Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Exhibition
Annika Eriksson is a pioneer of the early 1990s artistic tendency of putting real situations and social interaction into the center of project-oriented and performative art. Eriksson is known for initiating everyday situations, collective actions, and presentations that are manifest in video or film installations and as photographs in the exhibition space. The participants, or rather those who are portrayed, act within an artificial and playful frame provided by the artist, in which the ‘free speech’ of each action takes possession of the exhibition space in a largely autonomous manner. With minimal technical efforts, long takes, and a fixed camera, the filmic works mark out a transparent line of separation between documentation and staging, between reality and fiction, simultaneously playing with the idea of the group portrait, from August Sander to today’s obligatory I.D. photos of company employees.

For a long time now, Eriksson has concerned herself with the notion of work and ‘working-worlds.’ Be it staff interviews with the workforce of various international museums, an insurance firm in Munich, or a research and development department of VW in Wolfsburg, she lets each worker have their own say and reveals thereby relationships between the individual and the corporation, the social interaction of the workers – often with the view into each company’s architecture as well. At the same time, Eriksson’s sociological evidence itself (without any direction from the artist) points out certain social upheavals and increasingly depleted social contexts.

Many of Eriksson’s works which concern the public and urban space mirror social processes and radical changes likewise. Here differences in types of social interaction, in ideas of the collective, and in the varying conditions of consciousness of people become evident. Since the year 2000, Eriksson has employed video to document various activities and situations taking place in the public space (‘People in Public Spaces’) thus, presenting social reality in the manner of a readymade. Recently, Eriksson focused more on methods of staging and storytelling, for example, in the three-part film series and site-specific installation about Regent’s Park in London called ‘For the Wealthy and the Good’ (2008).

At the daadgalerie Eriksson will be showing the new work, “Wir sind wieder da” (We are back again), which has an indirect relationship to the city in which it was produced: Berlin. In the middle of an empty plot of land, Eriksson staged a ghostly tableau vivant, which will be displayed in the daadgalerie as a film installation. The film consists of three slightly varying long takes of a nightly scene, a group portrait of punks and dogs. The minimal action of the film and the punks’ interaction with each other demonstrate a particular social belonging to a timeless micro- or subculture. On the other hand, the overall picture marks out a blank space or vacuum in a time of upheavals, a condition which contains fragments of the past as well as traces or hints of a not yet arrived future. The transition period is emphasized by cross-cuts of a subway ride through shutdown subway stations in East Berlin during the time of the GDR.

Annika Eriksson was born in Malmö in Sweden in 1956. In 2002/03, she was a guest of the Berliner Künstlerprogramm/ DAAD. In addition to the solo exhibition “Wir sind wieder da” in the daadgalerie, new works of Annika Eriksson can be seen in the exhibitions “Squatting/Erinnen, Vergessen, Besetzen” at Temporary Kunsthalle, Berlin, and in the exhibition “Hey We’re Closed!” at the Hayward Gallery, London. Furthermore, she had recent solo-exhibitions at the Kunstnernes Hus Oslo, at the Konstmuseum Malmö, and at the Cubitt Gallery, London, among others. Annika Erisson has realized numerous projects and commissions in the public space, for example, for the Arnolfini in Bristol (2009), for UP Projects in Regent’s Park in London (2008), for Mobile Art Productions, and for the Tensta Konsthall in Stockholm (2008), for Platform Garanti in Istanbul (2007), for IASPIS at the Biennial in Venice in 2005. Eriksson took part in numerous international group shows, recently in “Schazam” at GerhardsenGerner, Berlin (2010), “Code Share” at CAC Vilnius (2009), “The Greenroom” at Bard College, New York (2008) and participated in the Sheffield Biennale (2008).

Print

Hours
Di—So 12—19h
Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Blog andere Programme
Ausstellung
Annika Eriksson ist eine Pionierin der in den frühen 1990er Jahren aufgekommenen künstlerischen Tendenz, reale Situationen und soziale Interaktionen ins Zentrum einer projektorientierten und performativen Kunst zu stellen.

Eriksson ist bekannt dafür, alltägliche Situationen, kollektive Aktionen und Präsentationen zu initiieren, die im Anschluss in Video- oder Film-Installation und auf Fotos im Ausstellungsraum gezeigt werden. Die Teilnehmer bzw. Porträtierten agieren in einem von der Künstlerin vorgegebenen, artifiziellen und spielerischen Rahmen, in dem die ‚freie Rede’ der jeweiligen Aktion weitgehend selbstständig ihren Lauf und den Kunstraum in Beschlag nimmt. Durch geringen technischen Aufwand, lange Einstellungen und fixierte Kamera markieren die filmischen Arbeiten von Eriksson die durchlässige Trennlinie zwischen Dokumentation und Inszenierung, zwischen Wahrheit und Fiktion, und spielen zugleich mit der Idee von Gruppenporträts, von August Sander bis zu den heute obligatorischen Mitarbeiter-Porträts von Firmen.

Immer wieder hat Eriksson sich mit ‚Arbeitswelten’ und dem Thema Arbeit beschäftigt. So in den Staff-Interviews, in denen sie die komplette Belegschaft von verschiedenen internationalen Museen, von einer Versicherungsgesellschaft in München oder einer VW-Entwicklungsabteilung in Wolfsburg zu Wort kommen lässt und so dem Verhältnis zwischen Individuum und Konzern, der sozialen Interaktion der Mitarbeiter – auch mit Blick auf die jeweilige Firmen-Architektur – auf die Spur kommt. Gleichzeitig deutet Erikssons soziologisches Beweismaterial ‚wie von selbst’ auf umfassende gesellschaftliche Umbrüche und einen schwindenden gesellschaftlichen Zusammenhang hin.

Zahlreiche Arbeiten von Eriksson, die den öffentlichen Raum und den Stadtraum thematisieren, spiegeln ebenfalls gesellschaftliche Prozesse und Umbrüche wider. Hier werden Unterschiede in der sozialen Interaktion, in Vorstellungen des Kollektiven und in den Bewusstseinszuständen der Menschen sichtbar. Seit 2000 dokumentiert Eriksson verschiedene, an öffentlichen Orten stattfindende Aktivitäten oder Situationen („People in Public Spaces“) auf Video und präsentiert so soziale Realitäten im Ready-Made Stil. Seit kurzem arbeitet Eriksson zunehmend mit den Mitteln der Inszenierung und der Erzählung, wie zum Beispiel in ihrer dreiteiligen Filmserie und ortsspezifischen Installation über den Londoner Regent’s Park „For the Wealthy and the Good“ (2008).

In der daadgalerie zeigt Eriksson die neue Arbeit „Wir sind wieder da“, die in Berlin entstanden ist und sich indirekt auf die Stadt bezieht. Auf einem leeren Baugrundstück hat Eriksson ein geisterhaftes Tableau Vivant inszeniert, das als Film-Installation präsentiert wird. Der Film besteht aus mehreren, sich leicht unterscheidenden langen Einsstellungen auf eine nächtliche Szene: ein Gruppenporträt mit Punks und Hunden. Die minimale Handlung, die Interaktion der Punks untereinander, zeugt von sozialer Aufgehobenheit in einer zeitlosen Mikro- oder Subkultur. Das Gesamtbild hingegen beschreibt eher eine Vacuum in einer Zeit des Umbruchs, einen Zustand, der noch Teile der Vergangenheit enthält, während die Zukunft auf sich warten läßt. Unterstrichen wird der Eindruck einer Übergangsphase von gegengeschnittenen Aufnahmen einer U-Bahnfahrt durch die zu DDR-Zeiten geschlossenen U-Bahn-Stationen in Ost-Berlin.

Annika Eriksson (geb. 1956 in Malmö, Schweden) war 2002/03 Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramm/ DAAD. Neben der Einzelausstellung in der daadgalerie sind zur Zeit neue Arbeiten von Annika Eriksson in den Ausstellungen Squatting/Erinnen, Vergessen, Besetzen in der Temporären Kunsthalle, Berlin, und im Rahmen des Ausstellungsprojekts Hey We’re Closed! der Hayward Gallery zu sehen. Neben jüngeren Einzelausstellungen z.B.in Göteborgs Konstmuseum, im Konstmuseum Malmö und in der Cubitt Gallery, London, hat Annika Eriksson zahlreiche neue Arbeiten und Projekte im öffentlichen Raum u.a. für das Arnolfini in Bristol (2009), für UP Projects im Regents Park in London (2008), für Mobile Art Productions und für die Tensta Konsthall in Stockholm (2008), für die Dakar Biennale (2008), für die Platform Garanti in Instanbul (2007) oder für IASPIS zur Venedig Biennale 2005 realisiert. Außerdem nahm Eriksson an zahlreichen internationalen Gruppenausstellungen und Biennalen teil, kürzlich z.B. an „Schazam“ in der Galerie GerhardsenGerner, Berlin (2010), „Code Share“ im CAC Vilnius (2009), „The Greenroom“, Bard College, New York (2008) und an der Sheffield Biennale 2008.

Druckversion
Öffnungszeiten
Mo-Sa 11-18 h
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK