Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
»This Is Television« addresses the increasingly obsolete medium of television by way of the medium of the book—by extension commenting on media’s continuous changes of form and format. Through an interplay of theory and artistic research material, the book extends Judy Radul’s ongoing investigation of media with an idiosyncratic perspective on television—while still feeding off collective experience. The book thematizes television as a cultural container, both in its format as a »box« for content and as an ideologically saturated apparatus for reception.
In a conversation between Judy Radul and Ariane Beyn, the book will be discussed within the context of Radul’s intermediary practice. Topics such the act of turning book pages, the implications of camera motion and live video presentation systems, exhibition display and viewing habits will be considered with regard to Radul’s most recent installation works.

Judy Radul »This is Television« with texts by Diedrich Diederichsen, Honor Gavin, Ana Teixeira Pinto, Judy Radul. Edited by DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program, Ariane Beyn, Judy Radul, published by Sternberg Press. Design by Katja Gretzinger.

Judy Radul was a guest of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program in 2012. Her newest installation »Show Support« can be seen at Albertinum Dresden until June 6.

Ariane Beyn is an art historian and curator. From 2008-2018 she was the head of the visual arts department of the DAAD’s Artists-in-Berlin program.

Talk in English, free admission.

Image: Judy Radul, This Is Telelvision, book cover, Sternberg Press, Berlin, 2018


Print

Hours
Di—So 12—19h
Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
»This Is Television« beschäftigt sich mit dem zunehmend obsoleten Medium Fernsehen aus der Perspektive des Mediums Buch und beleuchtet in diesem Zusammenhang den ständigen Wandel von Form und Format der Medien. Durch die Verknüpfung von Theorie und künstlerischer Forschung, die hier unternommen wird, erweitert das Buch Judy Raduls langjährige Beschäftigung mit Medien um einen Blick auf das Fernsehen, der idiosynkratisch erscheinen mag, aber den Bereich der kollektiven Erfahrung nie verlässt. Das Buch thematisiert Fernsehen als kulturellen Container über seine Form, einer »Kiste« für Inhalte, sowie über seine mit Ideologie angefüllte Rezeptionsapparatur.


In einem Gespräch zwischen Judy Radul und Ariane Beyn wird das Buch im Kontext von Raduls intermedialer Praxis vorgestellt. Themen wie das Umblättern von Buchseiten, die Implikationen von Kamerabewegung und Systemen zur Live-Videopräsentation, Ausstellungsdisplay und Sehgewohnheiten werden dabei mit Blick auf Raduls neueste Installationen erörtert.

Judy Radul, »This is Television«, mit Texten von Diedrich Diederichsen, Honor Gavin, Ana Teixeira Pinto und Judy Radul. Herausgegeben vom Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD, Ariane Beyn und Judy Radul, verlegt von Sternberg Press. Buchdesign von Katja Gretzinger.

Judy Radul war 2012 Gast des DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Programms. Ihre neue Installation, »Show Support«, ist bis zum 6. Juni im Albertinum Dresden zu sehen.

Ariane Beyn ist Kunsthistorikerin und Kuratorin. Von 2008 bis 2018 leitete sie den Fachbereich Bildende Kunst des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD.


Gespräch auf Englisch.

Eintritt frei.

Bildnachweis: Judy Radul, This Is Telelvision, Buchcover, Sternberg Press, Berlin, 2018


Druckversion
Öffnungszeiten
Di—So 12—19h
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK