives and practices in Windhoek, Namibia, where she has also worked with children at the Deutsche Höhere Privatschule Windhoek for eight years.

Text: Julie Taylor
Translation: Anna Jäger

Past

to top

Namibia, Bildende Künste, 2022, in Berlin

Tuli
Mekondjo

Courtesy of the Artist and Guns and Rain Gallery

Die namibische Künstlerin Tuli Mekondjo wurde 1982 in Angola als Tochter namibischer Eltern geboren, die sich im Exil der namibischen Befreiungsbewegung SWAPO angeschlossen hatten. Tuli Mekondjo verbrachte ihre frühe Kindheit in Exillagern in Angola und Sambia. Nach der Unabhängigkeit 1990 kehrte die Familie nach Namibia zurück. Als autodidaktische Künstlerin arbeitet sie mit unterschiedlichen Techniken und setzt gelegentlich ihre materiellen Arbeiten auch bei Performances ein.

Tuli Mekondjo verwendet Fototransfer, Farbe, Stickereien, Harz und Mahangu (Hirsekorn) – ein wichtiges namibisches Grundnahrungsmittel. Die meisten ihrer Arbeiten verwenden Fotografien aus öffentlichen und privaten Archiven, die sowohl die Kolonialgeschichte Namibias als auch den Unabhängigkeitskrieg dokumentieren. Tuli Mekondjo aktiviert das fotografische Archiv und hinterfragt historische Diskurse, um ihre Geschichten auf einer sehr persönlichen Ebene zu erzählen und sich gleichzeitig mit dem kollektiven Gedächtnis auseinanderzusetzen. Unter besonderer Berücksichtigung von Genderaspekten erweckt sie die verlorene Vergangenheit wieder zum Leben; ihre feinfühlige Einbeziehung kultureller Symbole dient dazu, Themen wie Vertreibung, Trauma, Kontinuität, Fruchtbarkeit und Widerstand in den Mittelpunkt zu stellen.

Bei ihrer Beschäftigung mit kolonialen ethnografischen Fotografien interessiert sich Tuli Mekondjo besonders für den Verlust von mündlichen Überlieferungen und kulturellen Praktiken der Aawambo Kwanyama, die von Initiationsritualen bis zu Körperschmuck wie Frisuren reichen. Die Künstlerin beschäftigt sich intensiv mit der Wiederherstellung, Aneignung und Würdigung historischer schwarzer Subjektivitäten. Durch das Archiv werden die Ahnen in der Gegenwart greifbar. Tuli Mekondjo macht insbesondere die Erfahrungen von Frauen und Kindern sichtbar, deren Geschichten oft übersehen wurden – vor allem in den vorherrschenden männerdominierten und parteibasierten patriotischen Geschichten über den Unabhängigkeitskrieg.

Tuli Mekondjos ungewöhnlichstes Medium, Mahangu-Mehl, bekommt in diesem Zusammenhang eine wichtige Bedeutung. Mit Harz auf die Leinwand aufgetragen stellt es einen Bezug zu Themen von Dekolonialität her: Es ist ein direkter Verweis auf Land und Boden sowie auf die genderspezifischen Beziehungen zum Ort und zu ihren Vorfahren. Durch die Verwendung von Mahangu beansprucht sie Geschichte, Abstammung und Zugehörigkeit; das Land findet sich in ihrer Kunst wieder, und umgekehrt findet sie sich selbst im Land wieder.

Tuli Mekondjos Performance-Praxis enthält verschiedene spirituelle Komponenten und verkörpert eine Form des dekolonialen Widerstands, der Selbstbestimmung und der Heilung. Sie bezeichnet einige ihrer Verfahren als „Wiederherstellung der verlorenen Verbindung zu [ihren] Vorfahren“.

Tuli Mekondjo hat an Ausstellungen im Frac Nouvelle-Aquitaine MÉCA, Bordeaux (2020), Musée d’art et d’histoire Paul Eluard, Saint-Denis (2021), sowie Rautenstrauch-Joest-Museum, Köln (2022) teilgenommen und wird demnächst im Zeitz MOCAA, Kapstadt, zu sehen sein. Neben Ausstellungen in Namibia und Südafrika hat sie auf zahlreichen internationalen Kunstmessen ausgestellt und war Teilnehmerin an Future Africa Visions in Time (2018), einer Kooperation zwischen der Bayreuth Academy of Advanced African Studies und dem Goethe-Institut Namibia. Tuli Mekondjos Kunstwerke sind in zahlreichen internationalen Privatsammlungen vertreten. Sie lebt und arbeitet in Windhoek, Namibia, wo sie auch acht Jahre lang an der Deutschen Höheren Privatschule Windhoek mit Kindern gearbeitet hat.

Text: Julie Taylor
Übersetzung: Anna Jäger

Vergangen

zum Seitenanfang