Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Blog Other Programs
Artist’s talk with Armando Andrade Tudela, the artist Thomas Locher and the curator Max Hernandez-Calvo on Friday, November 30th, 7.30pm at the
The exhibition “UNSCH/URP” focuses on the publication of the same name and the film “UNSCH / Pikimachay” (2012). The film shows various architectural spaces at the Universidad Nacional San Cristóbal de Huamanga (UNSCH) in Ayacucho, Peru, which served as a forum for the subversive group “Shining Path” when it was being established in the 1960s and 70s. This search for traces is contrasted with images of the archaeological site of Pikimachay in the Central Andes – one of the earliest human settlements in the region and emblematic for early communities. The publication “UNSCH/URP“ forms the discursive background for the film. It contains interviews with witnesses to the time when the “Shining Path” was forming at the UNSCH and also with members of the architects collective “Las Bestias”, who were responsible for an educational experiment at the Universidad Ricardo Palma (URP) in Lima at the time when terrorism was exploding in Peru in the mid-1980s. The film and publication were produced by the Museo de Arte de Lima-MALI and presented there the past summer. In the Berlin version of the exhibition, the film presentation is also accompanied by an installation.

Armando Andrade Tudela’s films are often examinations of particular spaces or locations and their social functions. These are then encircled, scanned and surveyed with the camera. For Andrade Tudela, filming a space always also means a step towards abstraction, an attempt at de-reification, in which the mirroring between the subject of the film and the arrangement that is realised through the camera is just as important as the subject itself. In the silent film “UNSCH / Pikimachay“, Andrade Tudela thus also forgoes direct references to the violent history of the terrorist, Maoist group the “Shining Path” as well as any direct, political or historical commentary. Instead, here as well, the concrete historical locations are central to the examination: these architectural spaces that served as crucial places for assembling and as stages for ideological and symbolic representation in the early development of the group in the 1960s and 70s, and, on the other hand, views of the nearby Pikimachay cave. ‘In my opinion, the explosive era of the “Shining Path” in Peru created a fundamental feeling of discontinuity, not only in political terms, but instead particularly also on all levels of society. I, therefore, decided to incorporate an element of continuity into the film with Pikimachay, the cave in the Ayacucho Valley. Pikimachay is actually the earliest settlement, one of the oldest places of habitation in Peru, which was presumably already inhabited at round 12,000 BC.’ (Armando Andrade Tudela). Through contrasting settings on the university grounds with settings from the cave of Pikimachay, interrupted by white fades, the film makes reference to a course of history of continuity and discontinuity, and possibly also to the fractures and the processes of renewal in the constructing of political, social and cultural identity.

On 30.11. at 7:30 pm, an artists’ talk with Armando Andrade Tudela, the artist Thomas Locher and the curator Max Hernandez-Calvo takes place within the framework of the exhibition “UNSCH/URP“.

Armando Andrade Tudela, born in Lima, Peru in 1975, studied at the Pontificia Universidad Católica in Lima and at the Royal College of Arts in London. In Lima, he was involved in the artists’ space and collective “Espacio la Culpable”. In 2004/05, he was a fellow at the Jan Van Eyck Akademie in Maastricht. Andrade Tudela has had solo-exhibitions at the MACBA in Barcelona and in the FRAC Bourgogne (2010), in the IKON Gallery in Birmingham (2009), in the Kunsthalle Basel and in the Frankfurter Kunstverein (2008). He has participated in numerous biennials such as, for example, the Lyon Biennale 2007, and international group exhibitions, e.g. in the Walker Art Center in Minneapolis (2007) and in the MACBA in Barcelona (2009) or in the Gallery of Modern Art, Brisbane (2010–11). Armando Andrade Tudela lives and works in the French city of Saint-Étienne and in Berlin. In 2008/09, he was a guest of the Berlin Artists’ Programme DAAD.


Di—So 12—19h
Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Blog andere Programme
Am 30.11. um 19.30 h findet im Rahmen der Ausstellung „UNSCH/URP“ ein Künstlergespräch mit Armando Andrade Tudela, dem Künstler Thomas
Locher und dem Kurator Max Hernandez-Calvo statt.
Im Zentrum der Ausstellung „UNSCH/URP“ stehen die gleichnamige Publikation und der Film „UNSCH/ Pikimachay“ (2012). Der Film zeigt verschiedene architektonische Räume innerhalb der Universidad Nacional San Cristóbal de Huamanga (UNSCH) in Ayacucho, Peru, die der subversiven Gruppe „Leuchtender Pfad“ in ihrer Formierungsphase in den 1960er und 70er Jahren als Forum dienten. Dieser Spurensuche werden Aufnahmen der archäologischen Stätte Pikimachay in den Zentral-Anden – eine der frühesten menschlichen Siedlungen der Region und Sinnbild für frühes Gemeinwesen – gegenübergestellt. Die Publikation „UNSCH/URP“ bildet den Recherchehintergrund zum Film. Darin finden sich Interviews mit Zeugen aus der Gründungszeit des „Leuchtendes Pfades“ an der UNSCH sowie mit Mitgliedern des Architektenkollektivs „Las Bestias“, die für ein Bildungsexperiment an der Universidad Ricardo Palma (URP) in Lima zur Zeit der Explosion des Terrorismus in Peru Mitte der 1980er Jahre verantwortlich zeichnen. Film und Publikation wurden vom Museo de Arte de Lima-MALI produziert und dort im vergangenen Sommer vorgestellt. In der Berliner Version der Ausstellung wird die Präsentation des Films durch eine Rauminstallation ergänzt.

Armando Andrade Tudelas Filme sind häufig Annäherungen an bestimmten Räume oder Orte und deren soziale Funktion. Diese werden regelrecht mit der Kamera eingekreist, abgetastet und vermessen. Dabei gilt Andrade Tudela die Aufzeichnung eines Raums immer auch als ein Schritt in Richtung Abstraktion, als ein Versuch der Entgegenständlichung, bei dem die Spiegelung zwischen dem Gegenstand des Films und der Ordnung, die durch die Kamera implementiert wird, genauso wichtig ist wie der Gegenstand selbst. So verzichtet Andrade Tudela auch in dem Film ohne Ton „UNSCH/Pikimachay“ auf direkte Verweise auf die gewalttätige Geschichte der terroristischen, maoistischen Gruppierung „Leuchtender Pfad“ oder einen direkten politischen oder historischen Kommentar. Vielmehr stehen auch hier die konkreten historischen Orte im Zentrum der Untersuchung: Jene architektonischen Räume, die als entscheidende Versammlungsorte und Bühnen der ideologischen und symbolischen Repräsentation in der frühen Entwicklung der Gruppierung in den 1960er und 1970er Jahren dienten und auf der anderen Seite Ansichten von der nahegelegenen Höhle Pikimachay. „Meiner Ansicht nach hat die explosive Zeit des „Leuchtenden Pfades“ in Peru ein fundamentales Gefühl der Diskontinuität geschaffen, nicht nur in politischer Hinsicht, sondern insbesondere auch auf allen Ebenen des Sozialen. Daher habe ich mich entschiedenen, mit Pikimachay, der Höhle in dem Ayacucho Tal, ein Element der Kontinuität in den Film einzubauen. Pikimachay ist tatsächlich die früheste Siedlung, eine der ältesten Wohnstätten Perus, die vermutlich bereits um ca. 12.000 v. Chr. bewohnt war.“ (Armando Andrade Tudela). Mit der Gegenüberstellung von Einstellungen des Universitätsgeländes mit Einstellungen von der Höhle Pikimachay, unterbrochen durch Weißblenden, deutet der Film auf einen Geschichtsverlauf von Kontinuität und Diskontinuität, und möglicherweise auch auf die Brüche und die Erneuerungsprozesse bei der Konstruktion einer politischen, sozialen und kulturellen Identität.

Am 30.11. um 19.30 h findet im Rahmen der Ausstellung „UNSCH/URP“ ein Künstlergespräch mit Armando Andrade Tudela, dem Künstler Thomas Locher und dem Kurator Max Hernandez-Calvo statt.

Armando Andrade Tudela, geb. 1975 in Lima, Peru, hat an der Pontificia Universidad Católica in Lima und am Royal College of Arts in London studiert. In Lima war er an dem Künstlerraum und kollektiv "Espacio la Culpable" beteiligt. 2004/05 war er Stipendiat der Jan Van Eyck Akademie in Maastricht. Andrade Tudela hatte Einzelausstellungen am MACBA in Barcelona und im FRAC Bourgogne (2010), in der IKON Gallery in Birmingham (2009), in der Kunsthalle Basel und im Frankfurter Kunstverein (2008). Er hat an mehreren Biennalen, wie z.B. der Lyon Biennale 2007, und internationalen Gruppenausstellungen, z.B. im Walker Art Center in Minneapolis (2007) und im MACBA in Barcelona (2009) oder in der Gallery of Modern Art, Brisbane (2010-11) teilgenommen. Armando Andrade Tudela lebt und arbeitet im französischen Saint-Étienne und in Berlin. 2008/09 war er Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramm/ DAAD.

Druckversion
Öffnungszeiten
Di—So 12—19h
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK