Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
with Mondriaan Kwartett (Amsterdam)
Mayke Nas: Dangerous Game

Wednesday, September 21, 2011, 8 p.m.
Embassy of the Netherlands
Klosterstraße 50, 10179 Berlin
Registration required at: bln-pcz@minbuza.nl


Mondriaan Quartet
Jan Erik van Regteren Altena, Violin; Edwin Blankenstijn, Violin; Annette Bergman, Viola; Eduard van Regteren Altena, Cello
And Michiel Commandeur, Violin; Katrien Bos, Double Bass



Mayke Nas
Dido (2003) for double bass, voice, and slide projector
Z.O.Z (bitte wenden) (2002) for three violins, viola, cello, and double bass
withorwithout (2005-2009) for string quartet


In Dido, for the double bass, voice, and slide projector, two life stories run simultaneously. One is spoken, the other is projected. The audience learns only through the course of the performance how both of the stories are combined with each other.

The dramatic work, Z.O.Z (b.w.), for a string sextet, shows how wonderfully delightful the cooperation between musicians in a small ensemble can be. Five of the players will undergo a hard test of skill during the performance of their colleague.

“How can one make something else new out of such a finely polished Universe as displayed by the works of Anton Webern?” asked the Dutch composer and critic Willem Pijper in 1930. His conclusion was that it is not easy. Nevertheless, in withorwithout Mayke Nas dared to take one of Werber’s Six Bagatelles that lasts barely 30 seconds, contemplate it from all sides like an uncut diamond, and compose a new string quartet piece of 10 minutes.

Mayke Nas
Born in 1972 in Voorschoten (Netherlands), Nas is a 2011-2012 Guest of the Berlin Artists-in-Residence Programme of the DAAD. Mayke Nas, who has written commissions for the Nieuw Ensamble, Asko/Schönberg Ensemble, the Concertgebouw Orchestra, and the Neuen Vocalsolisten Stuttgart, among others, formulates her artistic credo in 10 short “reasons to compose”:
1. Stretching time
2. Looking for trouble
3. Number-fetishism
4. Craziness
5. Promises
6. Neurosis
7. Sex, drinks & well-baked goose-liver
8. Not being good for anything else
9. To have an “außergewöhnlich lustige – exceptionally amusing“ idea (free after Stockhausen)
10. Not to sleep

In her compositions, Nas often departs from purely instrumental frameworks to incorporate video, text, and choreographic elements, such as in I Delayed People’s Flights By Walking Slowly In Narrow Hallways (2005) for Schlagwerk the Hague. The composition, based on Peter Hardke’s spoken-word piece Selbstbezichtigung (Self-Accusation), is for four players using four chairs and four blackboards amplified by life electronics.
Information: www.maykenas.nl


Mondriaan Quartet
Founded in 1982, the Mondariaan Quartet has dedicated itself to the passion of current music. More than 100 new works have been specially written for the quartet by composers like Iannis Xenakis, John Cage, Guus Janssen, Henri Brant, Diderik Wagenaar, Luca Francesconi, Takayuki Rai, Neely Bruce, and Paul Termos.
The Mondriaan Quartet is always a warmly welcomed guest at important festivals like the Holland Festival, Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival, the Ars Musica Belgium, and prominent concert series world wide.

In 2004, the Quartet produced the successful music theater piece Eraritjaritjaka / Museé des phrases – Museum der Sätze (Eraritjaritjaka / Museum of Sentences) along with Heiner Goebbels, which as of yet has played more than 120 performances world wide.
With the dance group ‘Rosas’ by Anne Teresa de Keersemaecker, the Quartet shot the film “Hoppla” (Arcanal CVC EDV98), a co-production with Channel Four, RTBF, NDR Hamburg, NOS Hilversum, and Théâtre de la Ville Paris, among others.

The Diskography of the Mondriaan Quartet is comprised of 22 CDs, including “Cartoon/S&M” (Tzadik 7330) by John Zorn and “The Girls Collection” composed by Chiel Meijering.
Information: www.mondriaan4tet.nl


Michiel Commandeur
Born in Amsterdam in 1970, Commandeur took his first violin classes when he was six years old. From 1988 to 1995 he studied at Sweelinck Conservatorium; a member of the Gustav Mahler Jungendorchester (Gustav Mahler Youth Orchestra); and in 1997, a was founding member of the Mahler Chamber Orchestra (MCO). In addition to activities in the MCO, Michiel Commandeur regularly plays as a guest in the leading Dutch Orchestra as well as the Asko/Schönberg Ensemble and the Nieuw Ensamble.
As the son of an actor an a violinist, Michiel Commandeur also feels attracted to the theater, which has drawn his involvement in several music theatre productions in Holland.

Katrien Bos
After many happy years with her violin, a 16-year-old Katrien Bos (born in 1978) found her great love: the double bass. At the Rotterdam Conservatorium she studied classical music, in addition to fulfilling her interest for Argentinean tango. She has played for years in bands like Wè-Nun Henk (folk), Quinteto Astor (tango), Rueda LIbre (self-composing the music in a mixture of tango and jazz), Balacordes (balfolk) and many others. She also enjoys composing her own music, which is inspired by the European folk repertoire, Argentinean tango, and experimenting with modern sounds.

Print

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Blog andere Programme
mit Mondriaan Kwartett (Amsterdam)
Mayke Nas: Gefährliches Spiel

!!! Teilnahme nur auf Einladung !!!

Mondriaan Kwartet
Jan Erik van Regteren Altena, Violine; Edwin Blankenstijn, Violine; Annette Bergman, Viola; Eduard van Regteren Altena, Violoncello
Und Michiel Commandeur, Violine; Katrien Bos, Kontrabass


Mayke Nas
Dido (2003) für Kontrabass, Stimme und Diaprojektor
Z.O.Z. (bitte wenden) (2002) für 3 Violinen, Viola, Violoncello und Kontrabass
withorwithout (2005-2009) für Streichquartett


In Dido für Kontrabass, Stimme und Dia-Projektor laufen zwei Lebensgeschichten durcheinander. Eine wird gesprochen, die andere wird projiziert. Wie sich die beiden Geschichten zu einander verhalten, erfährt man erst im Laufe der Aufführung.

Wie wunderbar delikat das Zusammenspiel zwischen Musikern in einem kleinen Ensemble sein kann, zeigt sich in dem theatralischen Werk Z.O.Z. (b.w.) für Streichsextett. Fünf Spieler werden während der Aufführung von einem ihrer Kollegen auf eine harte Probe gestellt.

“Wie kann man noch etwas neues machen aus so einem fein geschliffenen Universum wie es die Werke von Anton Webern darstellen?” hat sich der Niederländische Komponist und Kritiker Willem Pijper 1930 gefragt. Das geht einfach nicht, war seine Schlussfolgerung. In withorwithout wagt es Mayke Nas trotzdem, indem sie eine von Weberns Bagatellen, die keine 30 Sekunden dauert, wie einen Rohdiamanten von allen Seiten betrachtet und ein neues Streichquartett von 10 Minuten daraus komponiert.

Mayke Nas
Geboren 1972 in Voorschoten, ist 2011-12 Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD. Ihr künstlerisches Credo formuliert Mayke Nas, die Auftragswerke u.a. für das Nieuw Ensemble, Asko/Schönberg Ensemble, Concertgebouworchester und die Neuen Vocalsolisten Stuttgart geschrieben hat, in zehn knappen „Gründen für das Komponieren“:
1. Zeit strecken
2. Probleme suchen
3. Zahlenfetischismus
4. Irrsinn
5. Versprechungen
6. Zwangsneurose
7. Sex, geistige Getränke und geschmorte Gänseleber
8. zu nichts anderem taugen
9. eine „außergewöhnlich lustige Idee“ haben (frei nach Stockhausen)
10. Schlaflosigkeit.

In ihren Kompositionen verlässt sie häufig den instrumentalen Rahmen und arbeitet auch mit Video, Text und choreographischen Elementen, etwa in I Delayed People's Flights By Walking Slowly In Narrow Hallways (2005) für Slagwerk Den Haag. Der Komposition liegt Peter Handkes Sprechstück Selbstbezichtigung zugrunde, sie wird von vier Spielern auf vier Stühlen und vier live-elektronisch verstärkten Schultafeln aufgeführt.
Informationen: www.maykenas.nl


Mondriaan Kwartet
1982 gegründet, hat sich das Mondriaan Kwartet leidenschaftlich der aktuellen Musik gewidmet. Mehr als hundert neue Werke wurden speziell für das Quartett geschrieben von Komponisten wie Iannis Xenakis, John Cage, Guus Janssen, Henri Brant, Diderik Wagenaar, Luca Francesconi, Takayuki Rai, Neely Bruce und Paul Termos.
Das Mondriaan Kwartet ist gern gesehener Gast bei wichtigen Festivals wie dem Holland Festival, Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival, der Ars Musica Belgien und prominenten Konzertreihen weltweit.

Mit Heiner Goebbels hat das Quartett 2004 das erfolgreiche Musiktheater Eraritjaritjaka / Museé des phrases – Museum der Sätze – produziert, das bisher über 120 Aufführungen weltweit erfuhr.
Mit der Tanzgruppe ‘Rosas’ von Anne Teresa de Keersemaecker hat das Quartett den Film “Hoppla” (Arcanal CVC EDV98) gedreht, eine Koproduktion von Channel Four, RTBF, NDR Hamburg, NOS Hilversum, Théâtre de la Ville Paris u.a.

22 CDs umfasst die Diskographie des Mondriaan Kwartet, darunter “Cartoon/S&M” (Tzadik 7330) bei John Zorn und “The Girls Collection” (Basta 30-9132-2) bei Chiel Meijering erschienen.
Informationen: www.mondriaan4tet.nl


Michiel Commandeur
1970 in Amsterdam geboren, erhielt seinen ersten Geigenunterricht mit sechs Jahren. 1988 bis 1995 Studium am Sweelinck Conservatorium; Mitglied des Gustav Mahler Jugendorchesters, 1997 Gründungsmitglied des Mahler Chamber Orchestra (MCO). Neben seiner Tätigkeit im MCO spielt Michiel Commandeur regelmäßig als Gast in den führenden niederländischen Orchestern sowie dem Asko/Schönberg Ensemble und dem Nieuw Ensemble.
Als Sohn eines Schauspielers und einer Violinistin fühlt sich Michiel Commandeur auch zum Theater hingezogen, was seine Beteiligung an mehreren Musiktheater-Produktionen in Holland nach sich zog.

Katrien Bos
Nach vielen glücklichen Jahren mit ihrer Violine, fand Katrien Bos (geb. 1978) im Alter von 16 Jahren ihre große Liebe: den Kontrabass. Am Rotterdamer Konservatorium studierte sie klassische Musik; daneben galt ihr Interesse dem argentinischen Tango. Sie spielte jahrelang in Bands wie Wè-Nun Henk (Folk), Quinteto Astor (Tango), Rueda Libre (Eigenkompositionen in einer Mischung aus Tango und Jazz), Balacordes (Balfolk) und vielen anderen. Sie komponiert gerne auch eigene Musik, die von europäischem Folkrepertoire, argentinischem Tango und modernen Klangexperimenten inspiriert ist.

Druckversion
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK