Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Sound installation at Kontakte Festival
The sound installation »Kayapó« is based on recordings made in Brazil in 2018 as well as on the radio composition »Kayapó« composed in 2018-19. Kayapó is the name of an indigenous tribe living in the Amazon rainforest in the Brazilian state of Mato Grosso do Sul. In this part of the Amazon, the murder rate is 20 times higher than in the capital city of Saõ Paulo. The sound material of the work documents nature, protest, cultural appropriation and open violence against indigenous populations. The installation »Kayapó« is conceived to create a »real« sound space within the Akademie’s garden: an auditory environment in which the public is free to move around, discovering the work in space as well as in time.
The radio composition »Kayapó« was commissioned by Deutschlandfunk Kultur Berlin for the programme »Klangkunst« and the Westdeutschen Rundfunk (WDR 3) Cologne for the programme »Open Sounds«. Thanks go to Tiago de Oliveira Pinto for inspiring the project; to Majoí Gongora, Janete El Haouli and Patricia Boniha for their help in Brazil; to Gabriel Soares for his translations in Brasilia; to Sardes Fernandes Ramos for organising the trip to the rainforest and to Gabriel Gomes, who was a trusted guide in the rainforest. The composition is dedicated to the Kayapó and Guarani people in the state of Mato Grosso do Sul in the Amazon rainforest and to the Kayapó leader Raoni.

Multichannel sound installation for ca. 60 mp3 players, based on recordings of the Kayapó, a Brazilian indigenous tribe.

Assistants: Tim Helbig, Martin Recker, Paul Hauptmeier

Commissioned by the KONTAKTE ʼ19 Festival in collaboration with the DAAD Berlin Artists-in-Residence Programme. With friendly assistance of the Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung. In collaboration with Deutschlandfunk Kultur.

Opening Hours:

26.9. 18:00-23:00
27.9. 16:00–23:00
28.9. 14:00–23:00
29.9. 10:00–23:00

free Admission, more Information About Kontakte Festival here


Print

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
Klanginstallationen beim Festival Kontakte
Die Klanginstallation »Kayapó« basiert auf Tonaufnahmen, die 2018 in Brasilien entstanden sind, und auf Robin Minards Rundfunkkomposition »Kayapó« (2018–19). Kayapó ist der Name eines indigenen Stammes, der im Regenwald des Amazonas im brasilianischen Bundesstaat Mato Grosso do Sul lebt. In diesem Teil des Amazonasbeckens ist die Mordrate 20 Mal höher als in der Hauptstadt Saõ Paulo. Das Tonmaterial der Arbeit dokumentiert Natur, Protest, kulturelle Aneignung und offene Gewalt gegen die indigenen Bevölkerungen. Die Installation »Kayapó« schafft einen »realen« Tonraum im Akademiegarten: eine Klangumgebung, in der sich das Publikum frei bewegen kann, um das Werk sowohl im Raum als auch in der Zeit zu erleben.
Die Rundfunkkomposition »Kayapó« wurde vom Deutschlandfunk Kultur Berlin für das Programm »Klangkunst« und vom Westdeutschen Rundfunk (WDR 3) Köln für das Programm »Open Sounds« in Auftrag gegeben. Dank an Tiago de Oliveira Pinto, der das Projekt inspiriert hat; an Majoí Gongora, Janete El Haouli und Patricia Boniha für ihre Hilfe in Brasilien; an Gabriel Soares für seine Übersetzerdienste in Brasilia; an Sardes Fernandes Ramos für die Organisation der Fahrt in den Regenwald und an Gabriel Gomes, der sich im Regenwald als verlässlicher Führer erwies. Gewidmet ist die Komposition den Völlkern der Kayapó und Guarani im Bundesstaat Mato Grosso do Sul im Regenwald des Amazonas und dem Anführer der Kayapó, Raoni.

Mehrkanal-Klanginstallation für ca. 60 mp3-Player, basierend auf Aufnahmen des indigenen Stamms der Kayapó aus Brasilien.

Assistenz: Tim Helbig, Martin Recker, Paul Hauptmeier

Auftrag des Festivals KONTAKTE ʼ19 in Kooperation mit dem Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD. Mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung. In Zusammenarbeit mit Deutschlandfunk Kultur.

Öffnungszeiten:

26.9. 18:00-23:00
27.9. 16:00–23:00
28.9. 14:00–23:00
29.9. 10:00–23:00

Eintritt frei, mehr info zum Festival hier


Druckversion
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK