Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Social Media Other Programs
An exhibition featuring works by Burak Delier, Ieva Epnere and Runo Lagomarsino.
Organized in cooperation with the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program; curated by Melanie Roumiguière and Malte Roloff within the framework of SoS (Soft Solidarity) conceived by Nataša Ilić and Solvej Helweg Ovesen.
The group exhibition And That Song Is Our Amulet at Galerie Wedding showcases the work of three guests of the Artists-in-Berlin Program: Burak Delier, Ieva Epnere and Runo Lagomarsino. The featured artworks offer ways to find resistance and protection in uncertain times in loose, soft, vulnerable or temporary forms of community and solidarity, rather than in heroic gestures or ideological convictions. Now, above all, as we face a “new normality” of existential uncertainty, it is important to emphasize the power of art, words and images and their capacity to resist prevailing political, religious and economic systems.

A long time in planning, the exhibition project at Galerie Wedding took an unexpected turn in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic. Since March 2020, the municipal gallery’s spaces have been used in the mornings for the needs of the Mitte social welfare center, while exhibitions are presented in the afternoons. In view of the conflicting priorities accompanying this mixed use, the artists and curators decided to make every effort to improve the situation for all concerned: for those seeking advice from the social welfare center and its employees who provide such services and for visitors and employees of the gallery. The outcome is not a work of art, but a gesture, a modest attempt that might also fail. In its examination of the juxtaposition of state welfare and contemporary art, the project addresses the state of emergency in which we live and how this is manifested on a micro level at Galerie Wedding.

Galerie Wedding – Raum für zeitgenössische Kunst
Müllerstraße 146–147
13353 Berlin

Opening Hours
Tuesday to Saturday 12–7pm
The gallery is wheelchair accessible
Admission is free
galeriewedding.de
facebook.com/galeriewedding
instagram.com/galeriewedding



Exhibition views:
And That Song Is Our Amulet, Galerie Wedding, in cooperation with the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program.

Photographer: Thomas Bruns


Print

Hours
12 - 19 Uhr
Guest Professors
ICORN
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK
Short Invites

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Social Media
Eine Ausstellung mit Arbeiten von Burak Delier, Ieva Epnere und Runo Lagomarsino.
Entstanden in Kooperation mit dem Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD, kuratiert von Melanie Roumiguière und Malte Roloff im Rahmen von SoS (Soft Solidarity) konzipiert von Nataša Ilić und Solvej Helweg Ovesen.
In der Gruppenausstellung „And That Song Is Our Amulet“ in der Galerie Wedding werden die Arbeiten von Burak Delier, Ieva Epnere und Runo Lagomarsino dem Berliner Publikum vorgestellt. Die Arbeiten der drei Stipendiat*innen des Berliner Künstlerprogramms machen Angebote, Widerständigkeit und Schutz in unsicheren Zeiten eher in losen, weichen, verletzlichen, temporären Formen von Gemeinschaft und Solidarität zu suchen als in heroischen Gesten und ideologischen Gewissheiten. Gerade heute, in Zeiten der „neuen Normalität“ existentieller Ungewissheiten, gilt es die Kraft von Kunst und Poesie zu betonen und den vorherrschenden Systemen der Politik, Religion und Wirtschaft gegenüberzustellen.

Das von langer Hand geplante Ausstellungsvorhaben in der Galerie Wedding hat im Zuge der Covid-19-Pandemie eine unerwartete Wendung genommen. Seit März 2020 werden die Räume der Kommunalen Galerie vormittags für Bedarfe des Sozialamts Mitte genutzt, nachmittags ist Ausstellungsbetrieb. Angesichts der spannungsgeladenen Widersprüche, die diese Mischnutzung mit sich bringt, beschlossen die Künstler*innen und Kurator*innen, es nicht unversucht zu lassen, die Situation für alle Betroffenen zu verbessern: für die Menschen die die Beratung des Sozialamts in Anspruch nehmen müssen und die Mitarbeiter*innen die diese leisten, für die Besucher*innen und Mitarbeiter*innen der Galerie. Was daraus folgt ist kein Kunstwerk, sondern eine Geste, ein bescheidener Versuch, der auch scheitern kann. Das Projekt adressiert somit den Ausnahmezustand, in dem wir leben und wie er sich auf Mikroebene in der Galerie Wedding zeigt, und hinterfragt die Gegenüberstellung von staatlicher Wohlfahrt und zeitgenössischer Kunst.

Galerie Wedding – Raum für zeitgenössische Kunst
Müllerstraße 146 – 147
13353 Berlin

Öffnungszeiten
Dienstag bis Samstag 12 – 19 Uhr
Die Galerie ist barrierefrei zugänglich
Der Eintritt ist frei
galeriewedding.de
facebook.com/galeriewedding
instagram.com/galeriewedding



Ausstellungsansichten:
And That Song Is Our Amulet, Galerie Wedding, in Kooperation mit dem Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD.

Fotograf: Thomas Bruns

Raumplan_Galerie Wedding_DE.pdf
Floorplan_Galerie Wedding_EN.pdf

Druckversion
Öffnungszeiten
12 - 19 Uhr
Gastprofessuren
ICORN
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK
Kurzeinladungen