Lebanon, Visual Arts, 2004

Paola
Yacoub

Paola Yacoub is a visual artist. She graduated from the Architectural Association in London, where she has worked on automata in photography and architecture. Subsequently, she worked as the French Institute (IFAPO) architect on the archeological excavations in Beirut city center. She began collaborating with Michel Lasserre in 2000 on perception of territories in conflict and post-conflict situations. Today, they work on the effectivity of action in the framework of proactionism.

Their public lectures and essays were brought together in the monograph Beirut is a Magnificent City. Synoptic Pictures (Fundació Antoni Tàpies, 2003). Yacoub and Lasserre have been awarded several grants and residencies, including the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program in 2005. They have exhibited together in, amongst others, Kunst-Werke, Berlin (2000); Fundació Antoni Tàpies, Barcelona, Spain (2002); Le Plateau, Paris (2002); Witte de With, Rotterdam (2003); the Venice Biennal (2003); Centre pour l’Image Contemporaine/Mamco Geneva (2004); Gwangju Biennal (2006), Xiangning Art Museum, Shenzhen, China (2008).

Paola Yacoub’s solo exhibitions include the retrospective, Drawing with the Things Themselves, Beirut art Center (2011); and the exhibition Kiss the Black Stones at the Haus der Kulturen der Welt (HKW) in Berlin (2012). She has participated in numerous group exhibitions, including The Pencil of Culture at Centre Pompidou, Paris (2016); the Taipei Biennale, Taiwan (2016); Home Beirut: Sounding the Neighbors,Maxxi, Rome (2017-2018); En Suspens,Le Bal, Paris (2018); and Sabine Weiss, les villes, la rue, l’autre, Centre Pompidou, Paris (2018).

Paola Yacoub is the founding director of the program ARP (Artistic Research Practices), held between 2013-18 at the Lebanese Academy of Fine Arts (ALBA), and in collaboration with the Sursock Museum in Beirut.

Paola Yacoub was awarded with the fellowship at the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program together with Michel Lasserre.

Upcoming

to top

Libanon, Bildende Kunst, 2004

Paola
Yacoub

Paola Yacoub ist bildende Künstlerin. Sie absolvierte die Architectural Association in London, wo sie zu Automaten in der Fotografie und in der Architektur gearbeitet hat. Anschließend war sie als Architektin für das Institute Français du Proche-Orient (IFAPO) an den archäologischen Ausgrabungen im Stadtzentrum von Beirut beteiligt. Im Jahr 2000 begann sie ihre Zusammenarbeit mit Michel Lasserre, in welcher sie sich mit der Wahrnehmung von Gebieten in Konflikt- und Post-Konfliktsituationen beschäftigten. Derzeit arbeiten sie zur Effektivität des Handelns im Rahmen des Proaktionismus.

Ihre öffentlichen Vorträge und Essays wurden in der Monografie Beirut is a Magnificent City. Synoptic Pictures (Fundació Antoni Tàpies, 2003) zusammengefasst, die im gleichen Jahr bei Edition Solitude unter dem Titel Beirut ist eine wunderbare Stadt auf Deutsch erschien. Yacoub und Lasserre erhielten mehrere Stipendien und Künstlerresidenzen, unter anderem 2005 vom Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD in Berlin. Gemeinsam stellten sie u.a. in den Kunst-Werken, Berlin (2000); Fundació Antoni Tàpies, Barcelona (2002); Le Plateau, Paris (2002); Witte de With, Rotterdam (2003); Biennale Venedig (2003); Centre pour l’Image Contemporaine/Mamco Genf (2004); Gwangju Biennal (2006) und Xiangning Art Museum, Shenzhen, China (2008) aus.

Zu Paola Yacoubs Einzelausstellungen gehören die Retrospektive Drawing with the Things Themselves, Beirut Art Center (2011); und die Ausstellung Kiss the Black Stones im Haus der Kulturen der Welt (HKW) in Berlin (2012). Sie hat an zahlreichen Gruppenausstellungen teilgenommen, darunter The Pencil of Culture im Centre Pompidou, Paris (2016); die Taipei Biennale, Taiwan (2016); Home Beirut: Sounding the Neighbors, MAXXI, Rom (2017-2018); En Suspens, Le Bal, Paris (2018); und Sabine Weiss. Les villes, la rue, l’autre, Centre Pompidou, Paris (2018).

Paola Yacoub war die Gründerin und Leiterin des Programms ARP (Artistic Research Practices), das von 2013-18 an der Libanesischen Kunstakademie (ALBA) in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Sursock Museum in Beirut stattfand.

Die Einladung zu einem Fellowship mit dem Berliner Künstlerprogramm erhielt Paola Yacoub gemeinsam mit Michel Lasserre.

Übersetzung: Anna Jäger

Demnächst

zum Seitenanfang