Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Vernissage: Friday 20.9., 19.00Uhr
Exhibition: 21.9 – 3. 11. (Vernissage: 20.9., 19.00Uhr)
Concerts, Presentations, Performances, Workshops on the week-ends 20.-22.9, 5-6.10., 18.-20.10., 2.-3.10.
Urban spaces are not but a conglobation of houses, industrial estates, and streets, they are an expression of a heterogeneously cultural, social, economical, and political society, and the stage of (revolutionary) transitions. The sound of European, African or Asian cities is marked by the complex matrix of their social practices. Cities have their characteristic yet hardly prehensible acoustic pattern. Since the beginning of the 20th century they have fascinated artists who initially captured the reality of the city via film or sound recordings, or like the futurists who celebrated the noise of the industrialised city as the symbol for a new society. Today’s sound artists’ interest has differentiated itself outbound from the concretely recorded sound, the focus is always on new aspects of urbanity: on meanings and memories or abstracted structures, or the work is created from the contact with the city and in interactions of the people living there.
During the artistic appropriation artists distance themselves from the urban reality or intensify it. Strategies of transmission, of sonic journalism, of emblematism, the layers of mediatisation form the artistic canon of this contact with reality, which is systematised and emphasised through the terms of urbanisation, combination, mechanisation, and globalisation.
The starting point of URBAN SOUNDS is the trinational space. Artists and institutions from the region enter into a dialogue with their tri- and international colleagues. URBAN SOUNDS presents concerts and talks along the named axis historically, and contemporary and newly initiated works from the trinational and global space in one exhibition.

Guest curator: Julia Gerlach / Director Music, Berlin artist’s programme of DAAD

Print

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Blog andere Programme
Vernissage: Freitag 20.9., 19.00Uhr
Ausstellung: 21.9 – 3. 11. (Eröffnung: 20.9., 19.00 Uhr)
Konzerte, Präsentationen, Performances, Workshops an den Wochenenden 20.-22.9, 5-6.10., 18.-20.10., 2.-3.10.
Urbane Räume sind nicht nur eine Zusammenballung von Häusern, Industrien und Strassen, sie sind Ausdruck einer heterogenen kulturellen, sozialen, wirtschaftlichen und politischen Gesellschaft und Schauplatz von (revolutionären) Wandlungen. Der Klang europäischer, afrikanischer oder asiatischer Städte ist geprägt von der komplexen Matrix ihrer gesellschaftlichen Handlungen. Städte haben ihr charakteristisches, allerdings schwer fassbares Klangbild. Seit Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts faszinieren sie Künstler, die zunächst über Film- oder Audioaufnahmen die Wirklichkeit der Stadt einfingen oder wie die Futuristen, die den Lärm der industrialisierten Stadt als Symbol für eine neue Gesellschaft feierten. Das Interesse der Klangkünstler heute hat sich ausgehend vom konkret aufgenommenen Klang ausdifferenziert, der Fokus richtet sich auf immer neue Aspekte von Urbanität: auf Bedeutungen und Erinnerungen oder abstrahierte Strukturen, oder das Werk entsteht aus dem Umgang mit der Stadt und in Interaktion mit den dort lebenden Menschen.
Bei der künstlerischen Aneignung entfernen sich Künstler von der urbanen Wirklichkeit oder spitzen diese zu. Strategien der Übertragung, des Sonic Journalisms, der Emblematik, des Schichtens oder Medialisierens bilden den künstlerischen Kanon dieses Umgangs mit der Wirklichkeit, der durch die Begriffe Urbanisieren, Kombinieren, Mechanisieren und Globalisieren systematisiert und pointiert wird.
Ausgangspunkt für URBAN SOUNDS ist der trinationale Raum. Künstler und Institutionen der Region treten in Dialog zu ihren tri- und internationalen Kollegen. URBAN SOUNDS präsentiert in einer Ausstellung, Konzerten und Vorträgen entlang der genannten Achsen historische, aktuelle und neu initiierte Arbeiten aus dem trinationalen und globalen Raum.

Gastkuratorin: Julia Gerlach / Leitung Musik Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD

Druckversion
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK