Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Social Media Other Programs
Book Presentation with Zsófia Bán and Terézia Mora

Reading in German and Hungarian/
Talk in German and English
Zsófia Bán, 2015 guest of the Artists-in-Berlin Program, presents her new book »Der Sommer unsres Missvergnügens« in a conversation with Terézia Mora: ten profound essays on the burdens of undigested history and present-day European demands—as well as an incisive examination of the representational potency of art and literature.
How to deal with losses that cannot be worked through? Or with a lack of knowledge, with what’s refuted and kept secret? An inspired reader and relentless critic of the Hungarian situation, Zsófia Ban finds a way forward with a stance that enables discovering the vitality of resistance and self-empowerment within a state of uncertainty and doubt.

Zsófia Bán, born in 1957 in Rio de Janeiro, grew up in Brazil and Hungary, studied English and Romance languages and literature in Budapest, Lisbon, Minneapolis, and New Brunswick. Today she is a lecturer in American studies at ELTE University in Budapest, where she specializes in modern American literature, visual culture, contemporary literary theory, and relationships between gender and literary texts. She has authored a number of publications for academia and contributes regularly to Hungarian magazines and newspapers.


»Der Sommer unsres Missvergnügens« is translated by Terézia Mora and published by Matthes & Seitz Berlin as part of the DAAD Spurensicherung series.

free admission


Print

Hours
Di—So 12—19h
Guest Professors
ICORN
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK
Short Invites

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
Buchpremiere, Lesung und Gespräch
mit Zsófia Bán und Terézia Mora


Lesung auf Deutsch und Ungarisch /
Gespräch auf Deutsch und Englisch
Zsófia Bán, 2015 Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms, stellt im Gespräch mit Terézia Mora ihr neues Buch »Der Sommer unsres Missvergnügens« vor: zehn profunde Essays über die Lasten der unverarbeiteten Geschichte und die Zumutungen der europäischen Gegenwart – zugleich eine scharfsinnige Auseinandersetzung mit der Darstellungsmacht von Kunst und Literatur.
Wie umgehen mit Verlusten, die nicht aufzuarbeiten sind? Mit dem Mangel an Wissen, mit dem Verleugneten und Verschwiegenen? Inspirierte Leserin und unerbittliche Kritikerin der ungarischen Verhältnisse, findet Zsófia Bán einen Ausweg in einer Haltung, die es erlaubt, im Zustand der Unsicherheiten und Zweifel die Vitalität des Widerstands und des self empowerment zu finden.

Zsófia Bán, 1957 in Rio de Janeiro geboren, aufgewachsen in Brasilien und in Ungarn, studierte Anglistik und Romanistik in Budapest, Lissabon, Minneapolis und New Brunswick. Heute ist sie Dozentin für Amerikanistik an der Budapester Universität ELTE, wo sie sich mit moderner amerikanischer Literatur, visueller Kultur, zeitgenössischer Literaturtheorie und den Beziehungen zwischen Gender und literarischen Texten beschäftigt. Sie hat mehrere wissenschaftliche Bücher veröffentlicht und schreibt sie regelmäßig für ungarische Zeitschriften.

»Der Sommer unsres Missvergnügens« erscheint in der Übersetzung Terézia Moras bei Matthes & Seitz, Berlin im Rahmen der Reihe DAAD Spurensicherung.

Eintritt frei


Druckversion
Öffnungszeiten
Di—So 12—19h
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK