Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Concert for Orchestra and Electronics (2016),
German premiere
The unmediated power of raw, acoustic material, sonic interference, and the performative act characterize the work of award-winning American composer and sound artist Ashley Fure. Her search for the physical and kinetic origin of sound on the margins of instrumental possibilities pervades an imposing variety of works, ranging from electronically augmented solos to ensemble and orchestral works, to installations and musical theater formats.

As part of MaerzMusik festival, Ashley Fure’s Bound to the Bow (2016) will be presented for the first time in Germany, a mesmerizing work for orchestra and electronics that was a finalist for the 2017 Pulitzer Prize. The New York Times celebrated the work as “boldly individual”; Alex Ross dubbed it “most arresting of the world premieres.”

This evening’s program, Clocks without Hands, will be performed by two other outstanding contemporary female composers: Olga Neuwirth (ABP guest 1996) and Justė Janulytė, as well as the Konzerthausorchester Berlin, under the direction of Peter Rundel and sound direction of Daniel Weingarten.

An artist talk will take place at 7pm in the Carl-Maria-von-Weber-Saal.


Print

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
Konzert für Orchester und Elektronik (2016),
deutsche Erstaufführung
Die unvermittelte Kraft roher akustischer Materie, Interferenzen und der performative Akt prägen die Arbeiten der mehrfach ausgezeichneten amerikanischen Komponistin und Klangkünstlerin Ashley Fure. Ihre Suche an den Rändern der instrumentalen Möglichkeiten nach dem physischen und kinetischen Ursprung des Klangs durchdringen ein imposantes Werkspektrum, das sich von elektronisch erweitertem Solo über Ensemble- und Orchesterwerke bis hin zu Installationen und Musiktheaterformaten erstreckt.

Im Rahmen des Festivals MaerzMusik wird Ashley Fures Bound to the Bow (2016) zum ersten Mal in Deutschland präsentiert, ein hypnotisierendes Werk für Orchester und Elektronik, das 2017 Finalist für den Pulitzer-Preis 2017 war. Die New York Times hat die Arbeit als „boldly individual“ gefeiert; von Alex Ross wurde sie als „most arresting of the world premieres“ betitelt.

Das Programm dieses Abends mit dem Titel Clocks without Hands wird von zwei weiteren herausragenden Komponistinnen-Persönlichkeiten der Gegenwart, Olga Neuwirth (BKP Gast 1996) und Justė Janulytė, sowie dem Konzerthausorchester Berlin unter der Leitung von Peter Rundel und der Klangregie von Daniel Weingarten bestritten.

Um 19:00 Uhr findet im Carl-Maria-von-Weber-Saal ein Künstlerinnengespräch statt.


Druckversion
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK