Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Social Media Other Programs
OEIN and PHØNIX16 at Musikakademie Rheinsberg
The Bolivian Experimental Ensemble for Indigenous Instruments (OEIN), headed by ABP alumnus Carlos Gutierrez, traveled to Berlin in mid-March. It was to be the highlight of a collaborative artistic venture with the Berlin-based vocal collective PHØNIX16. Many months of work had gone into developing a program to be premiered as the opening concert of the MaerzMusik—Festival for Time Issues. The day after OEIN’s arrival the coronavirus forced the cancellation of MaerzMusik. Shortly thereafter, Bolivia shuttered its borders, making it impossible for the ensemble to return for an indefinite period of time. Since then the musicians have been stranded at the Musikakademie Rheinsberg in Brandenburg—together with members of the soloist ensemble PHØNIX16.

The musical collaboration now continues in Rheinsberg. The Artists-in-Berlin Program is sponsoring this collaboration with an Arts and Media Program grant made possible by funding from the Federal Foreign Office. This will allow video material to be produced for a documentary on the collaboration as well as fund the recording of a live-streaming event scheduled for May 9. OEIN will celebrate its fortieth anniversary on this date with a spectacular anniversary concert.

OEIN musicians will only be able to return to Bolivia once the country has lifted its travel ban. All participating institutions—including, in addition to the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program, the Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung, the Goethe-Institut, Musikfonds e.V., the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media (BKM), the Senate Department for Culture and Europe Berlin, the Landesmusikakademie Rheinsberg and the Hellerau European Centre for the Arts—are working together to resolve this extraordinary situation.

Further information on the livestream will follow here.

Picture credits: Timo Kreuser


Print

Guest Professors
ICORN
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK
Short Invites

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Social Media
OEIN und PHØNIX16 an der Musikakademie Rheinsberg
Das Experimentalensemble für indigene Instrumente (OEIN) unter der Leitung des BKP-Alumnus Carlos Gutierrez war Mitte März nach Berlin gereist. Es sollte der Höhepunkt einer gemeinsamen künstlerischen Reise mit dem Stimmkollektiv PHØNIX16 werden. Über viele Monate hinweg hatten sie ein Programm entwickelt und geprobt, das als Eröffnungskonzert der MaerzMusik – Festival für Zeitfragen uraufgeführt werden sollte. Einen Tag nach der Ankunft von OEIN musste die MaerzMusik Corona-bedingt abgesagt werden. Kurz darauf hat Bolivien die Grenzen geschlossen und eine Rückkehr des Ensembles auf unbestimmte Zeit unmöglich gemacht. Seither sitzen die MusikerInnen in der Musikakademie Rheinsberg in Brandenburg fest – gemeinsam mit Mitgliedern des Solistenensemble PHØNIX16.

In Rheinsberg wird die musikalische Zusammenarbeit nun weitergeführt. Das Berliner Künstlerprogramm unterstützt diese Kooperation mit einer Förderung aus dem Programm „Künste und Medien“ aus Mitteln des Auswärtigen Amtes. Damit werden u.a. Videoaufnahmen ermöglicht, aus denen eine Dokumentation der Zusammenarbeit entstehen soll. Außerdem dient die Unterstützung den Aufnahmen für ein Live-Streaming, das für den 9. Mai geplant ist. An diesem Tag feiert das OEIN sein 40jähriges Bestehen mit einem fulminanten Jubiläumskonzert.

Die Rückkehr der OEIN-Musiker nach Bolivien wird erst möglich sein, wenn das Land seine Einreisesperren aufhebt. An der Überbrückung dieser außergewöhnlichen Situation arbeiten alle beteiligten Institutionen geschlossen zusammen: Neben dem Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD die Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung, Goethe Institut, Musikfonds e.V., BKM, Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa Berlin, Landesmusikakademie Rheinsberg und Hellerau, Europäisches Zentrum der Künste.

Weitere Informationen zum Livestream in Kürze hier.

Photo Credits: Timo Kreuser


Druckversion
Gastprofessuren
ICORN
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK
Kurzeinladungen