Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
playback. no rewind button
Douglas Henderson’s interactive work with strings and light relates to the spirits of the nearest future and past which we awaken with some impalpable parts our being. Hundreds of electrically amplified strings are strung out on the floor, and generate acoustic shadows of our steps. Optical shadows lead us forward, whilst the memory of each step disappears into the past.

Douglas Henderson, born in 1960 in Baltimore (USA), lives in New York City.
He studied Composition and Music Theory with Elie Yarden, Milton Babbitt, Paul Lansky and J.K. Randall. He teaches electro-accoustic music, sound design und sound technics at various institutions, including the Sonic Arts Department at the School of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston. He received various distinctions and scholarships, recently the Rockefeller Foundation Grant (2005) and the Foundation for Contemporary Arts Grant (2007); he is the guest of the Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD in 2007.

As a composer/performer and sound artist Douglas Henderson is an established and integral part of the New York scene. He has performed with Elliott Sharp und Zeena Parkins for whom he also designed musical instruments. Currently he is predominantly occupied with multi-channel electro-acoustic sound installations, sound sculptures, and with stage music for dance productions.
The series of 12-channel electro-acoustic compositions based on the poem »On the Road Home« by Wallace Stevens was created (amongst others) in Berlin.

Admission free

With the support of tesla medienkunstlabor

Print

Hours
Di—So 12—19h
Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Blog andere Programme
playback. no rewind button
In Douglas Hendersons interaktiver Arbeit mit Saiten und Licht geht es um die Geister der unmittelbaren Zukunft und Vergangenheit, die wir mit einem ganz bestimmten Quentchen unserer Anwesenheit zum Leben erwecken. Am Boden sind Hunderte von elektrisch verstärkten Saiten verspannt, die beim Begehen akustische Schatten unserer Schritte erzeugen. Optische Schatten führen uns vorwärts, die Erinnerung eines jeden Schrittes verschwindet in die Vergangenheit.

Douglas Henderson, geboren 1960 in Baltimore (USA), lebt in New York City.
Er studierte Komposition und Musiktheorie bei Elie Yarden, Milton Babbitt, Paul Lansky und J.K. Randall. Henderson unterrichtet elektroakustische Musik, Sound Design und Tontechnik an verschiedenen Institutionen, u.a. in der Klangkunst-Abteilung der School of the Museum of Fine Arts (Boston). Er erhielt verschiedene Auszeichnungen und Stipendien, zuletzt 2005 das Rockefeller Foundation Grant und 2007 das Foundation for Contemporary Arts Grant; außerdem ist er 2007 Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD.

Douglas Henderson ist als Composer/Performer und Klangkünstler fester Bestandteil der New Yorker Szene; er trat u.a. auf mit Elliott Sharp und Zeena Parkins, für die er auch Musikinstrumente entwarf. Momentan befasst er sich in der Hauptsache mit vielkanaligen elektroakustischen Klanginstallationen, Klangskulpturen und mit Bühnenmusiken für Tanzproduktionen.
In Berlin sind u.a. eine Reihe von 12-kanaligen elektroakustischen Kompositionen auf der Grundlage des Gedichts »On the Road Home« von Wallace Stevens entstanden.

Programmhinweis:
DAAD-Komponistenporträt: Douglas Henderson
Dienstag, 20.11., 20.30 Uhr
Gesprächsleitung: Frank Gertich
Tesla im Podewils’schen Palais, Klosterstraße 68, 10179 Berlin-Mitte

Druckversion
Öffnungszeiten
Di—So 12—19h
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK