Sri Lanka, Literature, 2022, in Berlin

Anuk
Arudpragasam

Photo: Ferrante Ferranti

The first sound is the sound of destruction. The first sound: knows no mercy. And perhaps this is the only way we can speak about a war that, like any war, imposes an order on everything, for it will always have happened before everything, every future, and every night to come: speaking of it by examining things, isolated ones and lonesome ones, as they present themselves, time and again, from the vantage point of annihilation, its capacity and its completion; as they appear from inside the dream of violence and its reality and materiality; as they appear from among ruins and limbs, stones and a scrap of skin. The Tamil Eelam writer Anuk Arudpragasam tells us a story about this last distressing object, of a brief marriage and a road north. Of the innermost things, in the measurable sector of the body.

The first sound is the sound of destruction. The first sound: knows no time. During the 25 years and 10 months of the civil war in Sri Lanka, between 80,000 and 100,000 people were murdered, according to official figures, but the obscurity in the numbers suggests 300,000. Arudpragasam’s first novel, The Story of a Brief Marriage, tells a story about the genocide of the Tamil minority in northeast Sri Lanka, as orchestrated by the Sinhalese government and executed by the Sri Lankan military, about one day and one night during that war. His second novel, A Passage North, returns to the site of negation: years after the bombs, the grenades, after teeth were buried in sand. Arudpragasam is a writer of philosophical introspection and phenomenological precision. In A Passage North, he dwells in the body’s most inaccessible terrain: in painstaking contemplation, and in the nuanced rigor of a consciousness that articulates itself in the clarity of hypotactic immanence, and, time and again, in details: in isolated things, and in the loneliest things, which can only testify to the violence that produced them.

The first sound is the sound of destruction. The first sound: knows no space. Arudpragasam’s second novel has three German-language writers as godfathers: From Thomas Bernhard, the author learned the musicality of the unbroken sentence; from WG Sebald the reflections on absence and the most dreadful loss; and from Robert Musil the inventory of systematic thinking. Yet particularly due to its philosophical concreteness, Arudpragasam’s language has such proximity to its subject, which it turns over, opens up, and carries forth, like a bundle of wounded flesh, rendering it corporeal, and physical, at every endpoint. And perhaps this is the only way to tell a story about that war: as Arudpragasam does, by counting the seconds of things, by exhausting oneself with things, by being incapable of resurrecting the dead. Until the ruins, the severed limbs, and the little scrap of skin are longer forgotten.

Text: Senthuran Varatharajah
Translation: Jake Schneider

Past

to top

Sri Lanka, Literatur, 2022, in Berlin

Anuk
Arudpragasam

Foto: Jasper Kettner

Das erste Geräusch ist das Geräusch der Zerstörung. Das erste Geräusch: kennt keine Gnade. Und vielleicht kann man nur so von einem Krieg, der, wie jeder andere Krieg auch, alles ordnet, weil er allem, jeder Zukunft, und jeder kommenden Nacht, immer vorausgegangen sein wird, sprechen: in dem wir die Dinge, die vereinzelten Dinge, und die einsamen Dinge, so betrachten, wie sie sich vom Standpunkt der Vernichtbarkeit und der vollzogenen Vernichtung, so, wie sie sich vom Traum der Gewalt und seiner Realität und Materialität aus immer wieder darstellen; von den Ruinen und Gliedmaßen, von den Steinen und dem Stück Haut. Von diesem letzten Gegenstand des Erbarmens erzählt der Eelam tamilische Schriftsteller Anuk Arudpragasam: von der Geschichte einer kurzen Ehe, und von einem Weg nach Norden. Von den innersten Dingen, im vermessbaren Bezirk des Körpers.

Das erste Geräusch ist das Geräusch der Zerstörung. Das erste Geräusch: kennt keine Zeit. 25 Jahre und 10 Monate dauerte der Bürgerkrieg in Sri Lanka, in dem, offiziellen Zahlen zufolge, 80.0000 bis 100.000 Menschen ermordet worden sind, aber von 300.000 Toten spricht die Dunkelheit in den Ziffern. Vom Genozid an der tamilischen Minderheit im Nordosten Sri Lankas, den die singhalesische Regierung orchestriert und den das sri-lankanische Militär ausgeführt hat, von einem Tag und von einer Nacht im Krieg erzählt Arudpragasams erster Roman, The Story of a Brief Marriage. Sein zweiter Roman A Passage North kehrt zum Ort der Verneinung noch einmal zurück: Jahre nach den Bomben, den Granaten, nachdem die Zähne vom Sand bedeckt wurden. Arudpragasam ist ein Schriftsteller der philosophischen Introspektion und der phänomenologischen Präzision. In A Passage North bleibt er im unzugänglichsten Bereich des Körpers: in der sorgfältigen Erwägung, und in der nuancierten Strenge eines sich selbst artikulierenden Bewusstseins. In der Deutlichkeit hypotaktischer Immanenz, und immer wieder im Detail: in den vereinzelten, in den einsamsten Dingen, die nur von der Gewalt berichten können, die sie begründet.

Das erste Geräusch ist das Geräusch der Zerstörung. Das erste Geräusch: kennt keinen Raum. Drei deutschsprachige Schriftsteller sind Paten von Arudpragasams zweitem Roman: von Bernhard lernte er die Musikalität des ungebrochenen Satzes, von Sebald die Reflexionen über Abwesenheit und den entsetzlichsten Verlust, von Musil die Inventur des konsequenten Gedankens. Arudpragasams Sprache bleibt aber gerade durch ihre philosophische Konkretion so nah an ihrem Gegenstand, den sie wendet, öffnet und trägt, wie ein Bündel verletztes Fleisch, damit sie körperlich wird, und physisch ist, an jedem Ende. Und vielleicht kann man nur so von diesem Krieg erzählen: indem man wie Arudpragasam die Sekunden in den Dingen zählt, indem man sich in den Dingen erschöpft, indem man die Toten nicht wieder auferstehen lassen kann. Bis die Ruinen, die abgetrennten Gliedmaßen und das kleine Stück Haut nicht mehr vergessen sind.

Text: Senthuran Varatharajah

The Story of a Brief Marriage
Flatiron Books, New York, 2016

Die Geschichte einer kurzen Ehe
Hanser Berlin, 2017, (Ü: Hannes Meyer)

Passage North
Hogarth Press, London, 2021

Nach Norden
Hanser Berlin, 2022 (Ü: Hannes Meyer)

Vergangen

zum Seitenanfang