France, Music, 1967

Luc
Ferrari

Luc Ferrari’s (b. 1929 in Paris; d. 2005 in Arezzo, Italy) stay in Berlin in 1967 marked an important turning point in his path as a composer. Just prior to the social upheavals that would become more than apparent in 1968, the composer himself was also going through a period of radical changes.

In 1967, Ferrari was working not only with music but also with the medium of film. Through his connection to Hansjörg Pauli, head of the music department at NDR television, he was commissioned to compose music for a film about the visual artist Jean Tinguely, and was also given the opportunity to make his own film for television, entitled Les jeunes filles. In 1965, Luc Ferrari had begun working on the documentary film series Les Grandes Répétitions with director Gérard Patris, which portrayed five musical personalities: Olivier Messiaen, Edgar Varèse, Karlheinz Stockhausen, Hermann Scherchen, and Cecil Taylor.

Ferrari’s involvement with film gave him the advantage of not having to rely solely on the structures of the music business. Shortly before beginning his fellowship at the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program (BKP), he had split from the Parisian Groupe de Musique Concrète led by Pierre Schaeffer, with which he had been closely affiliated since 1958. Ferrari described the impact of his decision in a letter to Schaeffer, sent from Berlin on July 3, 1967, in which he complains about being increasingly ignored by the music world. And he adds: “My stay in Berlin gives me the opportunity to reassess my position, my human and musical condition.”

Since the “human condition” is inextricably tied to social conditions, Ferrari also continued to work in Berlin on his six-part series Société, started in 1965. He incorporated into this series his filmic milieu study Les jeunes filles, which features works that only exist as conceptual playing instructions. The second piece in this series, however, written in 1967, has a fully composed score and an unusual additional title: Et si le Piano était un Corps de Femme (And if the piano were the body of a woman). Containing music-theatrical elements, the piece is a more or less absurd depiction of gender stereotypes, in which the grand piano symbolizes the woman’s body being harassed and maltreated by male musicians.

In 1967 Ferrari also developed the composition Interrupteur for chamber orchestra, in which he focuses—in contrast to the metaphor expressed in Société II—on purely musical aspects, and specifically on the parameter of duration. Utilizing parallel, linear sound sequences, this duration is experienced as a seemingly static sound surface, regularly interrupted, however, by brief sound impulses.

Ferrari’s most famous composition takes another completely different musical approach. In the tape piece Presque Rien no. 1—Le Lever du Jour au Bord de la Mer, Ferrari radically brings to fruition what led to the break with the orthodox ideology of musique concrète: his interest in acoustic recordings from nature and social realities, left unprocessed so that the source material retains its original meaning and avoids becoming abstract sound. Instead, Ferrari produces just the opposite here: a meticulously designed staging of existing realities—in this case, daybreak in a small fishing village in Croatia. Although the piece was not released on record until 1970 by Deutsche Grammophon—which expressed disappointment with this “music without music”—Ferrari began work on Presque Rien in 1967 while on vacation during his Berlin fellowship.

Text: Thomas Groetz

Translation: Erik Smith

http://www.lucferrari.org

Related Archival Files

Metamusik Festival 2. Berlin

Metamusik Festival 2. Berlin

Ishii, Maki
Kobrin, Edward
Fariñas, Carlos
Weddington, Maurice
Reich, Steve
Chatterjee, Sankar
Feldman, Morton
Ferrari, Luc
Ligeti, György
Cage, John
Xenakis, Iannis
1976 application/pdf
application/xml
image/jpeg
Metamusik-Festival 1 und 2. Berlin 1974 und 1976

Metamusik-Festival 1 und 2. Berlin 1974 und 1976

Xenakis, Iannis
Cage, John
Ferrari, Luc
Chatterjee, Sankar
Feldman, Morton
Fariñas, Carlos
Reich, Steve
Weddington, Maurice
Kobrin, Edward
Curran, Alvin
Krauze, Zygmunt
Wolff, Christian
Bertoncini, Mario
1977 application/pdf
application/xml
image/jpeg
to top

Frankreich, Musik, 1967

Luc
Ferrari

Luc Ferraris (1929–2005) Aufenthalt in Berlin 1967 markierte eine wichtige Zäsur auf seinem kompositorischen Weg. Unmittelbar vor den gesellschaftlichen Erschütterungen, die 1968 mehr als deutlich werden sollten, erfuhr sich auch der Komponist im Auf- beziehungsweise Umbruch.

Ferrari beschäftigte sich 1967 nicht nur mit Musik, sondern auch mit dem Medium Film. Durch den Kontakt zu Hansjörg Pauli, der die Musikabteilung des NDR-Fernsehens leitete, erhielt er den Auftrag, Musik für einen Film über den Künstler Jean Tinguely zu komponieren, sowie die Möglichkeit, einen eigenen Fernsehfilm mit dem Titel Les jeunes filles zu drehen. Seit 1965 arbeitete Luc Ferrari bereits an der Doku-Filmreihe „Les Grandes Répétitions“, in der er gemeinsam mit dem Regisseur Gérard Patris fünf Musikerpersönlichkeiten porträtierte: Olivier Messiaen, Edgar Varèse, Karlheinz Stockhausen, Hermann Scherchen und Cecil Taylor.

Da der „menschliche Zustand“ untrennbar mit den gesellschaftlichen Verhältnissen verknüpft ist, arbeitete Ferrari auch in Berlin an seiner 1965 begonnenen sechsteiligen Werkreihe „Société“ weiter, in die er ebenso seine filmische Milieustudie Les jeunes filles eingliederte und die Arbeiten enthält, die nur aus konzeptuellen Spielanweisungen bestehen. Das zweite, 1967 entstandene Stück dieser Reihe hingegen besitzt eine auskomponierte Partitur, sowie einen ungewöhnlichen Zusatztitel: Et si le Piano était un Corps de Femme – Und wenn das Klavier der Körper einer Frau wäre. Es ist ein Stück mit musiktheatralen Elementen, das auf mehr oder weniger absurde Weise Geschlechter-Stereotypen darstellt, wobei der Flügel symbolisch als Körper der Frau fungiert, der von männlichen Musikern bedrängt und traktiert wird.

Parallel dazu entwickelte Ferrari 1967 die Komposition Interrupteur für Kammerorchester, in der er sich im Gegensatz zu der inSociété II zum Ausdruck kommenden Metaphorik mit rein musikalischen Aspekten beschäftigt – vor allem mit dem Parameter der Dauer, der mittels parallel geführter linearer Klangverläufe als statisch wirkende Klangfläche erfahrbar wird, die allerdings regelmäßig durch kurze Klangimpulse unterbrochen ist.

Einen erneut ganz anders gelagerten musikalischen Ansatz verfolgt die Komposition, die zu Ferraris bekanntester werden sollte. In dem Tonbandstück Presque rien no. 1 „Le lever du jour au bord de la merlebte Ferrari radikal das aus, was zum Bruch mit der orthodoxen Ideologie der Musique Concrète geführt hatte: sein Interesse, akustische Aufnahmen, die der Natur sowie der gesellschaftlichen Realität entstammen, nicht in der Weise zu bearbeiten, dass die Quellen ihre ursprüngliche Signifikanz verlieren und zu abstraktem Klangmaterial werden. Stattdessen produzierte Ferrari geradezu das Gegenteil: eine minutiös gestaltete Inszenierung bestehender Wirklichkeiten – im konkreten Fall den Tagesanbruch in einem kleinen Fischerdorf in Kroatien. Obwohl das Stück erst 1970 auf einer Schallplatte der Deutschen Grammophon veröffentlicht wurde, die sich enttäuscht über diese Musik ohne Musik zeigte, begann die Arbeit an Presque Rien 1967 während eines Ferienaufenthalts in der Zeit von Luc Ferraris Berliner Stipendium.

Text: Thomas Groetz


Verknüpfte Archivmaterialen

Metamusik Festival 2. Berlin

Metamusik Festival 2. Berlin

Ishii, Maki
Kobrin, Edward
Fariñas, Carlos
Weddington, Maurice
Reich, Steve
Chatterjee, Sankar
Feldman, Morton
Ferrari, Luc
Ligeti, György
Cage, John
Xenakis, Iannis
1976 application/pdf
application/xml
image/jpeg
Metamusik-Festival 1 und 2. Berlin 1974 und 1976

Metamusik-Festival 1 und 2. Berlin 1974 und 1976

Xenakis, Iannis
Cage, John
Ferrari, Luc
Chatterjee, Sankar
Feldman, Morton
Fariñas, Carlos
Reich, Steve
Weddington, Maurice
Kobrin, Edward
Curran, Alvin
Krauze, Zygmunt
Wolff, Christian
Bertoncini, Mario
1977 application/pdf
application/xml
image/jpeg
zum Seitenanfang