Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Social Media Other Programs
11th Berlin Biennale for Contemporary Art at daadgalerie: Storefront for Dissident Bodies
From September 5th until November 1st the 11th Berlin Biennale for Contemporary Art is a guest at the daadgalerie. This year's Berlin Biennale presents the epilogue of its manifold activities, which have been taking place in Berlin since September 2019, under the title "The Crack Begins Within" at four exhibition venues spread across the city:
KW Institute for Contemporary Art, daadgalerie, Gropius Bau and ExRotaprint.

The presentation at the daadgalerie brings together works by Edgar Calel, Francisco Copello, FCNN – Feminist Collective With No Name (Dina El Kaisy Friemuth/Anita Beikpour) mit Neda Sanai, Andrés Fernández, Delaine Le Bas, Dana Michel und Tracy Maurice, Naomi Rincón Gallardo, Solvognen (The Sun Chariot) Theater Group, and a work developed especially for the exhibition by a current fellow of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program Osías Yanov.
The DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program is a cooperation partner of the 11th Berlin Biennial and has supported the production of the work „Servicio de Escuchasión“ [Listening Service] by Osías Yanov and Sirenes Errantes.

To frame the exhibition at the daadgalerie, the curators of the 11th Berlin Biennale write:
"Cities are not made of buildings, but of soft bodies in movement and their cartographies of affect. The clothing we wear helps us make, inhabit, and transform space. Is it possible to wear a place one wants to go to? Is it possible to dress oneself into the collective bodies we desire? Welcome to the storefront for rebel bodies and their choreographies of disarmament. Prêt-à-porter architecture for vulnerable movements and their politics of fashion, tearing down the hypersexualized normalcy of department-store season collections. Clothing as a second skin of protection and care, exposing the masquerades of birth and biological givens. Dress and costume as a caressing flexible fortress, a room of one’s own. Trojan geese and opossums as gentle organic vessels from which to jump out of and dismantle the peddlers of corporate profit and rip apart the uniforms they impose. Outfits and prostheses as acts of love, ways of listening and being with each other and our surroundings. Clothing, coverings and uncoverings, as language and territory. White walls are softened, veiled, made light-reflexive, embracing all in their shimmery drag. This is a storefront for queer and dissident bodies and their fierce promenades."
(María Berríos, Renata Cervetto, Lisette Lagnado and Agustín Pérez Rubio)

Exhibition Venues and Opening Hours of the 11th Berlin Biennale for Contemporary Art:

KW Institute for Contemporary Art
Auguststraße 69, 10117 Berlin
Wed–Mon 11 am–7 pm, Thu 11 am–9 pm, Tue closed

daadgalerie
Oranienstraße 161, 10969 Berlin
Wed–Mon 11 am–7 pm, Tue closed
Free entrance

Gropius Bau
Niederkirchnerstraße 7, 10963 Berlin
Wed–Mon 10 am–7 pm, Thu 10 am–9 pm, Tue closed

11. Berlin Biennale c/o ExRotaprint
Bornemannstraße 9, 13357 Berlin
Wed–Mon 11 am–7 pm, Tue closed


Because the total number of visitors in the exhibition space is limited,
please book your tickets with a time slot via the website of the Berlin Biennial: ticket website 11th Berlin Biennale


Image credits:
1. Delaine Le Bas, "St Sara Kali George", 2020, installation view,
Courtesy Delaine Le Bas; Yamamoto Keiko Rochaix, London.

2.-3. Osías Yanov and Sirenes Errantes, "Servicio de Escuchasión" [Listening Service], 2020, installation view, Courtesy Osías Yanov and Sirenes Errantes.

4. FCNN – Feminist Collective With No Name (Dina El Kaisy Friemuth/Anita Beikpour) with Neda Sanai, "Hydrocapsules.love", 2020, installation view, Courtesy FCNN – Feminist Collective With No Name with Neda Sanai.

5. Naomi Rincón Gallardo, "Resiliencia Tlacuache" [Opossum Resilience], 2019, installation view, Courtesy Naomi Rincón Gallardo.

All photographs: Silke Briel


Print

Guest Professors
ICORN
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK
Short Invites

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Social Media
11. Berlin Biennale für zeitgenössische Kunst in der daadgalerie: Schaufenster für dissidente Körper
Vom 05. September bis zum 01. November ist die 11. Berlin Biennale für zeitgenössische Kunst zu Gast in der daadgalerie. Die diesjährige Berlin Biennale präsentiert unter dem Titel „Der Riss beginnt im Inneren“ den Epilog ihrer vielfältigen Aktivitäten, die seit September 2019 in Berlin stattfinden, an vier über die Stadt verteilten Ausstellungsorten:
KW Institute for Contemporary Art, daadgalerie, Gropius Bau und ExRotaprint.

Die Präsentation in der daadgalerie versammelt Arbeiten von Edgar Calel, Francisco Copello, FCNN – Feminist Collective With No Name (Dina El Kaisy Friemuth/Anita Beikpour) mit Neda Sanai, Andrés Fernández, Delaine Le Bas, Dana Michel und Tracy Maurice, Naomi Rincón Gallardo, Solvognen (The Sun Chariot) Theater Group, und eine eigens für die Ausstellung entwickelte Arbeit des aktuellen Stipendiaten des Berliner Künstlerprogramms Osías Yanov.
Das Berliner Künstlerprogramm hat die Produktion der Arbeit „Servicio de Escuchasión“ [Zuhör-Service] von Osías Yanov und Sirenes Errantes unterstützt und ist ein Kooperationspartner der 11. Berlin Biennale.

Zur Rahmung des Ausstellungsteils in der daadgalerie schreiben die Kurator*innen der 11. Berlin Biennale:
"Die Stadt besteht nicht aus dem Gebauten. Sie formt sich aus weichen, sich durch sie bewegenden Körpern und ihrer affektiven Kartografie. Kleidung hilft uns, Raum zu gestalten, zu bewohnen und zu verändern. Doch können wir uns in den Ort hüllen, den wir erreichen wollen? Können wir den ersehnten kollektiven Leib tragen? Willkommen vor dem Schaufenster, das den Blick auf rebellische Körper und ihre Choreografien der Entwaffnung freigibt. Prêt-à-porter-Architektur für eine Dynamik der Empfindsamkeit und eine Politik der Mode, die die hypersexualisierte Normalität der saisonalen Kollektionen in den Warenhäusern entschleiert. Kleidung als zweite, als schützende Haut, als Fürsorge, die die Maskerade der Geburt oder der biologischen Mitgift offenbart. Kleidung und Kostüm als zärtliche, anschmiegsame Festung, als Raum für sich allein. Trojanische Gänse oder Opossums als liebevolle, organische Gefährte, aus denen wir herausspringen, um das Hausieren der Konzerne zu entlarven und die Uniformen zu zerreißen, die sie uns aufzwingen. Kleider und Prothesen als Akt der Liebe, als Möglichkeit des Zuhörens und des Zusammenseins, des Einswerdens mit dem, was uns umgibt. Kleidung, Bedeckung und Aufdeckung, als Sprache und Territorium. Weiße Wände sanft gezeichnet, kaschiert, das Licht reflektierend gestaltet, uns einfangend in ihren schimmernden Glanz. Dies ist eine Fassade für queere und dissidente Körper und ihre wilden Promenaden."
(María Berríos, Renata Cervetto, Lisette Lagnado und Agustín Pérez Rubio)


Ausstellungsorte und Öffnungszeiten der 11. Berlin Biennale für zeitgenössische Kunst:

KW Institute for Contemporary Art
Auguststraße 69, 10117 Berlin
Öffnungszeiten: Mi–Mo 11–19 Uhr, Do 11–21, Di geschlossen

daadgalerie
Oranienstraße 161, 10969 Berlin
Öffnungszeiten: Mi–Mo 11–19 Uhr, Di geschlossen
Eintritt frei

Gropius Bau
Niederkirchnerstraße 7, 10963 Berlin
Öffnungszeiten: Mi–Mo 10–19 Uhr, Do 10–21, Di geschlossen

11. Berlin Biennale c/o ExRotaprint
Bornemannstraße 9, 13357 Berlin
Öffnungszeiten: Mi–Mo 11–19 Uhr, Di geschlossen


Da die zulässige Gesamtzahl der BesucherInnen in den Ausstellungen begrenzt ist, bitten wir darum, Tickets mit Zeitfenster über die Website der Berlin Biennale zu buchen:Ticket Website 11. Berlin Biennale


Bildnachweis:
1. Delaine Le Bas, "St Sara Kali George", 2020, Installationsansicht,
Courtesy Delaine Le Bas; Yamamoto Keiko Rochaix, London.

2.-3. Osías Yanov und Sirenes Errantes, "Servicio de Escuchasión" [Zuhör-Service], 2020, Installationsansicht, Courtesy Osías Yanov und Sirenes Errantes.

4. FCNN – Feminist Collective With No Name (Dina El Kaisy Friemuth/Anita Beikpour) mit Neda Sanai, "Hydrocapsules.love", 2020, Installationsansicht, Courtesy FCNN – Feminist Collective With No Name mit Neda Sanai.

5. Naomi Rincón Gallardo, "Resiliencia Tlacuache" [Opossum Resilience], 2019, Installationsansicht, Courtesy Naomi Rincón Gallardo.

Alle Fotos: Silke Briel

bb11_daadgalerie_booklet_DE.pdf
bb11_daadgalerie_booklet_EN.pdf

Druckversion
Gastprofessuren
ICORN
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK
Kurzeinladungen