Date / Hours
02.11. 20:00 Uhr
Artist / Title
Michael Mantler
im Rahmen des Jazzfest Berlin 2007 - 31.10.-04.11.
Haus der Berliner Festspiele
Schaperstrasse 24 Berlin-Wilmersdorf
Michael Mantler, composition, trumpet
Roswell Rudd, trombone
Bob Rockwell, tenor saxophone
Bjarne Roupé, guitar
Majella Stockhausen-Riegelbauer, piano
Pedro Carneiro, marimba/vibraphone
Nick Mason, percussion and
Kammerensemble Neue Musik Berlin, director Roland Kluttig

Michael Mantler is currently composing a series of instrumental solo concertos for chamber ensemble (the Kammerensemble Neue Musik) featuring soloists from the fields of contemporary new music (non-improvising) as well as from new jazz and rock (improvising/freely interpreting).
This proposed "Concertos" project will, in a way, some 40 years later, represent a return and update to Mantler’s original concept of his work for the Jazz Composer's Orchestra, as applied to today’s soloists, now from a wider musical experience, interacting with a flexible contemporary chamber ensemble.

"Not intended as solo concertos in a strict, classical sense, these pieces, even though perhaps difficult, will not be conceived as primarily virtuosic exercises, and therefore will not ask the near-impossible from the soloists just for the sake of demonstrating technical prowess. I prefer to simply think of them as pieces of music that happen to feature the unique sound of a particular instrument, as interpreted by the chosen soloists." (M. Mantler)