Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Social Media Other Programs
Literature holds secrets, but not all secrets are alike. The literary magic of the Canadian writer André Alexis’s novels is not stoked by unfathomable mysteries or unsolvable puzzles. Where bored gods hamper innocent suburban dogs with the gifts of thinking and speech, where mayors walk on water once a year and talking sheep restore the shaky faith of skeptical priests, it is easy to reach for the label “magic realism.” Alexis roundly rejects it, and rightfully so, for indeed “Days by Moonlight is not a work of realism. It’s not a work that uses the imagination to show the real, but one that uses the real to show the imagination.” Those are the author’s own words in his afterword to his most recent novel, and they can be applied directly to the rest of his oeuvre.

Days by Moonlight (2019) follows Pastoral (2014), Fifteen Dogs (2015), and The Hidden Keys (2016) as the fourth installment of his Quincunx series. The fifth and final installment is on its way. And although each of the novels promise to examine a major theme—faith, place, love, power, and hatred—no thematic stamp can circumscribe what goes on in these wild and rampaging works that were written with so much philosophical wit, implicit meaning, and unbridled, joyful improvisation, as though the author were continuously outsmarting himself at his own writing desk.

A quincunx is a symmetrical pattern of five points—a five-spot on a domino—and even if a scientist with spiritual tendencies still maintains that God does not play dice, in Alexis’s telling, God seems to do nothing else. The Trinidad-born author finds his small miracles and mysteries in reconfigurations of the familiar and amidst lovable misfits who, despite being rough around the edges, still slip smoothly into the subdued but inexhaustible landscape. It is a very Canadian landscape in which Alexis inserts his metaphysical pranks—,an interlaced archipelago of eccentric towns and villages in southern Ontario, places “where it rains five days a week, even when it doesn’t rain at all.”

And the gods are never far away. In Fifteen Dogs, which has also been translated into German, they sit at a counter in Toronto listening to dogs, which with their newfound gift for language compose poems out loud. In Pastoral, the gods have cozied into the fluffy wool of suspiciously glaring sheep. And in Days of Moonlight, their spirit emanates from fictitious psychotropic plants such as the edible oniaten grandiflora, which looks like a hand with five arthritic fingers and cracks like a chicken bone when chomped on.
Readers emerge at the end of Alexis’s books transformed, their skeptical minds not so much won over by faith as becoming “irreligious in a different way.” After all, besides boozing and playing dice, the main thing the gods do is sleep. “When God awakens, we will vanish,” murmurs one thought-provoking line. Let us hope, then, that the gods persist in their dogmatic slumber so that we can continue to read—and experience—novels like these for a little while longer.

Text: Samir Sellami
Translation: Jake Schneider

Photo: Jasper Kettner

Selected Bibliography:

Kindheit
Claassen
München, 2000 [Ü: Henning Ahrens]

Asylum
McClelland & Stewart
Toronto, 2008

Pastoral
Coach House Books
Toronto, 2014

Fifteen Dogs
Coach House Books
Toronto, 2015
Fünfzehn Hunde
Tiamat
Berlin, 2016 [Ü: Norbert Hofmann]

The Hidden Keys
Coach House Books
Toronto, 2016

Days by Moonlight
Coach House Books
Toronto, 2019


Print
Guest Professors
ICORN
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK
Short Invites

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Social Media
Literatur birgt Geheimnisse, doch nicht alle Geheimnisse sind gleicher Natur. In den Romanen des kanadischen Autors André Alexis sind es weder unergründliche Mysterien noch unlösbare Rätsel, die den literarischen Zauber befeuern. Wie überall dort, wo gelangweilte Götter arglosen Vorstadthunden die Gabe des Denkens und Sprechens aufbürden, wo Bürgermeister einmal jährlich auf dem Wasser laufen und sprechende Schafe den bröckelnden Glauben skeptischer Priester erneuern, ist das Attribut des „Magischen Realismus“ schnell zur Hand. Alexis weist es entschieden von sich. Zurecht, denn: „Days by Moonlight ist kein Werk des Realismus. Es bedient sich nicht der Fantasie, um die Wirklichkeit zu zeigen, sondern der Wirklichkeit, um die Fantasie zu zeigen.“ Das schreibt der Autor im Nachwort zu seinem aktuell letzten Roman, und es lässt sich ohne Weiteres auf sein restliches Werk übertragen.

Days by Moonlight (2019) ist nach Pastoral (2014), Fifteen Dogs (2015) und The Hidden Keys (2016) der vierte Teil der sogenannten Quincunx-Serie, deren fünfter, abschließender Band noch aussteht. Und obwohl jeder der Romane die Ergründung eines großen Themas – Glaube, Ort, Liebe, Macht und Hass – verspricht, bringt kein thematisches Label auf den Begriff, was in diesen wilden und wildernden Romanen geschieht, die mit so viel philosophischem Witz, Hintersinn und einer unzähmbaren Lust an der Improvisation geschrieben sind, als würde sich der Autor beim Schreiben permanent selbst überlisten.

Quincunx beschreibt die symmetrische Anordnung der fünf Augen auf einem Würfel, und wenn manch ein/e spirituell veranlagte/r NaturwissenschaftlerIn noch immer glauben mag, Gott würfele nicht, scheint er bei Alexis kaum etwas anderes zu tun. So findet der in Trinidad geborene Autor seine kleinen Wunder und Geheimnisse im Neuarrangieren des Altbekannten und inmitten liebenswürdiger Eigenbrötler, die sich trotz all ihrer Ecken und Kanten am Ende doch nahtlos in die unaufdringliche, aber unerschöpfliche Landschaft einfügen. Eine sehr kanadische Landschaft ist das, in die Alexis seine metaphysischen Lausbubenstreiche verpflanzt, ein verzweigter Archipel exzentrischer Klein- und Kleinststädte im Süden Ontarios, Orte, „an denen es fünf Tage die Woche regnet, auch dann, wenn es überhaupt nicht regnet“.

Und immer sind die Götter nicht weit. In Fifteen Dogs, das auch in deutscher Übersetzung (2016) vorliegt, sitzen sie am Tresen in Toronto und hören den neuerdings sprachbegabten Hunden beim Dichten zu. In Pastoral haben sie es sich im flauschigen Fell verdächtig dreinblickender Schafe gemütlich gemacht. Und in Days by Moonlight atmet ihr Geist aus psychotropen fiktionalen Pflanzen wie der essbaren oniaten grandiflora, die aussieht wie eine Hand aus fünf arthritischen Fingern und beim Reinbeißen knackt wie Brathähnchen.
So treten die LeserInnen am Ende aus Alexis Büchern heraus wie deren skeptische Gemüter aus ihren transformativen Erfahrungen: weniger zum Glauben bekehrt als „auf eine neue Art und Weise irreligiös“. Denn außer Saufen und Würfeln tun die Götter vor allem eins: schlafen. „Wenn Gott aufwacht, verschwinden wir“, raunt es an einer denkwürdigen Stelle. Hoffen wir also, dass die Götter noch länger in ihrem dogmatischen Schlummer verharren, damit wir noch eine Weile weiter in solchen Romanen lesen – und leben – dürfen.

Text: Samir Sellami

Foto: Jasper Kettner


Bibliografie (Auswahl):

Kindheit
Claassen
München, 2000 [Ü: Henning Ahrens]

Asylum
McClelland & Stewart
Toronto, 2008

Pastoral
Coach House Books
Toronto, 2014

Fifteen Dogs
Coach House Books
Toronto, 2015
Fünfzehn Hunde
Tiamat
Berlin, 2016 [Ü: Norbert Hofmann]

The Hidden Keys
Coach House Books
Toronto, 2016

Days by Moonlight
Coach House Books
Toronto, 2019



Print

Gastprofessuren
ICORN
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK
Kurzeinladungen