Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Social Media Other Programs
Sheila Hayman PIK Resident Artist 2020


Portrait Sheila Hayman. Photo: Diana Levine/MIT Media Lab

Renowned British filmmaker and author Sheila Hayman is this year’s Artist in Residence at the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research (PIK). The three-month residency is made possible by a cooperation between the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program (BKP), the Department of Culture and Museums of the City of Potsdam and PIK.
Sheila Hayman was selected from over 300 applications for the Artist in Residence program, which put out an international call for applicants for the first time this year. Her residency in Potsdam takes place from September to November 2020. During her stay, she will focus on the contradictions and ambivalences of artificial intelligence regarding issues of sustainability and climate change. The multiple award-winning journalist and director of numerous documentaries is currently working in collaboration with the MIT Media Lab on a book and film titled “Senseless” on these topics.
This year’s Artist in Residence program jury included Silvia Fehrmann (Director BKP), Margret Boysen / Reinhild Costa (PIK), Bianka Peetz-Mühlstein / Celine Bradler-Ehlert (Potsdam State Capital) as well as curator Alexandra Jach and theater producer Julian Klein.

The PIK Artists-in-Residence Program is a cooperative project between the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research, the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program and the State Capital of Potsdam and is financed by funds from the German Federal Foreign Office and the State Capital of Potsdam.
The PIK Artists-in-Residence Program was founded in 2011.

https://www.pik-potsdam.de/



Print
Guests
Mariana Silva & Pedro Neves MarquesPortugal/USA2019
Chris JordanUSA2018
SjónIceland2017
Amy Howden-ChapmanNew Zealand2016
Oleksandr BurlakaUkraine2015
Dan PetermanUSA2015
studioBASARRumania2015
Jay GriffithsGreat Britain2013
Lars GustafssonSweden2012
Nick LaessingNetherlands/Great Britain2012
Steven PippinGreat Britain2011
Peter WeberSwitzerland2011
Events
29.04.2019 – 29.04.
19h / 7pm
Mariana Silva & Pedro Neves Marques
Inhabitants: Drawing from Art to Explore Environmental Issues
Panel Discussion
29.4.2019
mehr
Guest Professors
ICORN
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK
Short Invites

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Social Media
Sheila Hayman ist Gastkünstlerin am PIK 2020


Portrait Sheila Hayman. Foto: Diana Levine/MIT Media Lab

Die renommierte britische Filmemacherin und Autorin Sheila Hayman ist diesjährige „Artist in Residence“ am Potsdam-Institut für Klimafolgenforschung (PIK). Ermöglicht wird der dreimonatige Aufenthalt durch eine Kooperation zwischen dem Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD (BKP), dem Fachbereich Kultur und Museum der Landeshauptstadt Potsdam und dem PIK.

Sheila Hayman wurde, in dem 2020 erstmals international ausgeschriebenen „Artist in Residence“-Programm, aus über 300 Bewerbungen ausgewählt und ist von September bis November 2020 zu Gast in Potsdam. Während ihres Aufenthaltes beschäftigt sie sich mit den Widersprüchen und Ambivalenzen von Künstlicher Intelligenz im Zusammenhang mit Fragen der Nachhaltigkeit und des Klimawandels. Die mehrfach ausgezeichnete Journalistin und Regisseurin zahlreicher Dokumentarfilme arbeitet aktuell an einem Buch und Film zu diesen Themen unter dem Titel „Senseless“ in Zusammenarbeit mit dem MIT Media Lab.

Die Jury des diesjährigen „Artist in Residence“ Programms bestand aus Silvia Fehrmann (Direktorin BKP), Margret Boysen / Reinhild Costa (PIK) Bianka Peetz-Mühlstein / Celine Bradler-Ehlert (Landeshauptstadt Potsdam) sowie der Kuratorin Alexandra Jach und dem Theatermacher Julian Klein.

Das ‚Artists in Residence am PIK‘-Programm ist ein Kooperationsprojekt des Potsdam-Instituts für Klimafolgenforschung, des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD und der Landeshauptstadt Potsdam und wird finanziert aus Mitteln des Auswärtigen Amtes und der Landeshauptstadt Potsdam.
Das Artists in Residence Programm am PIK wurde 2011 gegründet.

https://www.pik-potsdam.de





Druckversion
Gäste
Mariana Silva & Pedro Neves MarquesPortugal/USA2019
Chris JordanUSA2018
SjónIsland2017
Amy Howden-ChapmanNeuseeland2016
Oleksandr BurlakaUkraine2015
Dan PetermanUSA2015
studioBASARRumänien2015
Jay GriffithsGroßbritannien2013
Lars GustafssonSchweden2012
Nick LaessingNiederlande/Großbritannien2012
Steven PippinGroßbritannien2011
Peter WeberSchweiz2011
nächste Veranstaltungen
29.04.2019 – 29.04.
19h / 7pm
Mariana Silva & Pedro Neves Marques
Inhabitants: Drawing from Art to Explore Environmental Issues
Podiumsdiskussion
29.4.2019
mehr
Gastprofessuren
ICORN
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK
Kurzeinladungen