Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Book Presentation & Concert
The publication Smetak’s Inventions marks the conclusion of "Re-inventing Smetak", a project focusing on Swiss-Brazilian composer Walter Smetak. The project was developed between 2014 and 2017 by the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program and Ensemble Modern in partnership with the Goethe-Institut. The publication features Smetak’s original texts, translated for the first time into English, as well as numerous manuscripts and photos.
Walter Smetak was a fellow of the residency program in 1982. Comprehensive research on his work united documents from the archives of the Smetak family and the DAAD Artist-in-Berlin program. Beyond portraying Smetak’s unique artistic world, the publication is also the result of an intensive bilateral cultural exchange and understanding aimed at expanding and correcting the view of a Eurocentric historiography of contemporary music. The project is especially significant in the context of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program’s work since it grew out of an intensive examination of its own archival material and as a re-enactment, so to speak, of the archive itself.
Julia Gerlach, the initiator of the project and the book’s editor, joins Silvia Fehrmann, director of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program, in a conversion on working with archives, alternative historiographies, and creating the book.
The conversation will be followed by a solo performance by Tomomi Adachi that is linked musically to the Smetak project. The experimental electronic music composer-performer and instrument maker was a BKP fellow in 2012 and was commissioned to create a composition as part of the realization of the Smetak project.

The book Smetak’s Inventions is published by wolke Verlag and was designed by Andreas Koch.

Conversation in German
free admission


Print

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
Buchpräsentation & Konzert
Die Publikation Smetak’s Inventions bildet den Abschluss des Projekts "Re-inventing Smetak" zum schweizer-brasilianischen Komponisten Walter Smetak, das vom Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD und dem Ensemble Modern in Kooperation mit dem Goethe-Institut von 2014 bis 2017 entwickelt wurde. Die Publikation enthält erstmalig ins Englische übersetzte Originaltexte von Smetak sowie zahlreiche Manuskripte und Fotos.
Walter Smetak war 1982 Stipendiat des Residenzprogramms. Basierend auf einer umfassenden Recherche zu seinem Wirken wurden Dokumente aus den Archiven der Familie Smetak und des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD zusammengeführt. Über die Darstellung der besonderen künstlerischen Welt von Smetak hinaus ist die Publikation auch ein Ergebnis eines intensiven bilateralen kulturellen Austauschs und einer kulturellen Verständigung, die zum Ziel hatte, den Blick über eine eurozentristische Geschichtsschreibung zeitgenössischer Musik hinaus zu weiten und zu korrigieren. Im Kontext der Arbeit des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD hat das Projekt einen besonderen Stellenwert, da es aus einer intensiven Beschäftigung mit den eigenen Archivmaterialien entstanden und sozusagen als Re-enactment des Archivs aufzufassen ist.
Über die Arbeit mit Archiven, alternativen Geschichtsschreibungen und die Entstehung des Buches kommt an diesem Abend Julia Gerlach, Initiatorin des Projektes und Herausgeberin des Buches, mit Silvia Fehrmann, Leiterin des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD, ins Gespräch.
Im Anschluss daran knüpft Tomomi Adachi mit einer Solo-Performance musikalisch an das Smetak-Projekt an. Der Composer-Performer experimenteller elektronischer Musik und Instrumentenbauer war Stipendiat des Künstlerprogramms (2012) und mit einem Kompositionsauftrag in die Realisation des Smetak-Projektes eingebunden.

Das Buch Smetak's Inventions ist im wolke Verlag erschienen und wurde von Andreas Koch gestaltet.

Gespräch auf Deutsch
Eintritt frei


Druckversion
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK