Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Social Media Other Programs
1961 Construction of the Berlin Wall.
1962 The Ford Foundation (New York) decide to finance an annual "Artists-in-Residence" Programme. Fields: Visual Arts, Music and Literature.
1963 The first guests arrive at the "frontline" of the Cold War. Between 1963 and 1965 among the guests are Emilio Vedova, Michel Butor, Jan Kotik, Ingeborg Bachmann, H.W. Henze, Iannis Xenakis, W.H. Auden, Igor Strawinsky
1963 April The Ford Foundation transfer the handling of the Artists-in-Residence Programme to DAAD. Peter Nestler becomes the first Head of the Berlin Office.

Fig. 1 Witold Gombrowicz (Guest of DAAD 1963/64)
Foto: Susanna Fels

Fig. 2 In the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra: Theatre Manager Stresemann with the fellowship holders Hans Werner Henze, Elliott Carter, Gilbert Amy und Igor Strawinsky (1964)
Foto: Max Jacoby
1965 The Senate of Berlin decide to budget for the Artists-in-Residence Programme as of mid 1966.
1966 January

From July
DAAD takes on the handling of the "Artists-in-Residence" Programme. The first nomination jury chooses guests for the following year.

Official new name of "DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Programme".

Fig. 3 Ed Kienholz at "30 International Artists" in Beethoven Hall in Bonn (1966)
Foto: Ingeborg Lommatzsch
Fig. 4 György Ligeti (Guest of DAAD 1969/70)
Foto: Werner Bethsold
Fig. 5 George Tabori at a reading at the Akademie der Künste (Academy of Arts) (1971)
Foto: Hermann Kiessling

Fig. 6 György Kurtág at the Studio Concert "East European Avant-Garde" at the SFB (1971) Foto: Martin Haswell
1972 Karl Ruhrberg becomes Head of the Berlin Office.

Fig. 7 John Cage and Morton Feldman in an apartment of the Artists-in-Berlin Programme (both guests of 1972)
Foto: Gerd Sander
1973 DAAD and the Academy of Arts found the "Künstlerhaus Bethanien GmbH".
1974 Stephen Dwoskin is the first guest in the new field of Film.
1978 Wieland Schmied becomes the successor of Karl Ruhrberg.
1978 December Opening of the "daadgalerie" in Kurfürstenstrasse.
1986 Joachim Sartorius adopts the role of Head of the Artists-in-Berlin Programme.
1989 The Fall of the Berlin Wall.  The Artists-in-Berlin Programme is the first institution to move it’s office from Steinplatz to Jägerstrasse in Berlin-Mitte.

Fig. 8 Susan Sontag (Guest of DAAD 1989/90)
Foto: Ekko von Schwichow
Fig. 9 Cees Nooteboom and Joachim Sartorius at "Literature and Film" at Arsenal Cinema (1990)
Foto: Marianne Fleitmann
1994 Dr. Heinz-L. Nastansky adopts the role of Head of the Artists-in-Berlin Programme.
1999 Ulrich Podewils becomes the new Head of the Artists-in-Berlin Programme.  The office moves to it’s current address of Gendarmenmarkt on Markgrafenstrasse.
2001 "Zeitenwechsel" (Changing Times): 35 Years of the Artists-in-Berlin Programme – anniversary event.

Fig. 10 Performance of the sound performer David Moss during "Zeitenwechsel" (2001)
Foto: Ekko von Schwichow
2003 Nele Hertling becomes the new Head of the Artists-in-Berlin Programme.
2005 The "daadgalerie" moved to Zimmerstrasse in Berlin-Mitte, a historic location near "Checkpoint Charlie".

Fig. 11 Opening of the daadgalerie with a video installation by Anri Sala (from Albania, guest of DAAD in 2005) about the time of upheaval in his home city of Tirana.
2006 The German Academic Exchange Service establishes the Valeska-Gert guest professorship in dance and performance at the Free University.
2007 January

Nele Hertling is elected vice-president of the Akademie der Künste, Dr. Annette Julius becomes the new director of the Artists-in-Berlin-Programme in January.

"Beyond the Wall: Berlin - A Free Port of the Arts" 8/9/07 - 2/12/07.
A joint project by the Brandenburger Tor foundation, the Literary Colloquium Berlin and the Artists-in-Berlin-Programme which included exhibitions, readings, a writers conference as well as two concerts.

Fig. 12 Concert on Dec. 2, 2007 in the Akademie der Künste: Mark André and Members of the Ensemble Modern
photo by Stefan Maria Rother
2008 On the 1st of September Katharina Narbutovič is to take on directorship of the Artists-in-Berlin Program of the DAAD.
Guest Professors
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK
Short Invites