Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Installation and Performances
In conjunction with MaerzMusik, Liping Ting presents a new work at the daadgalerie: "Water Timing S. – Time’s Spiral", a sound and light installation featuring video projections.
The Installation will open on March 24 with three short performative interventions and a durational performance together with Boris Nieslony:

3pm Opening
4pm / 5pm / 6pm Performative Interventions
9-11pm Durational Performance with a guest appearance by Boris Nieslony

Boris Nieslony (b. 1945 in Grimma, lives in Cologne) is a performance and installation artist who is active worldwide with his performances, exhibitions, lectures, and as a facilitator. He studied in the 1970s at art academies in Berlin and Hamburg. Since 1981 he has developed an extensive archive of performance art, artist-run spaces, and their theoretical-philosophical underpinnings. In 1985, Nieslony initiated the Black Market International model with European performance artists; in 1990, the Arts Service Association (ASA) performance network; and, in 1995, the first Performance Conference in Cologne, which was followed by seventeen other events worldwide. In 2001, he founded the E.P.I. Zentrum, the European Performance Institute, and, in 2010, initiated with PAErsche another performance network between artists, organizations, and projects.

Liping Ting about "Time's Spiral":
"With a sound and light rotation installation, a constant oscillation between darkness and light, appearing and disappearing, multiples voices, silent breathing and running body, Time's Spiral would like to reveal an uncertain and ambivalent temporality in today’s critical times.

A mirage of times, myriads of temporalities, a fugitive moment in-between “Peace VS War”; more a sound poetry, an epic song of all being, breathing, running, inside of an inaudible chaos: TS searches for another dimension of time, a transformation of all beings, a metaphorical time.
While measuring the impact of global changes regarding humankind evolution today, TS drill in body air compression and run to reach “dilatation time”, another spiral time visions.
A global environmental, social-political crisis, the confusion of our time enhanced, where a chaotic geopolitical mapping has emerged.

Appear therefore these controversial views of a different kind of society, multiple paradox debate on theme as ethical values, out of balance ecosystem, global warming, the toxic nature of real and fake news information, post-colonization revealed, new nationalism confusion and so on. There is no better time necessary to re-examine the way we live, the way we think, the way we act today?!

By a sound art study of human first voice - breathing, I would like to grasp first a “multitude” of landscapes, a multiple temporality of body mind state (minimal as maximal, microscopic as macroscopic, appearing until dissolution and vice-versa).
In-between an unknown insomnia, “ multiple shadows” arrive from a collective memory of war, bringing the revival in individual intimate instants, as hiatus fragments, as hidden individual songs, as intense moments of laughter and tears; more as a meditative state of void, as “soundless sound, self without ego, beyond egos”.

Time's Spiral, inspired from Zhuangzi philosophy of equality of all being, would like to keep resistant to all consummation of illusions inside the society of competition and productivity and revealed essence of our awakening dream regarding all blind spot point of crisis today.
The core of Zhuangzi’s thought is enhancing the scope of spiritual freedom, an emancipation of the limitations of ego, the opposition of prejudice; then to reach a vision of the world’s multitude as being equal, to maintain an open vision of awakened dreams.

With brief and long duration live performance art to sculpture the whole space, the time of installation, Time's Spiral pointedly invites a common question on humankind’s evolution:
Regarding all ecological and social political crises, and our balance in-between humanity and our environment, how to measure the time today, the crisis of our way of living?
What is future-present, present-future, and what is our real concern in today’s critical time?
May an awakened dream, though a history of our age of stone, in insomnia, keep still, be silent?"
(Liping Ting in January, 2019)

Liping Ting (* in Taiwan, based in Taiwan and Paris, grant-holder of the DAAD Artist-in-Berlin Program 2018/19), is an interdisciplinary Artist. Her works combine art, theatre, dance, literature, music and philosophy. She herself often uses the term ‘poésie d’action’. She came into contact with dance, including traditional Chinese dance traditions, at an early age through her mother. In Taipeh she first of all studied philosophy. In 1988 she went to France, where she studied applied drama studies first in Besançon and later at the Paris Sorbonne. In her thesis she traced a line from Samuel Beckett’s dramatic works, via the interdisciplinary art forms of the 1950s, to the work of John Cage. Both thinkers, as well as the Chinese poet and philosopher Zhuang-Zi, are very significant for Liping Ting’s artistic practice.
Her works combine installation and performative elements with media (sound and video). She was active in the Topophonie movement, which dealt with experimental music and sound environments in urban spaces and nature. Her performances focus on multicultural communication, anthropology and social developments.
She has presented her work at numerous festivals in Europe, North America and China, such as Polysonneries (Lyon) in 1999, Polyphonix (Paris) in 2000, Inter Le Lieu (Quebec/Canada) and at the Fergus McCaffrey Gallery (New York) in 2017. She participated in different festivals, i.a. mikromusik (DAAD) and Donaueschinger Musiktage, and presented her works in galleries and on exhibition.


Liping Ting will also present The Long Now as a part of MaerzMusik with an additional durational Performance (C. Time Meta) in the control room of Kraftwerk Berlin.


Print

Hours
Di—So 12—19h
Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
Installation und Performances
Im Rahmen von MaerzMusik präsentiert Liping Ting eine neue Arbeit in der daadgalerie: „Water Timing S. – Time‘s Spiral” ist eine Klang- und Lichtinstallation mit Videoprojektionen.
Die Installation wird am 24.März mit drei kurzen performativen Interventionen sowie einer Langzeit-Performance gemeinsam mit Boris Nieslony eröffnet:

15.00 Eröffnung
16.00 / 17.00 / 18.00 Performative Interventionen
21.00-23.00 Langzeit-Performance mit einem Gast-Auftritt von Boris Nieslony

Boris Nieslony (*1945 in Grimma, lebt in Köln) ist als Performance- und Installationskünstler mit seinen Performances und Ausstellungen, mit Vorträgen und als Vermittler weltweit tätig. In den 1970er Jahren studierte an den Kunstakademien in Berlin und in Hamburg. Seit 1981 entwickelte er ein umfassendes Archiv über Performance Art, artists-run-spaces und deren theoretisch-philosophische Grundlagen. 1985 initiierte Nieslony gemeinsam mit europäischen Performancekünstler/innen das Modell Black Market International, 1990 das Performance-Netzwerk Arts Service Association (ASA) und 1995 die erste Performance Konferenz in Köln, der bis heute siebzehn weitere Veranstaltungen weltweit folgten. 2001 gründete er das E.P.I. Zentrum, das Europäische Performance Institut, und iniitierte 2010 mit PAErsche ein weiteres Performance-Netzwerk zwischen Künstler/innen, Organisationen und Projekten.

Liping Ting über "Time's Spiral":
"Als eine Installation, in der Klang und Licht rotieren, in stetigem Pendeln zwischen Dunkelheit und Licht, zwischen Erscheinen und Verschwinden, mit einer Vielzahl von Stimmen, stillem Atmen und sich bewegendem Körper, möchte „Time’s Spiral“ eine ungewisse und ambivalente Zeitlichkeit unserer krisenhaften Gegenwart erlebbar machen.

Als ein Trugbild von Zeiten, von unzähligen Zeitlichkeiten, als ein flüchtiger Moment im Spannungsfeld von „Frieden und Krieg“; als eine Klangpoesie, ein epischer Gesang von allem, was ist, atmet, sich bewegt, inmitten eines unhörbaren Chaos (1949-2019/2019-1949): „Time‘s Spiral“ sucht nach einer anderen Dimension der Zeit, nach einer Transformation aller Lebewesen, nach einer metaphorischen Zeit. So wie eine physikalische Spirale gleichzeitig Luftkompression und Luftausdehnung bedeutet, ist „Time’s Spiral“ eine Übung, zu einer anderen Vision von Zeit zu gelangen.

Globale umwelt- und gesellschaftspolitische Krisen verstärken die Verwirrung unserer Zeit und haben eine chaotische geopolitische Kartografie zum Vorschein gebracht. Deshalb koexistieren kontroverse Ansichten über andere Arten von Gesellschaft, wird eine vielstimmige, paradoxe Debatte geführt über ethische Werte, aus der Balance geratene Ökosysteme, Erderwärmung, die toxischen Folgen echter und fingierter Informationen, über Post-Kolonialisierung und die Verirrungen des wiedererstarkenden Nationalismus. Gibt es einen besseren Moment, einen dringenderen als jetzt, unsere Art zu leben, zu denken und zu handeln zu überdenken?

Mit einer Klangstudie über die elementarsten menschlichen Laute, Atemgeräusche, möchte „Time’s Spiral“ eine Multitude an Landschaften und eine multiple Zeitlichkeit des Körper-Geist-Zustands erfassen (sowohl im Kleinen als auch im Großen, mikroskopisch wie makroskopisch, vom ersten Auftauchen bis zur Auflösung).

Wie in einem Zustand einer unbekannten Art von Schlaflosigkeit treten vielfache Schatten aus einer kollektiven Erinnerung an den Krieg an die Oberfläche und werden in intimen, individuellen Momenten zum Leben erweckt: als Öffnungen, als Fragmente, als verborgene persönliche Lieder, als intensive Momente des Lachens und Weinens – mehr noch: als ein meditativer Zustand der Leere, als „klangloser Klang, Selbst ohne Ego, jenseits der Egos“.

„Time’s Spiral“, inspiriert von dem Gedanken der Gleichheit aller Wesen durch die Zhuangzi-Philosophie, möchte den Illusionen der wettbewerbs- und produktionsorientierten Gesellschaft widerstehen und die Essenz unseres Wachtraums angesichts aller blinden Flecken der heutigen Krisen offenbaren.
Der Kern von Zhuangzis Gedanken ist die Erweiterung spiritueller Freiheit, die Emanzipation von den Beschränkungen des Egos und der Widerstand gegenüber Vorurteilen, um dadurch zu einer Vision von der Welt zu gelangen, deren Multituden gleichberechtigt sind, um eine offene Vision erweckter Träume zu erhalten.

Live-Performances verschiedener Länge formen Raum und Zeit der Installation. „Time’s Spiral“ lädt ausdrücklich dazu ein, gemeinsam Fragen zur Entwicklung der Menschheit zu stellen: Wie kann man, angesichts aller ökologischen und gesellschaftspolitischen Krisen und des Ungleichgewichts zwischen Mensch und Umwelt, heutzutage die Zeit messen, die Krise unserer Lebensweise? Was ist Zukunft-Gegenwart, Gegenwart-Zukunft und worum geht es in der krisenhaften heutigen Zeit?

Kann ein erweckter Traum, obwohl Geschichte unseres steinernen schlaflosen Zeitalters, still bleiben und stumm sein? "
(Liping Ting, im Januar 2019, übersetzt von Else Krüsekemper & Dahlia Borsche, Lektorat Barbara Barthelmes & Katja Timmerberg)

Liping Ting, (* in Taiwan, lebt in Taiwan und Paris, BKP-Stipendiatin 2018/19), ist eine interdisziplinäre Künstlerin. Ihre Arbeiten verbinden Kunst, Theater, Tanz, Literatur, Musik und Philosophie. Sie selbst verwendet häufig den Ausdruck „poésie d‘action“. Mit dem Tanz, auch mit traditionellen chinesischen Tanztraditionen, ist sie schon früh über ihre Mutter in Berührung gekommen. In Taipeh studierte sie zunächst Philosophie. 1988 ging sie nach Frankreich, wo sie zuerst in Besançon und später an der Pariser Sorbonne Etudes theatrales (Angewandte Theaterwissenschaften) studierte. In ihrer Abschlussarbeit schlug sie einen Bogen von Samuel Becketts Theaterschaffen über die interdisziplinären Kunstformen der 1950er Jahre zum Schaffen von John Cage. Beide Denker wie auch der chinesische Dichter und Philosoph Zhuangzi haben eine große Bedeutung für Liping Tings künstlerische Arbeit.
Ihre Arbeiten verbinden installative und performative Elemente mit Medien (Klang und Video). Sie war aktiv in der Topophonie-Bewegung, die sich mit experimenteller Musik und Klang-Environments im urbanen Raum und in der Natur befasste. Ihre Performances beziehen sich auf multikulturelle Kommunikation, Anthropologie und soziale Entwicklungen.
Sie präsentierte ihre Arbeiten auf zahlreichen internationalen Festivals in Europa, Nordamerika und China wie 1999 bei Polysonneries (Lyon), 2000 bei Polyphonix (Paris), 2017 bei Inter Le Lieu (Quebec/Kanada) und in der Fergus McCaffrey Gallery (New York). Sie nahm mit ihren Installationen und Performances an verschiedenen Festivals teil, u.a. mikromusik (DAAD) und Donaueschinger Musiktage, und zeigte ihre Arbeiten in Galerien und auf Ausstellungen.


Bei The Long Now im Rahmen der MaerzMusik wird Liping Ting überdies mit einer weiteren Langzeit-Performance (C. Time Meta) in der Schaltzentrale des Kraftwerk Berlin präsent sein.


Druckversion
Öffnungszeiten
Di—So 12—19h
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK