Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Social Media Other Programs
Amid scenes of day-to-day urban life, the eyes of cats flash and pieces of fruit—oranges, pears, and peaches—grow and rot. Black dogs chase after black birds; someone is in love with meatballs; “holidays of former countries hum.” A lake declaims long monologues, tells stories of its life: an anthropomorphic landscape with our existences reflected in its surface.

Marko Pogačar has been described as not only a renewer of Croatian poetry, but an enchanted voice who leaves behind all borders and assumes his rightful place among the global community of poets with zeal and a soft touch. Everyone from the Odessa-born poet Ilya Kaminsky to the Spanish poet Martín López-Vega, and from the German critic Andreas Nentwich to the Romanian poet Claudiu Komartin agrees that Pogačar stands apart. He has been compared with the likes of Rimbaud, Hölderlin, Novalis, Brodsky, and the Hungarian filmmaker Béla Tarr.

Born in Split in 1984, Marko Pogačar made waves at age 22 with his first poetry collection Pijavice nad Santa Crusom (Twisters over Santa Cruz). The Slovenian poet Tomaž Šalamun has called Marko Pogačar “a miracle.” In his second collection Poslanice običnim ljudima (Epistles of the Common People), released a year later, the young poet turned his attention “to female tailors, to my neighbors, to dreamy housewives.” He proclaimed his lyrical messages matter-of-factly, for example in a poem addressed to the “tired Trotskyites” he writes “Pogačar thinks: everything is God = God is nothing.” And two years later, in his third collection of poems Predmeti (Objects), he wrote: “My tongue is a dark / meaty fist.”

This was followed by books of essays, short stories, and travel writing, minutely composed and replete with everyday phenomena and political analysis, metaphysical premonitions, and symbolic reveries. His poems and prose have been translated into more than thirty languages. He has been invited to international poetry festivals and residency programs, and these journeys have left their traces in his work as the poetic reflections of a melancholy nomad.

The better the poet acquainted himself with the world, the more urgently he treated the necessity of rebellion: “[J]ust as an oven red-hot a man must be / to melt all that world around him,” he writes in his fourth poetry collection Crna pokrajina (Black Region, 2013).

On his tenacious quest for an authentic expression of our era’s trials and tribulations, Marko Pogačar moves between colloquialism and elegant prosody, jargon and psalms, irony and self-reflection, pop culture and nature, intimate confessions and radical gestures. He is an ace at precise articulation, and yet his writing simultaneously celebrates the sounds and rhythms of language, at times morphing political and philosophical themes into enigmatic melodies with playful relish.

Text: Alida Bremer
English Translation: Jake Schneider

Photo: Jasper Kettner


Selected Bibliography:

Pijavice nad Santa Crusom
AGM
Zagreb, 2006

Poslanice običnim ljudima
Algoritam
Zagreb, 2007
An die verlorenen Hälften
Edition Korrespondenzen
Wien, 2010 [Ü: Alida Bremer]

Bog neće pomoći (Gott will nicht helfen / God will not help)
Algoritam
Zagreb, 2012

Crna pokrajina
Algoritam
Zagreb, 2013
Schwarzes Land
Edition Korrespondenzen
Wien, 2015
[Ü: Alida Bremer]

Zemlja, zemlja (Boden, Boden / Ground, Ground)
Fraktura
Zaprešić, 2017


Print
Guest Professors
ICORN
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK
Short Invites

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Social Media
Inmitten von urbanen Alltagsszenen funkeln Katzenaugen, wachsen und faulen Früchte – Orangen, Birnen, Pfirsiche –, schwarze Hunde jagen schwarze Vögel, jemand liebt Fleischbällchen, „es rauschen die Feiertage vergangener Staaten“. Ein See führt lange Monologe, erzählt von seinem Leben – eine anthropomorphe Landschaft, auf deren Wasseroberfläche sich unser Dasein spiegelt.

Marko Pogačar wird nicht nur als Erneuerer der kroatischen Poesie beschrieben, sondern auch als eine Stimme voller Magie, die alle Grenzen hinter sich lässt und sich mit Leidenschaft und Leichtigkeit in die poetische Weltgemeinschaft einreiht. Ob der in Odessa geborene Dichter Ilya Kaminsky oder der spanische Dichter Martín López-Vega, ob der deutsche Kritiker Andreas Nentwich oder der rumänische Lyriker Claudiu Komartin – sie alle sind sich einig, dass es sich um eine herausragende Erscheinung handelt; verglichen wird er mit Rimbaud, mit Hölderlin oder Novalis, mit Joseph Brodsky und dem ungarischen Filmemacher Béla Tarr.

1984 in Split geboren, machte sich Marko Pogačar im Alter von 22 Jahren mit seinem ersten Gedichtband Pijavice nad Santa Crusom (Wirbelstürme über Santa Cruz) bemerkbar. Der slowenische Dichter Tomaž Šalamun schrieb: „Marko Pogačar ist ein Wunder.“ In seinem zweiten Gedichtband Poslanice običnim ljudima (Sendschreiben an gewöhnliche Menschen, dt. An die verlorenen Hälften, 2010) wandte sich der junge Dichter ein Jahr später „an die Schneiderinnen, an die Nachbarn, an die verschlafenen Hausfrauen“. Er verkündete seine dichterischen Botschaften mit großer Selbstverständlichkeit, so etwa in einem „an die müden Trotzkisten“ gerichteten Gedicht: „Pogačar denkt: alles ist Gott = Gott ist nichts“. Und zwei Jahre später erklärte er im dritten Gedichtband Predmeti (Gegenstände, dt. An die verlorenen Hälften, 2010): „Meine Sprache ist eine dunkle / fleischige Faust.“

Es folgten Essaybände, Erzählungen und Reiseberichte – minuziös komponierte Texte geprägt von Alltagsphänomenen und politischen Analysen, von metaphysischen Vorahnungen und symbolischen Imaginationen. Seine Gedichte und seine Prosatexte wurden in mehr als dreißig Sprachen übersetzt, er war Gast internationaler Poesiefestivals und Residence-Programme, die Spur dieser Reisen zieht sich durch seine Texte als poetische Reflexion eines melancholischen Nomaden.

Je besser der Dichter die Welt kennenlernte, desto dringlicher erschien ihm die Notwendigkeit der Rebellion: und heiß wie ein Ofen muss ein Mensch sein, / damit er die Welt um sich herum zum Schmelzen bringt, so heißt es in seinem vierten Gedichtband Crna pokrajina (2013, Schwarzes Land, 2015).

Auf seiner beharrlichen Suche nach dem authentischen Ausdruck für die Wirrungen unserer Epoche bewegt sich Marko Pogačar zwischen Umgangssprache und erhabenem Ton, Fachjargon und Psalmen, Ironie und Selbstreflexion, Popkultur und Natur, zwischen intimen Bekenntnissen und radikalen Gesten. Er ist ein Meister der präzisen Formulierungen, zugleich feiert er in seinen Texten die Sprache mit ihren Klängen und Rhythmen und verwandelt bisweilen mit spielerischer Lust politische und philosophische Inhalte in rätselhafte Melodien.

Text: Alida Bremer

Foto: Jasper Kettner


Bibliografie (Auswahl):

Pijavice nad Santa Crusom
AGM
Zagreb, 2006

Poslanice običnim ljudima
Algoritam
Zagreb, 2007
An die verlorenen Hälften
Edition Korrespondenzen
Wien, 2010 [Ü: Alida Bremer]

Bog neće pomoći (Gott will nicht helfen / God will not help)
Algoritam
Zagreb, 2012

Crna pokrajina
Algoritam
Zagreb, 2013
Schwarzes Land
Edition Korrespondenzen
Wien, 2015
[Ü: Alida Bremer]

Zemlja, zemlja (Boden, Boden / Ground, Ground)
Fraktura
Zaprešić, 2017


Print
Gastprofessuren
ICORN
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK
Kurzeinladungen