Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Social Media Other Programs
Online reading and discussion
Samanta Schweblin, born in Buenos Aires in 1978, is considered one of the most distinguished voices in contemporary Argentine literature. She was an Artists-in-Berlin Program fellow in 2012–13 and currently holds the Samuel Fischer Visiting Professorship for Literature at the Freie Universität Berlin.

In an online event on March 4, Schweblin will discuss with Moritz Lünenborg her current novel 'Hundert Augen' (published by Suhrkamp in August 2020), the importance of opening sentences, the film adaptation of her novel Das Gift, her experiences as Fischer Visiting Professor and her relationship with Berlin.

Schweblin received an award in Argentina in 2001 for her first collection of short stories, 'El núcleo del disturbio'. This was followed by numerous prizes for her work, now comprising three short story collections and two novels, and her books have been translated into twenty-five languages. She has lived and worked in Berlin since her DAAD Artist-in-Berlin Program residency. Her current novel, 'Kentukis' (German edition: 'Hundert Augen', published by Suhrkamp in August), was longlisted for last year’s International Booker Prize. In all of her books, the ambiguity of everyday life occupies a central role. Schweblin plays with the discrepancy between reality and her protagonists’ imagination, without resorting to surrealistic or fantastical elements.

Moritz Lünenborg lives and works as a radio journalist in Magdeburg and Leipzig. His short story 'Magdeburg y nada' recently appeared in the Mexican journal 'Salvaje literatura y arte'.

The discussion is held in Spanish.

Watch here on YouTube. (available from March 4th, 7 p.m.)

Photo: Stefan Klüter


Print

Guest Professors
ICORN
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK
Short Invites

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Social Media
Online-Lesung und Gespräch
Samanta Schweblin, 1978 in Buenos Aires geboren, gilt als eine der profiliertesten Stimmen der argentinischen Gegenwartsliteratur. 2012/13 war sie Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms, derzeit ist sie Samuel Fischer Gastprofessorin an der Freien Universität Berlin.

Am 4. März spricht Samanta Schweblin in einer Online-Veranstaltung mit Moritz Lünenborg u. a. über ihren aktuellen Roman „Hundert Augen“ (im August 2020 bei Suhrkamp erschienen), die Bedeutung erster Sätze, die Verfilmung ihres Romans „Das Gift“, ihre Zeit als Fischer Gastprofessorin und ihre Beziehung zu Berlin.

Bereits für ihre erste Kurzgeschichten-Sammlung „El núcleo del disturbio“ 2001 wurde Schweblin in Argentinien ausgezeichnet. Zahlreiche Preise für ihr Werk, das inzwischen drei Erzählbände mit Kurzgeschichten sowie zwei Romane umfasst, folgten; ihre Bücher sind in 25 Sprachen übersetzt. Seit ihrem Residenzaufenthalt beim Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD lebt und arbeitet sie in Berlin. Ihr aktuelles Werk, der Roman „Kentukis“ (dt. „Hundert Augen“), ist im August bei Suhrkamp erschienen und stand auf der Longlist des letztjährigen Booker International Prize. In all ihren Büchern spielt die Doppelbödigkeit des Alltags eine entscheidende Rolle. Schweblin spielt mit der Diskrepanz zwischen Realität und Einbildung ihrer Protagonisten, ohne auf surrealistische oder fantastische Elemente zurückzugreifen.

Moritz Lünenborg lebt und arbeitet als Radiojournalist in Magdeburg und Leipzig. Zuletzt ist seine Kurzgeschichte „Magdeburg y nada“ im mexikanischen Magazin „Salvaje literatura y arte“ erschienen.

Das Gespräch findet auf Spanisch statt.

Hier auf YouTube ansehen. (erst am 4. März 2021 ab 19 Uhr verfügbar)

Foto: Stefan Klüter


Druckversion
Gastprofessuren
ICORN
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK
Kurzeinladungen