Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Reading and Talk

Literary translator Dorota Stroińska will moderate the talk with his translator Bernhard Hartmann.

Talk in Polish, German, and English

The reading is part of the »21. Lange Buchnacht in der Oranienstraße.”
“When I began to write I didn’t know / how quickly it would make me very rich, / how I would buy an island and then fly / there fifteen times a day, how waves would place / old bottles at my feet, and narwhals from / those waves would eat straight from my hand.” From the poetry collection “Colonies,” translated from the Polish by Mira Rosenthal, 1997). Tomász Różycki combines social criticism, humor and self-irony in his poetry. In Poland, he achieved fame for “Twelve Stations,” an epic poem about the Polish province, for which he received the Kościelski Prize (for the German version translated by Olaf Kühl, 2009).

Różycki was born in Opole, Upper Silesia in 1970, is a translator, a teacher of Romance languages, and, at least for his generation, his country’s most important poet. He has produced seven volumes of poetry to date. Most recently, his collection of poems “Litery” (“Alphabetic Letters ”) was nominated for the Wisława Szymborska Prize. For “Colonies,” the English translation of his sonnet cycle “Kolonie”, he received the 2014 Northern California Book Award.

At the conclusion of his residency in Berlin, Różycki will read from his book of poems “Der Kerl, der sich die Welt gekauft hat,” published by Fototapeta in 2018, as well as excerpts from essays and new poems specially translated for the evening. Literary translator Dorota Stroińska will moderate the talk with his translator Bernhard Hartmann.

The reading is part of the »21. Lange Buchnacht in der Oranienstraße.”

Talk in Polish, German, and English

free Admission

Photo: Slav Zatoka


Print

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
Das Gespräch mit seinem Übersetzer Bernhard Hartmann moderiert die Literaturübersetzerin Dorota Stroińska.


Gespräch auf Polnisch, Deutsch und Englisch

Die Lesung findet im Rahmen der »21. Langen Buchnacht in der Oranienstraße« statt.
»Als ich anfing zu schreiben, wusste ich nicht, / wie reich es mich macht und dass ich mir gleich / eine Insel kaufe, hinfliege, vielleicht / zwölfmal täglich, und dass mit der Gischt / Flaschen antreiben und mir Wale im Licht / aus der Hand fressen.« (Aus dem Zyklus »Kolonien«, 1997). Tomász Różycki verbindet in seinen Gedichten Gesellschaftskritik, Humor und Selbstironie. In Polen wurde er mit seinem »Zwölf Stationen« berühmt, ein Versepos über die polnische Provinz, für das er mit dem Kościelski-Preis erhielt (deutsche Version von Olaf Kühl, 2009).

Różycki wurde 1970 im oberschlesischen Oppeln geboren, ist Übersetzer, Romanist und, zumindest in seiner Generation, der wichtigste Dichter seines Landes. Er hat bisher sieben Gedichtbände vorgelegt. Zuletzt erschien der für den Wisława-Szymborska-Preis nominierte Gedichtband »Litery« (»Buchstaben«). Für »Colonies«, die englischsprachige Übersetzung seines Gedichtbandes „Kolonie“, erhielt er 2014 den Northern California Book Award.

Zum Ende seines Residenzaufenthaltes in Berlin liest Różycki aus seinem Gedichtband »Der Kerl, der sich die Welt gekauft hat«, der 2018 bei Fototapeta erschienen ist, sowie aus eigens für diesen Abend übersetzten Auszügen aus Essays und neuen Gedichten. Das Gespräch mit seinem Übersetzer Bernhard Hartmann moderiert die Literaturübersetzerin Dorota Stroińska.

Die Lesung findet im Rahmen der »21. Langen Buchnacht in der Oranienstraße« statt.

Eintritt frei

Foto: Slav Zatoka


Druckversion
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK