Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Kwasi Ohene-Ayeh in conversation with Tracy Naa Koshie Thompson
During their presentation, Kwasi Ohene-Ayeh and Tracy Naa Koshie Thompson will introduce their respective independent curatorial and artistic practices as examples of the »silent revolution« initiated by blaxTARLINES KUMASI—the contemporary art incubator based at the Department of Painting and Sculpture at Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology (KNUST)—towards universalism, in the context of contemporary art practice in Ghana.

Kwasi Ohene-Ayeh is an artist, curator and writer based in Kumasi, Ghana. He is the current grant holder of KfW Stiftung’s program »Curators in Residence: Curating Connections’ in collaboration«. Ohene-Ayeh has co-curated »Silence Between the Lines: Anagrams of Emancipated Futures« (2015) and »Orderly Disorderly« (2017), both organized by blaxTARLINES KUMASI. He was guest curator for the inaugural Lagos Biennial (2017) and recently curated »Spectacles. Speculations…« (2018), featuring 16 artists from Ghana, Holland and Colombia, in Kumasi. He is currently a PhD student at KNUST and publishes essays on www.iubeezy.wordpress.com.
Artist Tracy Naa Koshie Thompson (Ghana) explores the latent ability of ubiquitous materials (synthetic or natural) to transform into unrecognizable, strange, new and mimicry forms. For this purpose, Thompson employs alchemical processes of dissolution and crystallization of the varied morphology of things. Her emancipated approach to artmaking creates a disposition that transcends given notions of the art apparatus itself and questions what it could potentially be. She has participated in two large-scale exhibitions organized by blaxTARLINES KUMASI in Accra, namely »Cornfields in Accra« (2016) and »Orderly Disorderly« (2017). Thompson is an MFA student at KNUST and is currently participating in the intercontinental exchange program at Städelschule in Frankfurt, Germany.

Conceived by Kwasi Ohene-Ayeh, curator in residence of »Curating Connections« 2018/2019.

The program »Curators in Residence: Curating Connections« is an initiative of the foundation KfW Stiftung and the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program. Previous grant holders include Zasha Colah (Mumbai), Dana Whabira (Harare), Mustafa Hussain Shabbir (Singapur) and Florencia Portocarrero (Lima).

Free admission

Photo: Simon Bowman, Untitled, 2016, photographic print on blue-black paper, 72in x 48in, for Cornfields in Accra exhibition (2016), image courtesy blaxTARLINES KUMASI

Print

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
Kwasi Ohene-Ayeh im Gespräch mit Tracy Naa Koshie Thompson
Im Rahmen ihrer Präsentation stellen Kwasi Ohene-Ayeh und Tracy Naa Koshie Thompson ihre voneinander unabhängige kuratorische und künstlerische Praxis als Beispiele der »silent revolution« vor. Die Initiative geht aus blaxTARLINES KUMASI hervor – einem Inkubator für zeitgenössische Kunst in Kumasi, Ghana, der an den Fachbereich Malerei und Skulptur der Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology (KNUST) angeschlossen ist. Kunst wird dabei als Universalismus im Spiegel der zeitgenössischen Kunstpraxis in Ghana diskutiert.
Kwasi Ohene-Ayeh arbeitet als Künstler, Kurator und Schriftsteller und lebt in Kumasi, Ghana. Er ist derzeit Stipendiat des Programms »Curators in Residence: Curating Connections«. Er hat die Ausstellungen »Silence Between the Lines: Anagrams of Emancipated Futures« (2015) sowie »Orderly Disorderly« (2017) co-kuratiert, die beide von blaxTARLINES KUMASI organisiert wurden. Er war zudem Gastkurator der ersten Lagos Biennale (2017) und hat zuletzt in Kumasi die Ausstellung »Spectacles. Speculations…« (2018) mit 16 Künstler*innen aus Ghana, den Niederlanden und Kolumbien kuratiert. Derzeit ist er Doktorand am KNUST und publiziert Essays auf seinem Blog www.iubeezy.wordpress.com.
Die Künstlerin Tracy Naa Koshie Thompson (Ghana) untersucht die latenten Eigenschaften allgegenwärtiger synthetischer und natürlicher Materialien und ihre Fähigkeit zur Transformation in nicht wiedererkennbare, verfremdete, neue und imitierende Formen. Dazu wendet sie alchemistische Prozesse der Auflösung und Kristallisation zur verschiedenartigen Morphologie von Objekten an. Thompsons emanzipierter Ansatz des Kunstschaffens überwindet geltende Vorstellungen des Kunstbetriebs und befragt diesen auf eine mögliche Neugestaltung hin. Sie hat an den zwei umfassenden Ausstellungen »Cornfields in Accra« (2016) und »Orderly Disorderly« (2017) von blaxTARLINES KUMASI in Accra, Ghana teilgenommen. Momentan absolviert sie ihren Master of Fine Arts (MFA) am KNUST und wurde zum interkontinentalen Austauschprogramm der Städelschule in Frankfurt am Main eingeladen.

Konzipiert von Kwasi Ohene-Ayeh, Curator in Residence von »Curating Connections« 2018/2019.

Das Programm »Curators in Residence: Curating Connections« ist eine gemeinsame Initiative der KfW Stiftung und des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD. Bisherige Alumni des Programms sind Zasha Colah (Mumbai), Dana Whabira (Harare), Mustafa Hussain Shabbir (Singapur) und Florencia Portocarrero (Lima).

Eintritt frei

Foto: Simon Bowman, Untitled, 2016, fotografischer Druck auf blau-schwarzem Papier, 72in x 48in, Detail, für die Ausstellung Cornfields in Accra (2016), courtesy blaxTARLINES KUMASI


Druckversion
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK