Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Opening, Tuesday, April 23rd, 6-8pm
Auguststr. 10
In cooperation with the façade gallery of Kule e.V., the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program has initiated a series of public art projects on the housing front of Auguststr. 10 in Berlin-Mitte. Subsequent to Martha Rosler and Josh Neufeld's project in 2011, the Indian artist N S Harsha is showing a new, sculptural installation, conceived especially for this location.

N S Harsha is known around the globe for his paintings, drawings and installations, as well as for numerous site-specific and local projects. Through a vocabulary of poetic-conceptual forms, Harsha marries political and social references to popular and traditional art forms. His detailed images depict microcosms of life, linking traditional and local elements, such as the portrayal of rituals, with images and topical issues faced by humanity today. These links offer a subtle and often humorous commentary on present times.

The “Tamasha” installation or group of sculptures depicts a pack of monkeys that are in the process of scaling and/or storming and occupying the building at Auguststrasse 10. “Tamasha” in Hindi, Urdu or Marathi is a common term that refers colloquially to a large show, performance or celebration, as well as to commotion, tumult, or bustle. The monkey sculptures, which are rendered with drawing-like definition, call to mind Gray langurs, also called Hanuman langurs after the popular Hindu god in the form of a monkey. These monkeys are considered to be sacred animals, but are also notorious as great plunderers who live in groups and conduct fierce struggles for power. In N S Harsha’s installation the long tails of the monkeys stretch over the façade of the building like a net and are intertwined with each other and tangled up at the ends.

Allusions to the veneration of the sacred monkeys and to the plague of monkeys in real everyday life in India are thus combined with the old German myth of the rat king. This rare phenomenon denotes groups of house rats whose tails become knotted together (e.g. as a result of hibernating in structures that are too cramped), which, according to legend, supposedly also caused the tails of live rats to actually grow together. Discoveries of rat kings were interpreted as an omen for impending plagues and illnesses. Furthermore, the spine-chilling forms have inspired numerous artistic treatments. The image of society that is implied by Harsha is based on social groups that publicly manifest themselves through play and group dynamics as a collective force resulting from spatial and geographic dependencies, entanglements, power struggles and tumult.

N S Harsha, born in 1969 in Mysore, India, lives and works there. Harsha has participated in exhibitions at various international institutions, recently including: Restless, Adelaide International, Australia, Phantoms of Asia, Asian Art Museum, San Francisco, Indian Highway, Ullens Center for Contemporary Art Beijing (2012, Serpentine Gallery London, 2008), 4th Yokohama Triennial, Japan; Paris-Delhi-Bombay, Centre Georges Pompidou, Paris, Time Unfolded, Kiran Nadar Museum of Art, New Delhi (2011), Liverpool Biennial; Sao Paolo Biennial (2010).

In 2012/13 N S Harsha is a guest of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program.

Auguststr. 10, 10117 Berlin

Print

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
Eröffnung, Dienstag 23.4., 18-20h
Auguststr. 10
In Zusammenarbeit mit der Fassadengalerie des KuLe e.V. initiiert das Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD eine Reihe von öffentlichen Künstlerprojekten an der Hausfassade der Auguststr. 10 in Berlin-Mitte. Nach Martha Roslers Auftakt (2011) zeigt der indische Künstler N S Harsha dort eine neue, speziell für diesen Ort entworfene skulpturale Installation.

N S Harsha ist weltweit bekannt für seine Malerei, Zeichnungen und Installationen sowie für zahlreiche ortsspezifische und kommunale Projekte. Mittels einer poetisch-konzeptuellen Formensprache verknüpft Harsha politische und soziale Anspielungen mit populären und traditionellen Kunstformen. Seine detailreichen Bilder bilden Mikrokosmen des Lebens ab, wobei er traditionelle und lokale Elemente wie z.B. Darstellungen von Ritualen mit Bildern und Themen der Menschheit und Mitmenschlichkeit in dieser Welt verbindet und auf diese Weise subtile und oft humorvolle Kommentare zu unserer Gegenwart abgibt.

Die Installation oder Skulpturengruppe „Tamasha“ stellt eine Gruppe von Affen dar, die im Begriff sind, das Gebäude der Auguststr. 10 zu erklimmen bzw. zu erstürmen und einzunehmen. „Tamasha“ ist ein in Hindi, Urdu oder Marathi gebräuchlicher Begriff, der umgangssprachlich eine große Show, Performance oder Feier, aber auch ein Aufhebens, einen Tumult, ein Wirrwarr bezeichnet. Die mit zeichnungshafter Schärfe wiedergegebenen Affenskulpturen erinnern an die nach dem populären Hindu-Gott in Affengestalt benannten Hanuman Languren. Diese gelten in Indien als heilige Tiere, sind jedoch auch als große Plünderer, die in Gruppen leben und heftige Machtkämpfe führen, berüchtigt. In N S Harshas Installation sind die langen Schwänze der Affen, die sich wie ein Netz über die Hausfassade spannen, an den Enden zu einem Knäuel miteinander verschlungen.

So verbinden sich Anspielungen auf die Verehrung der heiligen Affen und auf die Affenplagen im realen indischen Alltag mit dem alten deutschen Mythos des Rattenkönigs. Dieses seltene Phänomen bezeichnet Gruppen von an den Schwänzen miteinander verknoteten Hausratten (z.B. durch Überwintern in zu engen Bauten), was der Legende nach zu Verwachsungen der Schwänze von lebenden Ratten geführt haben soll. Funde von Rattenkönigen wurden einerseits als Omen für bevorstehende Seuchen und Krankheiten gedeutet, andererseits inspirierten die gruseligen Gebilde zahlreiche künstlerische Verarbeitungen. Das von Harsha angedeutete Gesellschaftsbild baut auf sozialen Gruppen auf, die als kollektive Kraft durch räumliche und geographische Abhängigkeiten, Verstrickungen, Machtkämpfe und Tumult, durch Spiel und Gruppendynamik öffentlich in Erscheinung treten.

N S Harsha, geb. 1969 in Mysore, Indien, lebt und arbeitet ebendort. Harsha hat an Ausstellungen in zahlreichen internationalen Institutionen teilgenommen, darunter in jüngster Zeit: Restless, Adelaide International, Australia; Phantoms of Asia, Asian Art Museum, San Francisco; Indian Highway, Ullens Center for Contemporary Art Beijing (2012, Serpentine Gallery London, 2008); 4th Yokohama Triennale, Japan; Paris-Delhi-Bombay, Centre Georges Pompidou, Paris; Time Unfolded, Kiran Nadar Museum of Art, New Delhi (2011); Liverpool Biennale; Sao Paolo Biennale (2010).

2012/13 ist N S Harsha Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD.

Auguststraße 10, 10117 Berlin

Druckversion
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK