Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
For the closing of the exhibition "Iman Issa. Book of Facts" artists Renée Green and Iman Issa will reflect on the common interests, recurring themes, connecting questions, and points of confluence shared by their own artistic practices. Issa’s exhibition in the daadgalerie provides the starting point for an open discussion on various facets of their own practices and continues in a public form the existing dialogue between the two former fellows of the Artists-in-Berlin Program of the DAAD.

In English; free admission

Iman Issa, born 1979 in Cairo (EG), lives and works in Berlin. In 2017 she was a fellow of the Artists-in-Berlin Programme. Her work has been presented in various international solo and group exhibitions, including the Whitechapel Art Gallery London (2017), the Kunsthalle Lisbon (2016), and the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum in New York (2016). Iman Issa was nominated for the Preis der Nationalgalerie in 2017 and is the winner of the Vilcek Prize for Creative Promise 2017. She currently teaches at the Hochschule für Künste in Bremen.

Renée Green, born 1959 in Cleveland, Ohio (USA), lives and works in Somerville, MA and New York City. In 1993 she was a fellow of the Artists-in-Berlin Programme. Green’s exhibitions, videos, and films have been seen throughout the world in museums, biennials, and festivals. A selection of her books includes "Other Planes of There: Selected Writings" (2014), "Endless Dreams and Time- Based Streams" (2010), and "Ongoing Becomings" (2009). She is a Professor at ACT, the MIT Program in Art, Culture and Technology, School of Architecture + Planning. During the Fall 2019, Green is the Ellen Maria Gorrissen Fellow at the American Academy in Berlin. Her work is currently on view in Berlin at the Haus der Kulturen der Welt in the group exhibition "Love and Ethnology – The Colonial Dialectic of Sensitivity (after Hubert Fichte)", and in Nagel Draxler Galerie Kabinett, with her solo exhibition, "Prelude".



Image: Iman Issa, "Dialogue (Study for 2019)", 2019
Aluminum, paint, white shelves, text panel under glass, installation
Part of the Lexicon series, 2012-2019
Photographer: Thomas Bruns


Print

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
Zum Abschluss der Ausstellung „Iman Issa. Book of Facts“ sprechen Renée Green und Iman Issa über gemeinsame Interessen, wiederkehrende Themen, verbindende Fragestellungen und Berührungspunkte in ihrer künstlerischen Praxis. Iman Issa‘s Ausstellung in der daadgalerie ist Ausgangspunkt für ein offenes Werkstattgespräch über verschiedene Facetten künstlerischer Arbeit und führt den bestehenden Dialog der beiden ehemaligen Stipendiatinnen des Berliner Künstlerprogramms öffentlich fort.

Auf Englisch; Eintritt frei

Iman Issa, geboren 1979 in Kairo (EG), lebt und arbeitet in Berlin. 2017 war sie Stipendiatin des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD. Ihre Arbeit wurde in verschiedenen internationalen Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen präsentiert, unter anderem in der Whitechapel Art Gallery London (2017), in der Kunsthalle Lissabon (2016), im Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum in New York (2016). Iman Issa war für den Preis der Nationalgalerie 2017 nominiert und ist Preisträgerin des Vilcek Prize for Creative Promise 2017.
Aktuell lehrt Issa an der Hochschule für Künste in Bremen.

Renée Green, geboren 1959 in Cleveland, Ohio (USA) lebt und arbeitet in Somerville, MA und New York City. 1993 war sie Stipendiatin des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD. Renée Greens Ausstellungen, Videos und Filme wurden in zahlreichen internationalen Ausstellungen, Museen und Festivals gezeigt. Ausgewählte Publikationen von ihr sind "Other Planes of There: Selected Writings" (2014), "Endless Dreams and Time- Based Streams" (2010), und "Ongoing Becomings" (2009). Sie hat eine Professur bei ACT, dem Programm für Kunst, Kultur und Technologie des MIT an der School for Architecture and Planning inne. Im Herbst 2019 ist Green Ellen Maria Gorrissen Stipendiatin der American Academy in Berlin. In Berlin sind ihre Arbeiten aktuell im HKW in der Gruppenausstellung "Liebe und Ethnologie. Die koloniale Dialektik der Empfindlichkeit (nach Hubert Fichte)" und in ihrer Einzelausstellung "Prelude" in der Galerie Nagel Draxler zu sehen.



Bild: Iman Issa, "Dialogue (Study for 2019)", 2019
Aluminum, paint, white shelves, text panel under glass, installation
Part of the Lexicon series, 2012-2019
Fotograf: Thomas Bruns


Druckversion
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK