Guests Profile Events History Application
Contact / Imprint
Publications
Newsletter
Blog Other Programs
Panel discussion at
Weltempfang der Frankfurter Buchmesse

The Political Potential of Poetry

German / English / Russian with simultaneous translation
How does poetry, the most tenuous of literary forms, contribute to political education? Against the backdrop of their specific historical experiences, two outstanding international poets, Russian author Maria Stepanova and Argentine lyricist Sergio Raimondi, discuss the possibilities of using poetry to initiate political learning processes. Marie Louise Knott moderates the discussion.

Sergio Raimondi (BKP guest 2018) grew up during the Argentine military dictatorship and was confronted in his hometown of Bahía Blanca with the devastating consequences of neoliberal economic reforms. He sees his poetic production as a rewriting of history that opposes the erosion of language by the market and authoritarianism.

Maria Stepanova is a poet, essayist, and journalist and one of the most prominent figures of contemporary literary life in Russia. She is the Siegfried-Unseld Guest Professor at the Humboldt University of Berlin for 2018–19. Her texts examine the question of how consciousness is deformed when the future is no longer tenable.

German / English / Russian with simultaneous translation



Frankfurter Buchmesse, 4.1, B 81, Bühne

Print

Guest Professors
Curating Connections
Arts & Media
Artists in Residence at PIK

Gäste Profil Veranstaltungen Chronik Bewerbung
Kontakt/Impressum
Publikationen
Newsletter
Datenschutz andere Programme
Blog
Das Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD zu Gast auf der Frankfurter Buchmesse (4.1, B 81, Bühne)

Deutsch/Englisch/Russisch mit Simultanübersetzung
Wie trägt Lyrik, die fragilste aller literarischen Formen, zur politischen Bildung bei? Zwei international herausragende Dichter, die russische Autorin Maria Stepanova und der argentinische Lyriker Sergio Raimondi, diskutieren vor dem Hintergrund ihrer spezifischen historischen Erfahrungen über die Möglichkeiten, mittels Poesie politische Lernprozesse anzustoßen. Das Gespräch moderiert Marie Louise Knott.

Sergio Raimondi (BKP Gast 2018) ist in der argentinischen Militärdiktatur aufgewachsen und wurde in seiner Heimatstadt Bahía Blanca mit den verheerenden Folgen der neoliberalen Wirtschaftsreformen konfrontiert. Er versteht seine lyrische Produktion als eine Neuschreibung von Geschichte, die sich der Aushöhlung der Sprache durch den Markt und den Autoritarismus widersetzt.

Maria Stepanova ist Lyrikerin, Essayistin und Journalistin und eine der markantesten Gestalten des gegenwärtigen literarischen Lebens in Russland. Sie ist 2018/2019 als Siegfried-Unseld-Gastprofessorin an der Humboldt-Universität Berlin. In ihren Texten setzt sie sich mit der Frage auseinander, welche Deformationen das Bewußtsein erfährt, wenn Zukunft nicht mehr vorkommen kann.

Deutsch/Englisch/Russisch mit Simultanübersetzung

Frankfurter Buchmesse, 4.1, B 81, Bühne


Druckversion
Gastprofessuren
curating connections
Künste & Medien
Artists in Residence am PIK