Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Opening 11.04.19, 7 pm
Minerva Cuevas’ works move at the interface to political action and practices of
social self-determination. Conditions of global food production, the economization and distribution of natural resources on a global level as well as the social causes and consequences of climate change and neoliberal labour market policies are recurring themes in her work. She appropriates the language of the establishment (institutional branding, advertising and commerce) while delivering a message of non-compliance and resistance. Working in different media such as film, performance, installation and mural painting, the research process is a core element in her artistic practice.

In the exhibition "No Room to Play" Cuevas plays with apocalyptic perspectives and deals with the history of playgrounds in Germany after the Second World War. She explores the connection between historical conditions of urban development and territorial affiliation with principles of competition and play. The motto of the Olympic Games, "Faster, Higher, Stronger", is subjected to a close scrutiny in the context of feminist and anti-capitalist perspectives.

Minerva Cuevas (b. 1975 in Mexico City) was a fellow of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program in 2003 and presented the exhibition titled Schwarzfahrer are my Heroes at the daadgalerie in Kurfürstenstrasse in 2004. This year she has been invited again to develop a new project for the space of daadgalerie.


Images:
Minerva Cuevas, No Room To Play, video still, 2019

Fanny Blankers-Koen of Holland crosses the line to win the 4 x 100-meter relay final during the Olympic Games at Wembley Stadium in London. The Dutchwoman should have been well past her prime at 30, when she won four Olympic titles at the 1948 London Games
Copyright: picture alliance / AP


Print

Hours
Di—So 12—19h
Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
Eröffnung 11.04.19, 19 h
Minerva Cuevas bewegt sich in ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit an der Schnittstelle zu politischen Aktionen und Praktiken sozialer Selbstbestimmung. Die Bedingungen der Nahrungsmittelproduktion, die Ökonomisierung und Verteilung natürlicher Ressourcen auf globaler Ebene, sowie die sozialen Ursachen und Folgen des Klimawandels und der neoliberalen Arbeitsmarktpolitik sind wiederkehrende Themen in ihren Arbeiten. Cuevas eignet sich die etablierte Sprache aus dem Bereich des institutionellen Branding und der kommerziellen Werbung an und vermittelt dabei eine klare Geste der Nichteinhaltung und des Widerstands. Sie verwendet unterschiedliche Medien, wie Film, Performance, Installation und Wandmalerei, wobei der Rechercheprozess ein zentrales Element ihrer künstlerischen Praxis darstellt.

Für die Ausstellung „No Room To Play” spielt Cuevas mit apokalyptischen Bildern. Sie setzt sich mit der Geschichte der Spielplätze in Deutschland nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg auseinander und bringt die historischen Bedingungen von Fragen um Stadtentwicklung und Raumzugehörigkeit mit ideologischen Grundsätzen von Wettkampf und Spiel in Verbindung. Das Motto der Olympischen Spiele „Schneller, Höher, Stärker” wird im Kontext feministischer und anti-kapitalistischer Perspektiven auf den Prüfstand gestellt.

Minerva Cuevas (geb. 1975 in Mexiko City) war 2003 Stipendiatin des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD und präsentierte 2004 in der daadgalerie in der Kurfürstenstraße die Ausstellung Schwarzfahrer are my Heroes. Dieses Jahr wurde sie wieder eingeladen, um ein neues Projekt für die daadgalerie zu entwickeln.


Bilder:
Minerva Cuevas, No Room To Play, video still, 2019, Fotograf: Thomas Bruns.

Fanny Blankers-Koen of Holland crosses the line to win the 4 x 100-meter relay final during the Olympic Games at Wembley Stadium in London. The Dutchwoman should have been well past her prime at 30, when she won four Olympic titles at the 1948 London Games
Copyright: picture alliance / AP

Booklet_MinervaCuevas.pdf

Druckversion
Öffnungszeiten
Di—So 12—19h
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK