Date / Hours
21.01. 17 h
Artist / Title
Yair Klartag, Simon Steen-Andersen, Rebecca Saunders
Konzert mit dem Radio-Sinfonieorchester Berlin
Pierre Boulez Saal
Französische Straße 33d 10117 Berlin
Ultraschall Berlin - Festival für neue Musik


17:00 concert
Yair Klartag: Con forza di gravità (2013) 15’
for string orchestra

Rebecca Saunders: Void (2014) 23‘
for two percussionists and orchestra


Simon Steen-Andersen: Piano Concerto (2014) 25´

Christian Dierstein, percussion
Dirk Rothbrust, percussion
Nicolas Hodges, piano
Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin
Director: Enno Poppe

An act of destruction leads to a highly enjoyable ballet by membra disiecta and finally a duo of a soloist with himself: the piano concerto by Simon Steen-Andersen, originally premiered at the Donaueschinger Musiktage 2014, is a virtuosic game of audiovisual illusions and a questioning of musical identity, one that even seems to partially transcend the laws of gravity.

In Yair Klartag’s Con forza di gravità, however, gravity is clearly evident. It enters, the composer says, “into the abstract world of sounds and becomes the main driving force of the piece that overshadows the original compositional intentions.”

Rebecca Saunders’s Void for two drummers and chamber orchestra is a masterpiece of subtlety. “Located beneath the surface of silence is a cacophony of sounds and noise, an endless potential that is audible. The compositional act reveals various processes: the careful drawing out of strings of sounds, generating particles of color out of the depths, coaxing sounds from the stasis of silence.”

Entry fee: 15 / 10 €

Radio broadcast:
Deutschlandfunk Kultur, Konzert, 25.01.2018, 20.03 Uhr
kulturradio vom rbb, Konzert, 03.02.2018, 20.04 Uhr