Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Social Media Other Programs
Each of Lucrecia Martel’s films is an event. They are mysterious works, filmed in utmost secrecy (she is notorious for being secretive), which often raises expectations. But the films one expects are never situated where the spectator expects them to be (not even for the most diehard Martel cineaste). This is one of the qualities that makes her unique as a filmmaker: her style is as distinct as the varying worlds that her works inhabit, yet each film is surprising, audacious, and challenging in new ways, making both the viewer’s experience as well as the director’s aesthetic trajectory into something rarified.

After a promising short film, Rey muerto (Dead King, 1995), a Western take on the oppressive milieu in the provinces which will become one of her trademarks, Martel made her feature-length debut with La ciénaga (The Swamp, 2001), undoubtedly the most powerful, complete, and influential debut of the so-called New Argentine Cinema. Martel was taking her initial steps and already seemed to know everything. What she filmed was without parallel. A truly programmatic film, La ciénaga established the horizon in which all her films would appear: La niña santa (The Holy Girl, 2004), La mujer sin cabeza (The Headless Woman, 2008), Zama (2017). A handful of films—four features in twenty years—all them original, exhilarating, remarkably unsettling.

La ciénaga is Salta, the city in northern Argentina where Martel was born, with its bourgeoisie in decline, its wounded families, and its sticky, alienating summers—the perfect breeding ground for this web of little tales, gossip, grudges, and beliefs that Martel’s camera knows how to capture like no other. All of Martel is there, but first and foremost is her fascination with the local manners of speaking and interacting, the plainly rooted rituals, protocols, and typical ways of life, laid bare by Martel with an entomologist’s precision and resounding through the echo chamber of contemporary society.

The singularity of her “provincial cosmopolitanism” is apparent, an ability to completely articulate the eyes and ears with which she captures the seismic shifts of her land —discreet, silent, ever menacing—along with the most critical debates on the global agenda. Also evident is her affinity for movement, mixing, the dealings of the classes, genres, ages, and species, which renders each of her shots into a kind of theater of unique wantonness both fluid and explosive. Contravening the rigid hierarchies of an archaic society, in Martel everything comes up against each other: class with gender, desire with power, lineage with sexuality, reason with madness, nature with nurture. In La niña santa, desire and the sacred are neighbors in too close a proximity, perhaps two sides of the same vertiginous face; in La mujer sin cabeza, respectability rubs shoulders with guilt and criminal acts; in Zama (Martel’s first foray into “period” cinema), history is hallucinatory, pure lysergia: a bleak expanse in which a colonial official waits and bleeds out his days among dogs, women, foreigners, horses, Blacks, Indians. There are no borders in Martel, or they exist only as unstable, porous strips, divulging far more than they divide. Lucrecia Martel’s cinema is a laboratory of divergent coexistence.

Text: Alan Pauls
English translation: Kathleen Heil


Selected Films:

Rey Muerto
(Kurzfilm/Short film, 1995)

La ciénaga
(Spielfilm/Feature Film 2001)

La niña santa
(Spielfilm/Feature Film, 2004)

La mujer sin cabeza
(Spielfilm/Feature Film, 2008)

Zama
(Spielfilm/Feature Film, 2017)

AI
(Kurzfilm/Short film, 2019)


Print
Guest Professors
ICORN
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK
Short Invites

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Social Media
Jeder Film von Lucrecia Martel ist ein Ereignis. Es sind geheimnisvolle, mit höchster Diskretion gefilmte Werke (Martel hat eine geradezu sprichwörtliche Vorliebe für das Geheimnis), die hohe Erwartungen wecken. Aber diese lang ersehnten Filme besetzen stets die unmöglichsten Orte (mit denen nicht einmal Martels bedingungsloseste ZuschauerInnen rechnen). Das ist eines der Merkmale, das sie als Filmemacherin so einzigartig macht: Ihr Stil ist so unverwechselbar wie die Welten, in die sie vordringt, doch jeder Film ist eine Überraschung, ein Wagnis, eine neue Herausforderung, die sowohl die Erfahrung der ZuschauerInnen als auch den ästhetischen Werdegang ihrer Regisseurin noch eigenartiger macht.

Nach einem vielversprechenden Kurzfilm, Rey muerto (Toter König, 1995), einer Western-Version der bedrückenden Provinzwelt, die eines ihrer Markenzeichen werden sollte, debütierte Martel mit La ciénaga (Morast, 2001): zweifellos das mächtigste, vollkommenste und einflussreichste Erstlingswerk des Neuen Argentinischen Kinos. Martel machte ihre ersten Schritte und schien schon alles zu wissen. Was sie filmte, war unvergleichlich. Als wahrhaft programmatischer Film legte La ciénaga den Grundstein für ihre weiteren Werke: La niña santa (Das heilige Mädchen, 2004), La mujer sin cabeza (Die Frau ohne Kopf, 2008), Zama (2017). Es sind wenige Filme – vier Langfilme in zwanzig Jahren –, doch alle originell, anregend, ungewöhnlich, verstörend.

La ciénaga ist Salta, die Stadt im Norden Argentiniens, in der Martel zur Welt kam, mit ihrem im Niedergang befindlichen Bürgertum, ihren versehrten Familien, ihren feuchtheißen und sich selbst entfremdeten Sommern – der perfekte Nährboden für dieses Geflecht kleiner Geschichten, Gerüchte, Ressentiments und Glaubensbekenntnisse, die Martels Kamera wie keine andere aufzuzeichnen versteht. All diese Dinge machen ihre Arbeit aus, aber an erster Stelle steht die Faszination für das Lokale, für die Art und Weise, wie gesprochen wird, wie Beziehungen entstehen, für Rituale, Protokolle, endemische Lebensformen, die Martel mit der Präzision einer Entomologin seziert und in der Echokammer der Gegenwartsgesellschaft zum Schwingen bringt.

Ihr Charakteristikum ist ein singulärer „provinzieller Kosmopolitismus“, der mit absolutem Blick und Gehör die – schamhaften, stummen, stets drohenden – Erschütterungen des jeweiligen Ortes einfängt und mit den kritischen Debatten der globalen Agenda verbindet. Schon in La ciénaga findet sich auch ihre Vorliebe für den Kreislauf, die Vermischung, den Austausch von class, gender, Alter, Spezies. Wider die strengen Hierarchien einer archaischen Gesellschaft ist bei Martel alles mit allem in Berührung: class mit gender, das Verlangen mit der Macht, die Verwandtschaft mit der Sexualität, der Verstand mit dem Wahnsinn, die Kultur mit der Natur. In La niña santa sind das Begehren und das Heilige allzu vertraute Nachbarn, zwei Seiten desselben Schwindels; in La mujer sin cabeza verbrüdert sich die Ehre mit der Schuld und dem Verbrechen; in Zama, Martels erstem Ausflug in den Historienfilm, ist die (Welt-)Geschichte eine Halluzination, purer Rausch: die Hochebene, auf der ein Kolonialbeamter ausharrt und zwischen Hunden, Frauen, Ausländern, Pferden, Schwarzen, Indigenen langsam verblutet. Bei Martel gibt es keine Grenzen oder es gibt sie nur als unbeständige, poröse Zonen, die mehr verbinden, als dass sie trennen. Ihr Kino ist ein Laboratorium auseinanderstrebender Koexistenzen.

Text: Alan Pauls
Deutsche Übersetzung: Timo Berger


Filme (Auswahl):

Rey Muerto
(Kurzfilm/Short film, 1995)

La ciénaga
(Spielfilm/Feature Film 2001)

La niña santa
(Spielfilm/Feature Film, 2004)

La mujer sin cabeza
(Spielfilm/Feature Film, 2008)

Zama
(Spielfilm/Feature Film, 2017)

AI
(Kurzfilm/Short film, 2019)


Print
Gastprofessuren
ICORN
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK
Kurzeinladungen