Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Opening: 8. February, 7-9 pm
On the occasion of the Berlinale 2008, the Artists-in-Berlin Program, as usual, presents the work of an artist whose main medium is film or video. This year, the Bosnian-Herzegovinian artist Šejla Kameri? will show her film What do I know (2007). After having been shown as a film on the Venice Film Festival 2007, where it received widespread attention, the work will now be exhibited in the daadgalerie as a four-piece projection, effectively making it a video-installation. The claustrophobia suggested by the spatial presentation will echo a central filmic theme; that is, film as providing a physically sensible structure of space.
"Kameri?’s most recent work, the 15-minute short film and the 23-minute four-part film installation based on it, What Do I Know, deals with another distant past, the time when her grandparents were still young. The setting is the house of her grandfather in Sarajevo, who ran a café on the ground floor and lived upstairs from it. In the now vacant building, it seems as though time has stood still: furniture, wall paper, dishes and other household items all breathe the spirit of the 1950s. With close-up shots and slow camera pans accompanied by piano music through the abandoned rooms, the house becomes a still-life of itself. Children appear in between, dressed in historical costumes of adults at the time. There are brief allusions to three different interlocking love stories with unhappy or fatal ends."
Anselm Wagner, Šejla Kameri?: What Do I Know, Offenes Kulturhaus Linz, 2007

Šejla Kameri? was born in 1976, in Sarajevo, Bosnia-Herzegovina and is already considered one of the country’s most successful artistic ambassadors. She has had solo exhibitions in Japan, Austria and Germany and has taken part in numerous group shows all over the globe. In 2005, she was invited to the 51st International Short Film Festival Oberhausen and a year later showed her work on the 15th Biennale of Sydney. In 2007, her film What Do I Know was selected for 64th Mostra Internazionale D’Arte Cinematografica in Venice. Kameri? has been member of the European Cultural Parliament since 2002. She lives and works in Sarajevo and Berlin.

Print

Hours
Di—So 12—19h
Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Blog andere Programme
Eröffnung: 8. Februar, 19-21 h
Anlässlich der Berlinale 2008 stellt das Berliner Künstlerprogramm wie immer aus diesem Anlass eine Position der bildenden Kunst vor, die vornehmlich mit dem Medium Film bzw. Video arbeitet. In diesem Jahr wird die aus Bosnien-Herzegowina stammende Künstlerin Šejla Kameri? mit ihrem Film What Do I Know (2007) vorgestellt. Dieser Film, der als solcher bereits beim letzten Filmfestival in Venedig gezeigt wurde und dort große Aufmerksamkeit erzielte, wird nun in der daadgalerie als vierteilige Projektion und somit Video-Installation gezeigt. Die räumliche Gestaltung nimmt dabei in ihrer Klaustrophobie ein Thema des Films als körperlich erfahrbare Raumstruktur auf.
"Kameri?s jüngste Arbeit, der 15-minütige Kurzfilm bzw. die 23-minütige darauf basierende vierteilige Filminstallation What Do I Know, beschäftigt sich mit einer weiter zurück liegenden Vergangenheit, der Zeit, als ihre Großeltern noch jung waren. Schauplatz ist das Haus des Großvaters in Sarajevo, der im Erdgeschoß ein Café betrieben und im Obergeschoß gewohnt hatte. In dem heute leer stehenden Gebäude scheint die Zeit stehen geblieben zu sein: Möbel, Tapeten, Geschirr und sonstiger Hausrat atmen ausnahmslos den Geist der 50er Jahre. Mittels Großaufnahmen und langsamer, von leiser Klaviermusik unterlegten Kamerafahrten durch die verlassenen Räume wird das Haus zum Stilleben seiner selbst. Dazwischen treten Kinder auf, die in historischen Kostümen die Erwachsenen von damals spielen. Drei verschiedene, ineinander greifende Liebesgeschichten mit unglücklichem bzw. tödlichem Ausgang werden kurz angedeutet."
Anselm Wagner, Šejla Kameri?: What Do I Know, Offenes Kulturhaus Linz, 2007

Šejla Kameri? wurde 1976 in Sarajevo, Bosnien-Herzegowina geboren. Sie gilt mit ihren Einzelausstellungen in Japan, Österreich und Deutschland und mit ihrer regelmäßigen Teilnahme an Gruppenausstellungen weltweit als eine der erfolgreichsten künstlerischen Vertreterinnen ihres Landes. In 2005 wurde sie zum 51. Internationalen Kurzfilmfestival in Oberhausen eingeladen, und ein Jahr später folgte eine Ausstellung ihres Werkes auf der 15. Biennale von Sydney. In 2007 wurde ihr Film What Do I Know auf der 64. Mostra Internazionale D’Arte Cinematografica in Venedig gezeigt. Seit 2002 ist Kameri? Mitglied des European Cultural Parliament. Sie arbeitet und lebt in Sarajevo und Berlin.

Druckversion
Öffnungszeiten
Di—So 12—19h
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK