Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Blog Other Programs
Festival of Experimental Music und Sound Art
Installations and Concerts
mikromusik, the festival of experimental music and sound art organized by the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program, takes place for the fourth time at the end of August at different locations in Kreuzberg/Neukölln. mikromusik plays with the ambiguity of the term “micro.” Showcased are outstanding or new works by current and former guests of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program.

The fourth edition of the festival presents an extensive program of socially critical or musical interventions in public space as well as concerts at the daadgalerie’s new exhibition venue. Featured are improvisational and ritualistic unique listening experiences created with self-invented instruments and electronics. New pieces by current guests Charo Calvo, Arturas Bumšteinas, and Max Eastley will also be performed here. Opening on August 10 is an exhibition at daadgalerie of installations by British sound artist Max Eastley, as well as an installation in public space by Israel Martinez dealing with audio recordings of drug-trafficking ports in Mexico.

The festival opens at Heimathafen Neukölln with a wide-ranging ensemble program by Ensemblekollektiv with works by Turgut Erçetin, Yair Klartag, and Clara Iannotta and concludes—starting with an intervention by the project Sing along, Berlin featuring protest songs by Neo Muyanga—with a mobile concert at the Engelbecken at sundown, where Ensemble Adapter will perform and premiere works for wind instruments by Uruguayan composer Graciela Paraskevaidis, who died this year and by Barblina Meierhans, as well as a commissioned composition by Marcelo Toledo.

Works by: Arturas Bumšteinas (Lithuania, guest 2017), Charo Calvo (Spain, guest 2017), Max Eastley (Great Britain, guest 2017), Turgut Erçetin (Turkey, guest 2016), Yair Klartag (Israel, guest 2017), Clara Iannotta (Italy, guest 2013), Israel Martinez (Mexico, guest 2012), Barblina Meierhans (Switzerland), Neo Muyanga (South Africa, guest 2016), Graciela Paraskevaidis (Uruguay, guest 1981), Marcelo Toledo (Argentina/US, guest 2009), Mario de Vega (Mexico/DE).

Thursday, August 10, 2017
Exhibition opening at the daadgalerie_ gallery, 7pm
Max Eastley: Lines and Traces
August 11–30, 2017, 12–7pm

Tuesday, August 22, 2017
Installation opening, 7pm, location to be announced
Israel Martinez: Movements (2017 UA)
Commissioned by the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin program
August 23–27, 2017, 10am–10pm

Wednesday, August 23, 2017
mikromusik opening concert at Heimathafen, 8pm
Turgut Erçetin: Panopticon Specularities (2016–17 UA)
for ensemble
Yair Klartag: There’s no lack of void (2016, DE)
for flute, bass clarinet, trombone, piano, drums, violin, viola, and cello
Yair Klartag: A Villa in the Jungle (2014)
for piano, flute
lara Iannotta: Clangs (2012)
for cello and 15 musicians

Ensemblekollektiv Berlin
Bas Wiegers (Erçetin, Iannotta)
Christoph Breidler (Erçetin, Klartag)

A project organized by the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program and Ensemblekollektiv in cooperation with Kontraklang
Sponsored by the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program and the Capital Cultural Fund

Thursday, August 24, 2017
Concert, daadgalerie_studio, 8pm
Max Eastley: Improvisationen (2017, UA)
Max Eastley (kinetic instruments), John Butcher (saxophone), Ute Wassermann (voice)

Friday, August 25, 2017
Concert, daadgalerie_studio, 8pm
Arturas Bumšteinas: The Year of a Catdog (2016)
Live version of a radio composition
Ragnhild May (clay flutes), Arturas Bumšteinas (narrator)
Charo Calvo: Trancemission (2017, UA)
8-channel electroacoustic composition with live accordion
Accordion: Camilla Barrat-Due
Mario de Vega: Neues Werk (2017, UA)

Sunday, August 26, 2017
Approx. 5:30pm Intervention and concert (Start: Oranienplatz, concert at the Engelbecken)
Neo Muyanga: Protest Songs (2017, UA)
for choir
In collaboration with Sing along, Berlin
Barblina Meierhans Let’s sit down and enjoy ourselves (2017)
concert installation for listening machines, brass instruments and percussion ad libitum
Graciela Paraskevaidis: Magma VI (1979)
for two trumpets and two trombones
Marcelo Toledo: (Von Ungeträumtem) geätzt (2017 UA)
for wind quintet
Commissioned by the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin program

Ensemble Apparat
Nathan Plante, trumpet
Matthew Conley, trumpet
Samuel Stoll, horn
Wojciech Jaliński, trombone
Elliot Dushman, tuba

Festival of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program.
Supported with funding from the Federal Foreign Office and the Senate of Berlin.
In collaboration with Ensemblekollektiv, Deutschlandradio Kultur, Electronic Studio of the TU Berlin—Audio Communication Group, Kontraklang, and Sing along, Berlin
With project funding from the Capital Cultural Fund

Program subject to change

Entry fees:
Heimatenhafen: 13€/10€
daadgalerie/installations & concerts: free admission

Venue locations:
daadgalerie, Oranienstraße 161
Heimathafen, Karl-Marx-Straße 141, 12043 Berlin


Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK