Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Social Media Other Programs
One of the most surprising formal operations in the Christian bible takes place in the sixth book of the New Testament, in Paul the Apostle's Epistle to the Romans. Near the end, the writer breaks free from the author, introducing himself as “Tertius, who wrote down this letter.” Tertius (literally “third” in Latin) of Iconium was the amanuensis for Paul the Apostle’s longest epistle. This narrative wrinkle has generated debates that range from narrative authenticity (who was Tertius? Was he Christian? Was he a slave? What was the relationship between him and Paul the Apostle?) to media archaeology (was the Epistle conceived in a different language that required translation? Were scribes common at the time?), altogether pointing to the relevance of mediation: who tells a tale adds a tail.

The films by Affonso Uchôa are not consistently religious, even though the one that most directly invokes a narrative Tertius—the found notebook in Arábia (Araby, 2017), co-directed with João Dumans—starts and ends in the city of Ouro Preto, the cradle of Brazilian catholic baroque art. Nonetheless, his films are testimonies of the importance of the mediator—an element that exists in the fold between two different worlds, which can sometimes be a character (Andre—Murilo Caliari—in Araby), or a filmmaking device (the long take in Seven Years in May, 2019), but that is also reflective of the position of the filmmaker himself.

Born in São Paulo, in 1984, Uchôa was not widely known by international audiences until Araby premiered in competition at International Film Festival Rotterdam, kickstarting a successful global run, collecting laurels from Buenos Aires International Festival of Independent Cinema, Viennale, FIDMarseille, Indie Lisboa, and rave reviews along the way. Its follow-up, Sete Anos em Maio (Seven Years in May, 2019), won an award at the Burning Lights International Competition at its premiere at Visions du Réel, and has since thrived in festivals such as Toronto International Film Festival, Jeonju International Film Festival and Film Madrid despite its awkward run time of 42 minutes.

His trajectory precedes international recognition with two feature films (A Vizinhança do Tigre, The Hidden Tiger, 2014; and Mulher à Tarde Woman in the Afternoon, 2010) and two shorts (Desígnio, Design 2009; and Ou a Noite Incompleta, Or an Incomplete Night, 2006, co-directed with Luiz Gabriel Lopes, Maurício Rezende, and Priscila Amoni) widely circulated in local festivals. His emergence in international cinema coincides with the coalescence of a singular aesthetic in his film The Hidden Tiger, which uses the cinephilic formalism of his earlier films—Desígnio and Woman in the Afternoon—to distort and potentialize the gripping reality of his aptly-named neighborhood—Nacional, in the city of Contagem, Minas Gerais. This idiosyncratic third glance, both removed from and implicated in the creative matter of the world before it, results in films that refresh the political vocation of Latin American cinema, pushing it toward a radical self-reflection that does not refuse narration, but instead pulls it from the frail fabric of daily life.

Text: Fabio Andrade


Selected Films:

Ou a Noite Incompleta
Ko-Regie mit Luiz Gabriel Lopes, Maurício Rezende und Priscila Amoni
(Kurzfilm/Short film, 2006)

Desígnio
(Kurzfilm/Short film, 2009)

Mulher à Tarde
(Spielfilm/Feature Film, 2010)

A Vizinhança do Tigre
(Spielfilm/Feature Film, 2014)

Arábia
Ko-Regie mit João Dumans
(Spielfilm/Feature Film, 2017)

Sete Anos em Maio
(Kurzer Spielfilm/Short feature film, 2019)


Print
Guest Professors
ICORN
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK
Short Invites

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Social Media
Eine der größten formalen Überraschungen in der Bibel findet sich im sechsten Buch des Neuen Testaments, in Paulus’ Römerbrief. Gegen Ende emanzipiert sich der Schreiber vom Autor und stellt sich als „Tertius, der diesen Brief schrieb“ vor. Tertius (wörtlich „der Dritte“ auf Latein) von Iconium fungierte als Paulus’ Sekretär bei dessen längstem Brief. Dieser Schachzug hat im Lauf der Zeit eine breitgefächerte Debatte evoziert, die von narrativer Authentizität (Wer war Tertius? War er Christ? War er ein Sklave? Welche Beziehung hatte er zum Apostel Paul?) bis zur Medienarchäologie (Wurde der Brief zunächst in einer anderen Sprache formuliert und musste übersetzt werden? Waren Schreiber damals üblich?) reicht. All diese Fragen bündeln sich in einer zentralen Überlegung: Welchen Einfluss hat derjenige, der eine Geschichte erzählt, auf ihren Verlauf?

Affonso Uchôas Filme sind nicht durchweg religiös. Zumindest aber beginnt und endet der Film, der am deutlichsten einen Erzähler-Tertius zitiert – in Form des gefundenen Notizbuchs in Arábia (Arabien, 2017, Ko-Regie mit João Dumans) – in der Stadt Ouro Preto, der Wiege der katholischen Barockkunst Brasiliens. Und: Seine Filme zeugen von der Bedeutung einer vermittelnden Instanz, die am Übergang zweier Welten angesiedelt ist. Sie kann ein Charakter sein (wie Andre – Murilo Caliari – in Arábia) oder ein filmisches Mittel (wie die lange Einstellung in Sete Anos em Maio, Sieben Jahre im Mai, 2019), vor allem aber spiegelt sich darin die Position des Filmemachers selbst.

Der 1984 in São Paulo geborene Uchôa war international kaum bekannt, als sein Film Arábia im Wettbewerb des Internationalen Filmfestivals Rotterdam Premiere feierte, einen globalen Siegeszug antrat und dabei Lorbeeren auf Festivals wie dem Buenos Aires International Festival of Independent Cinema, der Viennale, FIDMarseille und IndieLisboa sowie begeisterte Kritiken erntete. Sein Nachfolger, Sete Anos em Maio, wurde erstmals auf dem Festival Visions du Réel vorgestellt und im internationalen Wettbewerb Burning Lights ausgezeichnet. Seither feierte der Film, trotz seiner ungewöhnlichen Länge von nur 42 Minuten, auf Festivals wie dem Toronto International Film Festival, dem Jeonju International Film Festival und Film Madrid Erfolge.

Schon vor der internationalen Anerkennung hatte Uchôa zwei Spielfilme (A Vizinhança do Tigre, Die Nachbarschaft des Tigers, 2014; und Mulher à Tarde, Nachmittagsfrau, 2010) und zwei Kurzfilme (Desígnio, Gestaltung, 2009; und Ou a Noite Incompleta, Oder die unvollständige Nacht, 2006, Ko-Regie mit Luiz Gabriel Lopes, Maurício Rezende und Priscila Amoni) gedreht, die auf vielen lokalen Festivals gezeigt wurden. Der nun erfolgte große Auftritt im internationalen Kino fällt zusammen mit der Entstehung einer einzigartigen Ästhetik. Uchôa nutzt den cinephilen Formalismus seiner früheren Filme, um in A Vizinhança do Tigre die harte Realität seines treffend benannten Wohnviertels – Nacional in der Stadt Contagem in Minas Gerais – gleichzeitig zu brechen und zu verstärken. Dieser eigenwillige dritte Blick sagt sich von der kreativen Materie der Welt vor seinen Augen los und ist doch in sie verwickelt.
Er schafft Filmen, die der politische Berufung des lateinamerikanischen Kinos neuen Schwung verleihen und es zu einer radikalen Selbstreflexivität drängen, die sich dem Erzählen nicht verweigert, sondern aus dem zerbrechlichen Gewebe des täglichen Lebens schöpft.

Text: Fabio Andrade
Deutsche Übersetzung: Anna Jäger


Filmografie (Auswahl):

Ou a Noite Incompleta
Ko-Regie mit Luiz Gabriel Lopes, Maurício Rezende und Priscila Amoni
(Kurzfilm/Short film, 2006)

Desígnio
(Kurzfilm/Short film, 2009)

Mulher à Tarde
(Spielfilm/Feature Film, 2010)

A Vizinhança do Tigre
(Spielfilm/Feature Film, 2014)

Arábia
Ko-Regie mit João Dumans
(Spielfilm/Feature Film, 2017)

Sete Anos em Maio
(Kurzer Spielfilm/Short feature film, 2019)


Print
Gastprofessuren
ICORN
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK
Kurzeinladungen