Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Artist’s talk and finissage with Judy Radul, mini-lecture “Teletextual” by Alice Honor Gavin (Fellow of the Berlin Institute for Cultural Inquiry)
For her first solo exhibition in Germany, Judy Radul has devised a site-specific installation in the daadgalerie, which addresses the increasingly obsolete medium of TV through a complex interplay of film, video, photography and sculptural elements.

This is Television—the assertive title of the exhibition suggests a clear statement while being deeply ambiguous at the same time. Initially there is no way of knowing to what extent a mirrored window front and a 16mm film projection, which in addition to a rising and setting moon shows a number of ceramic vessels in flickering blue light, might reference the medium. “Before the 1930s and the short-lived spread of television, what people across the earth watched together was the moon. Around the globe, every night, we see, more or less the same moon. In 1969 some 600 million people around the world apparently watched the first manned moon landing on television.” writes Judy Radul in her notes on the exhibition project. This immediately opens up chain of associations—moon, light, mirror, reflection—which, in her film This is Television, she has linked together with slightly altered quotes from Walter Benjamin’s Berlin Childhood around 1900.

A crude aggregate of three television images from the early nineties is presented as a large-format photo work mounted on a billboard-like construction. An image from the first Gulf War of news reporter Bob Simon talking on the phone from Saudi Arabia to his broadcaster CBS in January 1991 is superimposed with a still from the gameshow The $100,000 Pyramid, and an image of David Lynch on the Late Show with David Letterman. In this context, the words Things in the air, which describe a task for the game show participants, becomes a statement as poetic as it is political. Does it refer to the ghostly figures from the old television images, the military jets in the Gulf War, or all the things broadcast “on air”?

A wall-mounted flatscreen shows similarly hybrid images, produced by a live video feed from a television/video sculpture. This sculpture combines a “T.V. program” of artists’ videos, curated by Sven Lütticken, with German broadcast T.V. that can be zapped by remote control. On a meta level the artists reflect on the nature of television as a medium, satirize its formats, use it for their own activist objectives, or reveal its production conditions. The seven-hour video program, which includes films by Alexander Kluge, Hito Steyerl, Harun Farocki, General Idea, Gregg Bordowitz, Wim T. Schippers & Willem de Ridder, Sean Snyder, Eran Schaerf & Eva Meyer, Cordula Kablitz-Post & Christoph Schlingensief and Christian Jankowski, is on permanent view during the exhibition. Due to a custom computer program on the additional flatscreen one sees broadcast T.V. “controlled” by the artists’ video images which are analyzed according to their rate of change.

The exhibition This is Television certainly does not claim to explain television, but presents an individual artistic view, which however naturally feeds on collective experience. The TV world snippets that Radul uses thematize television as an ideological weapon and the tedium this brings, as well as the strong sense of identification and nostalgia that is connected with the disappearance of outdated technology.

“It’s clear that television started small and ended big. It moved across the sky bounced via satellites. In dominant forms it seemed to demonstrate the colonization of our “inner lives” by corporate interests, it developed such a close relationship with war that one cannot help but understand it as a weapon. On the other hand, it sat in the living room and we came home to its electronic presence. It was a window, a plane and a horizon. I’m not really sure what television was. Like many technologies it was a collection of parts, a way of viewing and a habit, as much as a being.”
–J.Radul

With kind support from the Embassy of Canada

Print

Hours
Di—So 12—19h
Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Blog andere Programme
Künstlergespräch und Finissage mit Judy Radul, Mini-Vorlesung Teletextual” von Alice Honor Gavin (Fellow des ICI Kulturlabor)
Für ihre erste Einzelausstellung in Deutschland hat Judy Radul in der daadgalerie eine raum-spezifische Installation konzipiert, die in einem komplexen Zusammenspiel von Film, Video, Fotografie und skulpturalen Elementen das zunehmend als obsolet geltende Medium Fernsehen thematisiert.

This is Television - der affirmative Ausstellungstitel suggeriert eine deutliches Statement und ist doch zugleich höchst ambivalent. Sicher erschließt sich nicht auf den ersten Blick, inwiefern eine verspiegelte Fensterfront, eine 16mm Filmprojektion, die neben einem Mondaufgang und –untergang Keramikgefäße im bläulich flackernden Licht zeigt, Hinweise auf das Medium geben können. „Bevor in den 1930er Jahren das Fernsehen allmählich Verbreitung fand, war es der Mond, den die Menschen überall auf der Welt gemeinsam betrachteten. 1969 sahen dann etwa 600 Millionen Menschen die erste bemannte Mondlandung im Fernsehen,“ schreibt Judy Radul in den Notizen zu ihrem Ausstellungsprojekt und öffnet so eine erste Assoziationskette: Mond, Licht, Spiegel, Reflexion, die sie in ihrem Film This is Television mit verfremdeten Textzitaten aus Walter Benjamins Berliner Kindheit um 1900 verknüpft.

Die krude Gleichzeitigkeit dreier Fernsehbilder der frühen Neunzigerjahre hingegen wird in einer großformatigen, auf eine Billboard-ähnliche Konstruktion montierten Fotoarbeit dargestellt: Ein Bild aus dem ersten Golfkrieg, der im Januar 1991 aus Saudi-Arabien mit seinem Sender CBS telefonierende Nachrichtenkorrespondent Bob Simon, wird überlagert von einem Still aus der Gameshow The $100,000 Pyramid sowie einer Szene, die David Lynch in der Talkshow Late show with David Letterman zeigt. Der Schriftzug „Things in the air“, ein Zitat einer Aufgabe aus der Gameshow, wird in diesem Kontext zu einem gleichermaßen poetischen wie politischen Statement: geht es um die geisterhaften Erscheinungen aus den vergangenen Fernsehbildern, die Militärflugzeuge im Golfkrieg oder um all das was einmal „on air“ gesendet wurde?

Auf einem an der Wand montierten Flatscreen werden ähnlich hybride Bilder gezeigt, generiert aus den live übertragenen Bildsignalen der Fernseh-/Videoskulptur im zweiten Raum: ein von Sven Lütticken kuratiertes „Fernsehprogramm“ aus Künstlervideos wird hier den per Fernbedienung anwählbaren Programmen des deutschen Fernsehens gegenübergestellt. Die Künstler reflektieren auf einer Metaebene über das mediale Wesen des Fernsehens, persiflieren seine Formate, nutzen es für eigene aktivistische Zwecke oder analysieren seine Produktionsbedingungen. Das 7-stündige Videoprogramm, mit Beiträgen von Alexander Kluge, Hito Steyerl, Harun Farocki, General Idea, Gregg Bordowitz, Wim T. Schippers & Willem de Ridder, Sean Snyder, Eran Schaerf & Eva Meyer, Cordula Kablitz Post & Christoph Schlingensief und Christian Jankowski ist permanent in der Ausstellung zu sehen. Mittels eines speziell erstellten Computerprogramms sieht man auf dem Flatscreen, wie das Fernsehprogramm vom Rhythmus der Bildsignale der Künstlervideos „kontrolliert“ wird.

Die Ausstellung This is Television behauptet keinesfalls, das Medium Fernsehen zu erklären, sondern sie präsentiert einen individuellen künstlerischen Blick, der sich aber selbstredend aus einer kollektiven Erfahrung speist. Die von Radul verwendeten Versatzstücke aus der TV-Welt thematisieren dabei gleichermaßen das Fernsehen als ideologische Waffe, den damit verbundenen Überdruss wie auch die starke Identifikation und Nostalgie, die mit verschwindenden Medien verbunden ist. „Es ist klar, dass das Fernsehen klein begonnen hat und groß endete. Via Satellit übertragen, bewegte es sich über den Himmel. Auf eindring-liche Weise schien es die Kolonisierung unseres „Innenlebens“ durch kommerzielle Interessen widerzuspiegeln. Es ging eine so enge Verbindung mit dem Krieg ein, dass man nicht umhin kommt, es als Waffe zu begreifen. Andererseits stand es in unseren Wohnzimmern und wir kamen nach Hause zu seiner elektronischen Präsenz. Es war ein Fenster, eine Ebene, ein Horizont. Ich bin mir nicht sicher, was Fernsehen wirklich war. Wie viele andere Technologien war es eine Ansammlung von Teilen, eine Sichtweise, eine Gewohnheit und ebenso sehr ein Wesen.“ (J.Radul)

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Botschaft von Kanada.

Druckversion
Öffnungszeiten
Di—So 12—19h
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK