Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
The headlong stream is termed violent
But the river bed hemming it in
Is termed violent by no one.
B. Brecht

Opening: Friday, Nov 8th 2013, 7 – 9 PM
Carolina Caycedo is taking the resistance against the »El Quimbo« dam construction project in western Columbia as a starting point for her solo exhibition at the daadgalerie. The artist is involved with a group of activists working against the project, which will prove massively invasive and damaging for the Rio Magdalena region. Caycedo was a guest of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program in 2012; during her stay she focused on the history of dam construction in Germany.

Film footage of numerous research trips to dam sites in the Harz Mountains, Saxony, Westphalia and the Black Forest is linked to images of the Rio Magdalena region and its inhabitants via a two-channel video installation titled »Spaniards Named It Magdalena But Natives Call Her Yuma«. Extending beyond these concrete documentary aspects, the film illuminates social power structures and control mechanisms, particularly in connection with the activities of multinational corporations – for example, by placing images of controlled bodies of water alongside footage of urban crowds. The sound track, the narrator’s voice whispering in Spanish and English, tells of the artist’s personal perspective, her own experience with a river she has known since childhood, as her family lived by its edge.

An installation made up of sculptural and photographic elements captures the film’s subject and the materiality of dam architecture:
The satellite photograph »Damned Landscape / Paisaje Respresado«, mounted on two concrete plinths, demonstrates the extent to which the local landscape has already been destroyed, whilst the two concrete reliefs titled »Three Arched Knuckle / Manopla Triple Arco« combine the formal analogy of the Linachtal dam and a knuckleduster once used by the Chilean military, thus condensing these in a symbolic manner. The text which Caycedo has chosen as the exhibition title first caught her attention in its Spanish version on a banner used during a demonstration in Brazil. Only after researching its origin, did she find out that it is the first verse of Brecht’s poem »On Violence«.

Carolina Caycedo is a Los Angeles-based artist, of a Colombian and British background. She has developed publicly engaged projects in Bogotá, Madrid, San Juan, New York, San Francisco, and London amongst other places. Her work has been exhibited worldwide with solo shows at Vienna Secession, Intermediae-Matadero Madrid, Alianza Francesa Bogotá, and Hordaland Kunstsenter Bergen. She participated in the 2012 Paris Triennial, 2009 Havana Biennial, 2009 San Juan Poligraphic Triennial, 2006 Whitney Biennial, 2003 Venice Biennial, and 2001 Istanbul Biennial.


Opening hours: Mon – Sat, 11 AM – 6 PM

daadgalerie, Zimmerstraße 90, 10117 Berlin
www.daadgalerie.de

Print

Hours
Di—So 12—19h
Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Blog andere Programme
Der reißende Strom wird gewalttätig genannt
Aber das Flußbett, das ihn einengt,
Nennt keiner gewalttätig.
B. Brecht

Eröffnung: Freitag, 8.11., 19 – 21 Uhr
Carolina Caycedo nimmt für ihre Einzelausstellung in der daadgalerie den Widerstand gegen das Staudammprojekt »El Quimbo« im Westen Kolumbiens als Ausgangspunkt. Die Künstlerin ist selbst Mitglied einer Gruppe von Aktivisten, die sich gegen den massiven Eingriff in die Landschaft des Rio Magdalena engagiert. Caycedo war 2012 Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms und hat sich während ihres Aufenthalts intensiv mit der Geschichte der Staudämme in Deutschland auseinandergesetzt.

Filmaufnahmen von ihren zahlreichen Recherchereisen zu Staudämmen im Harz, in Sachsen, in Westfalen und im Schwarzwald verknüpft sie in der Zweikanal-Videoinstallation »Spaniards Named It Magdalena But Natives Call Her Yuma« mit Aufnahmen aus der Umgebung des Rio Magdalena und seiner Bewohner. Über diese konkreten dokumentarischen Aspekte hinaus beleuchtet der Film gesellschaftliche Machtstrukturen und Kontrollmechanismen im Zusammenhang mit den Aktivitäten multinationaler Konzerne und stellt den Bildern kontrollierter Wassermassen Aufnahmen von Menschenmengen in verschiedenen urbanen Kontexten gegenüber. Die Tonspur, eine in Spanisch und Englisch flüsternde Erzählerstimme, gibt die persönliche Perspektive der Künstlerin wieder, ihre eigene Erfahrung mit dem Fluss, den sie schon seit ihrer Kindheit kennt und an dem ihre Familie zeitweise lebte.

Eine Installation aus skulpturalen und fotografischen Elementen greift das Sujet des Films und die Materialität der Staudammarchitektur auf: Das auf zwei Betonsockel montierte Satellitenfoto »Dammed Landscape / Paisaje Represado« zeigt, wie weit die Zerstörung der Landschaft in der Region bereits fortgeschritten ist, während die beiden Betonreliefs »Three Arched Knuckle / Manopla Triple Arco« die formale Analogie zwischen der Linachtalsperre und einem historischen Schlagring der chilenischen Armee zu einer symbolischen Verdichtung bringen. Der Text, den Caycedo als Ausstellungstitel wählte, war ihr in seiner spanischen Fassung auf einem Banner während einer Demonstration in Brasilien aufgefallen. Erst nach Recherchen fand sie heraus, dass es sich dabei um die erste Strophe von Brechts Gedicht »Über die Gewalt« handelt.

Carolina Caycedo lebt und arbeitet in Los Angeles, ist aber kolumbianisch-britischer Herkunft. Sie entwickelte Projekte im öffentlichen Raum in Bogotá, Madrid, San Juan, New York, San Francisco und London. Ihre Arbeiten wurden in zahlreichen internationalen Einzelausstellungen gezeigt, u.a. in der Secession in Wien, Intermediae-Matadero Madrid, Alianza Francesa Bogotá und Hordaland Kunstsenter Bergen. Sie nahm teil an der Paris Triennale 2012, Havana Biennale 2009, San Juan Poligraphic Triennale 2009, Whitney Biennale 2006, Venedig Biennale 2003 und Istanbul Biennale 2001.

Öffnungszeiten: Mo – Sa, 11 – 18 Uhr

daadgalerie, Zimmerstraße 90, 10117 Berlin
www.daadgalerie.de

Druckversion
Öffnungszeiten
Di—So 12—19h
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK