Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Poetry in Dark Times

Ellen Hinsey and Maria Stepanova

Reading and talk

Presentation: Marie Luise Knott
Toxic terms pollute the public discourse, a deformation of language is taking place. Against this backdrop, Ellen Hinsey and Maria Stepanova share the conviction that poetry carries in its inner structure sources for resistance. At daadgalerie, they will meet for a joint
reading and a conversation on poetic strategies and their ability to restore meaning to language.

Ellen Hinsey, born 1960 in Boston, is the author of eight books of essays, dialogue, poetry and literary translation. Her latest publication The Illegal Age is a powerful investigation into the 20th century's dark
legacy of totalitarianism and the current rise of political illegality. In 2015, Ellen Hinsey was a guest of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program.

Maria Stepanova, born 1972 in Moscow, is a poet, essayist and journalist. Her latest publication, the novel Памяти памяти (“Post Memory”) has been praised as a timely reflection on the nature or remembering. In 2018-19, she was Siegfried-Unseld Guest Professor at Humboldt Universität in Berlin.

German translation from Russian: Olga Radetzkaja

Reading in English, Russian and German, conversation in English

Admission free

Photo: K. Zielinski


Print

Hours
Di—So 12—19h
Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
Poetry in Dark Times

Lesung und Gespräch

Moderation: Marie Luise Knott
Verletzende Begriffe vergiften den öffentlichen Diskurs, eine Deformation der Sprache zeichnet sich ab. Angesichts dieser Entwicklungen teilen Ellen Hinsey und Maria Stepanova die Überzeugung, dass Lyrik strukturell Quellen des Widerstandes in sich trägt. In der daadgalerie
begegnen sie sich zu einer Lesung und sprechen über poetische Strategien und ihre Fähigkeit, die Bedeutungskraft der Sprache wiederherzustellen.

Ellen Hinsey, 1960 in Boston geboren, hat neun Bände Lyrik, Prosa und literarische Übersetzungen verfasst. Ihre jüngste Veröffentlichung, The Illegal Age, ist eine lyrische Auseinandersetzung mit dem Erbe der totalitären Diktaturen des 20. Jahrhunderts und dem derzeitigen
Aufstieg politischer Illegalität. 2015 war Hinsey Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD.

Maria Stepanova, geboren 1972 in Moskau, ist Lyrikerin, Essayistin und Journalistin. Ihre jüngste Publikation Памяти памяти („Nach dem Gedächtnis”) wurde als zeitgemäße Reflexion über das Wesen des Erinnerns gefeiert. 2018-2019 hielt sie die Siegfried-
Unseld-Gastprofessur an der Humboldt-Universität inne.

Deutsche Übersetzung aus dem Russischen: Olga Radetzkaja

Lesung auf Englisch, Russisch und Deutsch, Gespräch auf Englisch

Eintritt frei

Foto: K. Zielinski


Druckversion
Öffnungszeiten
Di—So 12—19h
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK