Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Social Media Other Programs
Stavanger-born vocalist Stine Janvin is active in experimental music, sound, and audiovisual performance, with a special interest in the ambiguous and unrecognisable qualities of the voice. Through a diverse range of projects and collaborations such as the live radio play In Labour , the performative Installation “The Subjective Frequency Transducer”, releases under alter ego ST/NE, and field explorations as one half of field recording adaptations duo Native Instrument, she explores and challenges the physical features of the voice, the acoustics of her external/internal surroundings, and traditions of electronic, pop, club, and folk musics.

Janvin’s 2018 album, Fake Synthetic Music , released on interdisciplinary label PAN, brought the artist international critical acclaim for her singular examination of how the voice can be disconnected from its natural, human connotations. The record is but one of many iterations that test the resonant possibilities of spaces, from theatres to clubs to galleries, through a driving vocal imitation of melodic synth sequences.

“SOLD (a dog and pony show)” is Janvin’s latest work. It premiered in March 2020 after a two-week creation period that saw her work with 12 volunteer dancers, from children to retirees. Personal branding has become a norm, especially for artists, who are expected to maintain a strong online persona. But what does this digital image actually reveal about an artist or their art? Is the number of followers or likes really a meaningful status symbol? How much would you bend your principles or creative output for more digital attention? Navigating this intense commercialization of identity, Janvin’s voice soars over choreographed group movement and glittering pop lighting in a search for one’s true self among the social media noise.

With the arrival of lockdowns in late March, “SOLD” has been adapted into digital versions that attempt to translate a “live” feeling of performance (and the togetherness that comes with it) to the screen format. As the pandemic continued, amplifying isolation, uncertainty, hardship, and violence, Janvin, like so many of us, felt how strongly we need human contact and compassion. As she arrives in Berlin for her residency, she is inspired to revisit her earlier work, Fake Synthetic Music , with a shift in focus from the synthetic/natural divide to engaging with the social setting of music venues. Modulated by current (and future) hygiene regulations, the work will play with ways that we can spend time, listen, and dance together offline.

Janvin has collaborated with artists such as Holly Herndon, Catherine Lamb, and Adam Linder, and has toured extensively throughout Europe including performances at INA-GRM, Paris; The Long Now, Berlin; Elevate, Graz; CTM Festival, Berlin; Issue Project Room, NYC; Unsound Festival, Krakow; Terraforma, Milan; and many more.

Text: Taïca Replansky

Photo: Jasper Kettner


Print
Guest Professors
ICORN
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK
Short Invites

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Social Media
Die Vokalistin Stine Janvin, geboren im norwegischen Stavanger, bewegt sich im Bereich von experimenteller Musik, Sound und audiovisuellen Performances. Ihre besondere Leidenschaft gilt den mehrdeutigen und nicht wiederzuerkennenden Eigenschaften der Stimme. Diese physischen Merkmale der Stimme erforscht sie, unterläuft sie und stellt sie in Beziehung zur Akustik ihrer externen wie internen Umgebung und den Traditionen von Elektro-, Pop-, Club- und Folk-Musik. Daraus ergeben sich die verschiedensten, teils kollaborativen Projekte wie das Live-Radiospiel In Labour, die performative Installation The Subjective Frequency Transducer – präsentiert unter dem Alter Ego ST/NE –, sowie Feldforschungen, deren Aufnahmen sie als Teil des Duos Native Instrument weiterverarbeitet.

Ihr 2018 erschienenes Album Fake Synthetic Music, veröffentlicht bei PAN, wurde von der internationalen Kritik gefeiert als bahnbrechende Untersuchung der Art und Weise, wie sich Stimmen von ihren natürlichen, menschlichen Bezügen abkoppeln lassen. Das Album ist nur eine von mehreren Variationen, mit deren Hilfe sie das Potenzial an Klang und Widerhall, das Räume bieten (seien es Theater, Clubs oder Galerien), durch eine treibende Stimmimitation melodischer Synthesizer-Sequenzen austestet.

SOLD (a dog and pony show), Janvins neueste Arbeit, wurde im März 2020 nach einer zwei-wöchigen Produktions- und Probenzeit mit zwölf LaientänzerInnen – von Kindern bis zu RentnerInnen – uraufgeführt. Selbstvermarktung gehört mittlerweile zur Norm, besonders für KünstlerInnen, von denen eine starke Onlinepersönlichkeit erwartet wird. Aber was sagt dieses digitale Image tatsächlich aus? Wie weit ist der oder die einzelne bereit, die eigenen Prinzipien oder kreative Leistungen für größere digitale Aufmerksamkeit zurechtzubiegen? Im Versuch, sich in dieser massiven Kommerzialisierung von Identität zurechtzufinden, schwingt Janvins Stimme über den choreografierten Bewegungen der Gruppe und funkelnder, poppiger Beleuchtung auf der Suche nach dem eigenen Selbst inmitten des Gelärms der sozialen Medien.

Mit dem Lockdown Ende März 2020 wurde SOLD in digitale Versionen übersetzt, mit dem Ziel, das Live-Gefühl einer Performance (und das Gemeinschaftsgefühl, das damit einher geht) beim Transfer auf den Bildschirm nicht zu verlieren. Das Fortdauern der Corona-Pandemie wirkte als Verstärker von Isolation, Unsicherheit, Elend und Gewalt, was auch Stine Janvin – wie so vielen von uns – unmissverständlich klarmachte, wie sehr wir menschlichen Kontakt und Mitgefühl brauchen.
Diese Herausforderung hat Janvin bei ihrer Ankunft in Berlin inspiriert, ihre Arbeit Fake Synthetic Music wiederaufzugreifen. Abgestimmt auf aktuelle (und zukünftige) Hygienevorschriften will die Arbeit mit Möglichkeiten spielen, offline Zeit miteinander zu verbringen, zuzuhören und zu tanzen.

Stine Janvin kooperiert mit internationalen KünstlerInnen wie Holly Herndon, Catherine Lamb und Adam Linder und hat auf Tourneen bei renommierten Festivals wie INA-GRM, Paris; CTM Festival, Berlin; Issue Project Room, NYC und Unsound Festival, Krakau performt.

Text: Taïca Replansky
Deutsche Übersetzung: Anna Jäger

Foto: Jasper Kettner


Print
Gastprofessuren
ICORN
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK
Kurzeinladungen