Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Opening: September 6th 2013, 7-9 p.m.
For her first solo exhibition in Germany, Judy Radul has devised a site-specific installation in the daadgalerie, which addresses the increasingly obsolete medium of TV through a complex interplay of film, video, photography and sculptural elements.

A 7-hour “T.V. program” of artists’ videos, curated by the art historian and critic Sven Lütticken and including films by Alexander Kluge, Hito Steyerl, Harun Farocki, General Idea, Gregg Bordowitz, Wim T. Schippers & Willem de Ridder, Sean Snyder, Eran Schaerf & Eva Meyer, Cordula Kablitz-Post & Christoph Schlingensief and Christian Jankowski, is on permanent view during the exhibition.
The exhibition This is Television certainly does not claim to explain television, but presents an individual artistic view, whilst still feeding on collective experience. The TV world snippets that Radul uses thematize television as an ideological weapon and the tedium this brings, as well as the strong sense of identification and nostalgia that is connected with the disappearance of outdated technology.

“It’s clear that television started small and ended big. It moved across the sky, bounced via satellites. In dominant forms it seemed to demonstrate the colonization of our “inner lives” by corporate interests, it developed such a close relationship with war that one cannot help but understand it as a weapon. On the other hand, it sat in the living room and we came home to its electronic presence. It was a window, a plane and a horizon. I’m not really sure what television was. Like many technologies it was a collection of parts, a way of viewing and a habit, as much as a being.”(J.Radul)

Judy Radul was a guest of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program in 2012. She is currently teaching at the School for the Contemporary Arts at Simon Fraser University in Vancouver. In 2011 Sternberg Press published "A Thousand Eyes: Media Technology, Law and Aesthetics", Eds. Marit and Judy Radul.

Print

Hours
Di—So 12—19h
Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
Eröffnung: Freitag, 6.9., 19.00 – 21.00 h
Für ihre erste Einzelausstellung in Deutschland hat Judy Radul in der daadgalerie eine raumspezifische Installation konzipiert, die in einem komplexen Zusammenspiel von Film, Video, Fotografie und skulpturalen Elementen das zunehmend als obsolet geltende Medium Fernsehen thematisiert.

Innerhalb der Ausstellung ist permanent ein 7-stündiges „Fernsehprogramm“ aus Künstlervideos zu sehen, das der Kunsthistoriker und Autor Sven Lütticken kuratiert hat, mit Beiträgen von Alexander Kluge, Hito Steyerl, Harun Farocki, General Idea, Gregg Bordowitz, Wim T. Schippers & Willem de Ridder, Sean Snyder, Eran Schaerf & Eva Meyer, Cordula Kablitz Post & Christoph Schlingensief sowie Christian Jankowski.

This is Television behauptet keinesfalls, das Medium Fernsehen zu erklären, sondern die Ausstellung präsentiert einen individuellen künstlerischen Blick, der sich selbstredend aus einer kollektiven Erfahrung speist. Die von Radul verwendeten Versatzstücke aus der TV-Welt thematisieren dabei gleichermaßen das Fernsehen als ideologische Waffe, den damit verbundenen Überdruss wie auch die starke Identifikation und Nostalgie, die mit verschwindenden Medien verbunden ist.

»Es ist klar, dass das Fernsehen groß begonnen hat und klein endete. Via Satellit übertragen, bewegte es sich über den Himmel. Auf eindringliche Weise schien es die Kolonisierung unseres ›Innenlebens‹ durch kommerzielle Interessen widerzuspiegeln. Es ging eine so enge Verbindung mit dem Krieg ein, dass man nicht umhin kommt, es als Waffe zu begreifen. Andererseits stand es in unseren Wohnzimmern, und wir kamen nach Hause zu seiner elektronischen Präsenz. Es war ein Fenster, eine Ebene, ein Horizont. Ich bin mir nicht sicher, was Fernsehen wirklich war. Wie viele andere Technologien war es eine Ansammlung von Teilen, eine Sichtweise, eine Gewohnheit und ebenso sehr ein Wesen.« (J.Radul)

Judy Radul war 2012 Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD. Sie lehrt als Professorin an der School for the Contemporary Arts der Simon Fraser University in Vancouver. 2011 erschien bei Sternberg Press die Publikation »A Thousand Eyes: Media Technology, Law and Aesthetics«, Eds. Marit Paasche and Judy Radul.

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Botschaft von Kanada.

Öffungszeiten: Mo – Sa, 11.00 – 18.00 Uhr

daadgalerie, Zimmerstrasse 90, 10117 Berlin
www.daadgalerie.de

Druckversion
Öffnungszeiten
Di—So 12—19h
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK