Poland, Visual Arts, 2022, in Berlin

Małgorzata
Mirga-Tas

Preparations for the exhibition Re-enchanting the World in the studio of Małgorzata Mirga-Tas, Zakopane, 2021. Photo: Daniel Rumiancew; Image courtesy Zachęta — National Gallery of Art.

“Shall I give this skirt to someone, or do you want it for your work?,” MałgorzataMirga-Tas’s mother would often ask. The artist’s collages are created from fragments of various fabrics by, as she says, “throwing the material into the painting.” Many of the pieces sewn onto the canvas are taken directly from the wardrobes of those depicted, bearing traces of life and use to create feminist narratives about “bright people and their characters.”

Mirga-Tas was born in Zakopane in Poland in 1978 and graduated from the Academy of Fine Arts in Kraków. She lives in a Roma settlement in Czarna Góra, in the Tatra Mountains, where she also works as an educator and activist. Her vibrant patchworks, sculptures, and collages often depict scenes from Roma communities. They present affective herstories, sometimes of children or animals, less often of men.

Needlework is one of her basic techniques. The needle, with its magic power—as Louise Bourgeois described it—“is used to repair the damage. It’s a claim to forgiveness.” In her patchworks, Mirga-Tas often symbolically repairs the relationships between marginalized Roma people in the fabric of European society. Her practice is allied with the work of academics and artists who have been demonstrating that the culture of this largest European minority (of twelve million people) can be influential in society, not just at its mercy. She weaves an image of Roma as proto-Europeans, as multilingual, transcultural, and non-violent people, reshaping the conventions and decolonizing the imagination.

Mirga-Tas’s work is also a form of art as recovery, between what is professional high art and its vernacular sources. Echoing Lucy Lippard’s views on crafts and feminism, the artist sees all the arts as products of a creative impulse which is “as socially determined as it is personally necessary.”

Mirga-Tas calls herself a feminist and practices minority feminism, although, as she told me, “Many women around me view this term with suspicion.” According to researcher Ethel C. Brooks, minority feminism does not cut women from their backgrounds, it works from within a specific context, on both the local and structural level. Mirga-Tas’s practice of sisterhood and her rooting in Roma identity are situated ideas first, and theoretical concepts later. Working together with her on the Polish Pavilion at the 59th Venice Biennale made me realize that Mirga-Tas is one of the most integral artists I have ever met. One creates an instant connection to her work, and at the same time, it offers a depth of endless layers. She weaves a new textile grammar, full of intercultural threads, patchwork families, second-hand use, and webs of interdependency. Sometimes it doesn’t fit, and it doesn’t have to. Stitches remain visible.

Text: Joanna Warsza

Upcoming

Past

  • Małgorzata Mirga-Tas: Re-Enchanting the World
    Małgorzata Mirga-Tas

    2022, Catalog

    Catalog published on the occasion of the exhibition in the Polish Pavilion at the 59th International Art Exhibition – La Biennale di Venezia 2022.
    In Polish and English, with essays by Ali Smith, Damian Le Bas and Ethel Brooks, and poems by Teresa Mirga and Jan Mirga. Supported by the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program with funds from the German Federal Foreign Office.

    Małgorzata Mirga-Tas is fellow of the Artists-in-Berlin Program in 2022.

    Download catalog here.

to top

Polen, Bildende Künste, 2022

Małgorzata
Mirga-Tas

Małgorzata Mirga-Tas, Polnischer Pavillon, 59. Biennale Venedig, Installationsansicht (Detail) Foto: Daniel Rumiancew

„Soll ich diesen Rock jemandem schenken, oder kannst du ihn für deine Arbeit gebrauchen?“, fragte Małgorzata Mirga-Tas’ Mutter oft. Die Collagen der Künstlerin entstehen aus Stoffteilen, sie „wirft das Material in das Gemälde“, wie sie es selbst formuliert. Viele der auf die Leinwand genähten Stücke stammen direkt aus den Kleiderschränken der Abgebildeten. Sie zeigen Gebrauchsspuren und schaffen feministische Erzählungen über „hellsichtige Menschen und deren Charakter“.

Mirga-Tas wurde 1978 in Zakopane in Polen geboren und absolvierte die Akademie der Bildenden Künste in Krakau. Sie lebt in einer Roma-Siedlung in Czarna Góra in der Tatra, wo sie auch als Pädagogin und Aktivistin arbeitet. Ihre farbenfrohen Patchworks, Skulpturen und Collagen zeigen oft Szenen aus Roma-Gemeinschaften: gefühlvolle Lebensgeschichten von Frauen, manchmal auch Kinder oder Tiere, seltener Männer.

Handarbeit spielt bei ihr eine große Rolle. Die Nadel mit ihrer magischen Kraft wird – wie Louise Bourgeois sie beschrieb – „benutzt, um Schäden zu reparieren. Sie steht für einen Aufruf zur Vergebung“. In ihren Patchworks bessert Mirga-Tas oft symbolisch das Beziehungsgefüge der marginalisierten Roma im Gewebe der europäischen Gesellschaften aus. Ihre Praxis deckt sich mit den Recherchen von AkademikerInnen und KünstlerInnen, die gezeigt haben, dass die Kultur dieser größten europäischen Minderheit (von zwölf Millionen Menschen) durchaus Einfluss auf die Gesellschaft haben kann und ihr nicht nur ausgeliefert ist. Sie entwirft ein Bild der Roma als Proto-EuropäerInnen, als mehrsprachige, transkulturelle und gewaltfreie Gruppe, die Konventionen neu gestaltet und Vorstellungswelten dekolonisiert.

Das Werk von Mirga-Tas ist auch eine Form von Kunst als Versöhnung zwischen gehobener, professioneller Kunst und ihren volkstümlichen Quellen. In Anlehnung an Lucy Lippards Überlegungen zu Kunsthandwerk und Feminismus betrachtet Mirga-Tas alle Künste als Produkte eines kreativen Impulses, der „ebenso sozial bedingt wie persönlich notwendig“ ist.

Mirga-Tas bezeichnet sich selbst als Feministin, die einen Minderheiten-Feminismus verficht, obwohl, wie sie mir sagte, „viele Frauen in meinem Umfeld diesen Begriff mit Misstrauen betrachten“. Laut der Soziologin Ethel C. Brooks trennt der Minderheiten-Feminismus Frauen nicht von ihrem jeweiligen Hintergrund, sondern arbeitet aus einem spezifischen Kontext heraus, auf lokaler wie struktureller Ebene. Mirga-Tas’ Praxis der Schwesternschaft und ihre Verwurzelung in der Roma-Identität manifestieren sich zuerst als ortsgebundene Ideen, bevor sie zu theoretischen Konzepten werden. Bei unserer gemeinsamen Arbeit am polnischen Pavillon auf der 59. Venedig Biennale wurde mir klar, dass Mirga-Tas eine Künstlerin ist, die ich in einer Weise ganzheitlich orientiert ist, wie es sonst kaum erlebt habe. Man baut unmittelbar eine Verbindung zu ihren Arbeiten auf, die gleichzeitig eine vielschichtige Tiefe bergen. Sie webt eine neue textile Grammatik, voller interkultureller Fäden, Patchwork-Familien, Second-Hand-Gebrauch und Netzen der Interdependenz. Dabei passt nicht immer alles zusammen, und das muss es auch nicht. Die Nähte bleiben sichtbar.

Text: Joanna Warsza
Übersetzung: Anna Jäger

  • Małgorzata Mirga-Tas: Re-Enchanting the World
    Małgorzata Mirga-Tas

    2022, Katalog

    Katalog erschienen anlässlich der Ausstellung im Polnischen Pavillon auf der 59. internationalen Kunstausstellung – La Biennale di Venezia 2022.
    In polnischer und englischer Sprache, mit Essays von Ali Smith, Damian Le Bas und Ethel Brooks sowie Gedichten von Teresa Mirga und Jan Mirga. Gefördert durch das Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD mit Mitteln des Auswärtigen Amtes.

    Małgorzata Mirga-Tas ist 2022 Fellow des Berliner Künstlerprogramms.

    Katalog hier zum Download

zum Seitenanfang