Poland, Film, 2021, in Berlin

Anna
Zamecka

Photo: Jasper Kettner

Through small twists and turns of fate, along with a keen intuition for tapping into the more ephemeral qualities of what surrounds her at any given moment, writer, director, and producer, Anna Zamecka accomplished a transcendent début with her nonfiction feature, Communion (2016). The film features a close-knit, economically and emotionally precarious family, with two extraordinary young protagonists at its heart. Zamecka’s unique sensitivities to the situation facing brother and sister Ola and Nikodem, conjoined with sophisticated and precise cinematic language, resulted in a powerful portrayal of daily life.

Communion was filmed in just thirty-five days over the course of one year, mostly within the confines of a very small flat outside Warsaw. It was exhibited at over 100 international festivals and venues, garnering over forty awards, including the European Film Award for Best European Documentary 2017; Locarno Film Festival Critics’ Week Award 2016; shortlisted for the Best Documentary Feature category at the 91st Academy Awards (Oscars®); Yamagata IDFF 2017:  The Robert and Frances Flaherty Prize (Grand Prize).

In true neo-realist fashion, Communion was not constructed in the editing room as many observational pieces are. The script was utilized as the framework on which to hang the “natural” rhythms of the story. This process required diving back into every single second of what had been shot to find those perfect cutaways and non-verbal cues that can explicate so much of what the protagonists experience – and by extension, what the spectator experiences in the cinema along with them. Creating this kind of intimate and immediate portraiture is a fine art in and of itself, and Zamecka has already displayed a rare talent in this regard.

Born in Warsaw, Zamecka currently resides in the midst of Białowieża Forest at the Polish / Belarussian border, the last extant primeval forest in Europe. Still deeply invested in exploring the liminal states that reside in between strict genre forms, and with the robust success of her first film for ballast, Zamecka continues to find the most fluid way of telling a story in current and future film works through her scriptwriting. Her background in anthropology and photography – along with a deep exploration of the forest around her – will particularly inform her latest project, which is still at quite a fragile stage. At this juncture, it is clear that it is very much connected with the place she now calls home. “I am interested in filmic attempts that go beyond the anthropocentric paradigm. My desire is to gaze at the world through the senses of non-humans. But is it even possible to gain access to non-human perspectives and create non-anthropocentric stories?” To find cinematic solutions in realizing the potential to create these non-anthropocentric ways of seeing the world and revealing new modes of narration is at the core of Zamecka’s work as she continues to search for fresh visual and audial languages to portray Nature, along with the species with whom we share our planet, in unexpected and thrilling ways.

Text: Pamela Cohn

to top

Polen, Film, 2021, in Berlin

Anna
Zamecka

Foto: Jasper Kettner

Mit ihrem Dokumentarfilm Kommunion gelang der Autorin, Regisseurin und Produzentin Anna Zamecka 2016 ein grandioses Debüt – begründet in ihrem feinen Gespür für die eher flüchtigen Qualitäten dessen, was sie in jedem einzelnen Augenblick umgibt, und flankiert von den kleinen Wendungen des Schicksals. Der Film zeigt eine auf engstem Raum lebende, wirtschaftlich und emotional instabile Familie, im Mittelpunkt stehen zwei außergewöhnliche junge ProtagonistInnen. Es ist die Verknüpfung einer differenzierten und präzisen Filmsprache mit einem einzigartigen Einfühlungsvermögen in die Lage der Geschwister Ola und Nikodem, das Zamecka diese eindringliche Schilderung des Alltäglichen ermöglicht.

Kommunion wurde in nur fünfunddreißig Tagen im Laufe eines Jahres gedreht, überwiegend in einer sehr kleinen Wohnung bei Warschau. Der Film wurde auf über 100 internationalen Festivals und Spielstätten gezeigt und erhielt mehr als vierzig Auszeichnungen, darunter den Europäischen Filmpreis für den besten europäischen Dokumentarfilm 2017, den Preis der Kritikerwoche des Locarno Film Festivals 2016 und den Robert and Frances Flaherty Prize (Grand Prize) beim Yamagata International Documentary Film Festival 2017. Zudem stand er auf der Shortlist für den besten Dokumentarfilm bei den 91. Academy Awards (Oscars®).

Ganz im Sinne des Neorealismus wurde Kommunion nicht wie andere observatorische Arbeiten erst im Schneideraum konstruiert. Das Drehbuch diente als Gerüst, an das sich die „natürlichen“ Rhythmen der Geschichte hängen konnten. Dieser Vorgehen verlangte, in jede einzelne gedrehte Sekunde ein weiteres Mal einzutauchen, um die perfekten Ausschnitte und nonverbalen Hinweise zu finden, die so viel von dem vermitteln, was die ProtagonistInnen erleben – und damit auch das, was das Publikum im Kino mit ihnen erlebt. Diese Art intimer und eindringlicher Porträts ist eine Kunst für sich, und Zamecka hat hier ein besonderes Talent bewiesen.

Die in Warschau geborene Filmemacherin lebt derzeit im Naturschutzgebiet Białowieża an der polnisch-belarussischen Grenze, dem letzten noch verbliebenen Urwald in Europa. Der große Erfolg ihres ersten Films gab ihr die nötige Sicherheit, weiter an den Schwellen zwischen den strengen Genregrenzen zu forschen, und so findet sie bei ihren laufenden und geplanten Projekten immer wieder die perfekte Form, um mit ihren Drehbüchern eine stimmige, flüssige Geschichte zu erzählen. Ihr Hintergrund in Anthropologie und Fotografie, in Verbindung mit einer tiefgründigen Erkundung des Urwaldes, fließt insbesondere in ihr neuestes Projekt ein, das sich noch in einem sehr frühen und entsprechend fragilen Stadium befindet. Deutlich zu erkennen ist schon, wie sehr es mit dem Ort verbunden ist, den sie jetzt ihr Zuhause nennt. „Ich bin an filmischen Versuchen interessiert, die über das anthropozentrische Paradigma hinausgehen. Ich möchte die Welt mit den Sinnen von nicht-menschlichen Wesen betrachten. Aber ist es überhaupt möglich, Zugang zu nicht-menschlichen Perspektiven zu bekommen und nicht-anthropozentrische Geschichten zu erzählen?“ Die Suche nach filmischen Lösungen für diese Perspektiven auf die Welt und überhaupt nach neuen Erzählweisen steht im Mittelpunkt von Zameckas Arbeit, in der sie stets nach neuen Bild- und Klangsprachen sucht, um die Natur und die Arten, mit denen wir unseren Planeten teilen, auf bisher unbekannte und faszinierende Weise darzustellen.

Text: Pamela Cohn
Übersetzung: Anna Jäger

zum Seitenanfang